Least expected…

Nothing beats a surprise that is least expected!

I might have been to this coffee shop before but that would be so long ago that I could hardly remember it. For one thing, I would hardly stop by that corner of the junction so I would usually go to places on the other side. However, all this while, I did notice a lot of people eating there and that morning, I decided to cross the road to go there and give it a try.

It does not have a name but I reckon it is part and parcel of this restaurant…

Beijing 2008 Restaurant

…that has since closed down – I heard that business was not very good despite the fact that what they dished out was really very nice. Word had it that it was not very popular among that locals as they always catered to those after-funeral lunches. I did notice a small section on the ground floor though – probably, by special request, one can go there for a full course Chinese dinner.

The coffee (RM1.60)…

Beijing Restaurant kopi-o-peng

…was really good, easily one of the best in town and since the 1st of January, to cut down the use of single-use plastic, they do not provide drinking straws anymore. They will give you a spoon in your drink though – probably that is for you to stir when the ice has melted but do not absentmindedly suck it – it’s a spoon, not a straw! LOL!!!

I placed my orders at the stall…

Beijing Restaurant kampua mee stall

…and sat down beside one occupied by a very young couple.

The kampua mee (RM3.00)…

Beijing Restaurant kampua mee

…was very nice, a bit on the firm side but not too firm and I quite liked it.

The pian sip (RM3.00)…

Beijing Restaurant pian sip

…was excellent – the skin was really thin and soft and smooth and there wasn’t too much meat in each of them as well. However, the taste of the soup was different, not quite like the usual bone-stock soup that one would get at the other stalls all over town but it was nice and I rather enjoyed it…and I must give them a double thumbs up for using glass and ceramic, not plastic!

When I wanted to pay for the food, I was duly informed by the old guy helping the old lady at the stall that it had been paid for. What!!!??? I had a glance at the couple but their faces did not ring a bell. The sweet and pretty girl came over and introduced herself as Wilfred‘s sister – she did drop by my house once to pass me the bak kua that he sent all the way from Singapore but I could not remember her. Gosh!!! That certainly was most unexpected and needless to say, it sure was a very pleasant surprise indeed, thank you so much! It sure made my day!

When I was done, I noticed that they had started taking out the dishes for the chap fan (mixed rice)…

Beijing Restaurant chap fan

That sure looked like a whole lot of choices and I must say the ang chao pork…

Beijing Restaurant ang chao pork

…looked really nicely done. At most places, it would be pink, somewhat over-diluted. The other dishes seemed very good too – I really must drop by one of these days to give it a try!

BEIJING 2008 RESTAURANT (2.291109, 111.827983) is located along Jalan Kampung Nyabor Road around the corner of this road and Brooke Drive. It is located at the block of shops, where a Malayan Banking branch is, to the left of the entrance into Hua Kiew Road, somewhere opposite the Sibu General Post Office.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “Least expected…”

  1. Hope the next time you try the chap fan stall, it would be nice. Life is always full of surprises isn’t it, good that this is a pleasant surprise.

    Sure wouldn’t mind a whole lot more like this!

  2. Judging from the photo, the chap fan stall seems to have quite a lot of choices. Wow, this ang chao pork looks pretty good. I was even more surprise you didn’t recognise her though she has been to your house, hahah….😄😄😄

    She was not sure it was me either and took a candid shot of me and sent to the brother in Singapore to confirm. So sweet of her to go through all that trouble.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com