We are here…

Our plane to Miri landed on schedule but just when we were going to board the aircraft, the rain came down in buckets and we had to go through the downpour, walking through and over the puddles of water everywhere and we were quite wet by the time we got to our seats. Luckily, it was not delayed and in around an hour or so, we landed in Miri.

My cousin and his wife met us at the airport and they insisted on taking us for a bite to eat before sending us to the hotel even though we did have an early lunch when we got to the airport in Sibu.

We ended up here…

Miri Taiwan Restaurant

…for the beef noodles.

The ladies had this…

Beef vegetable noodles

…while I went for this…

Beef tendon noodles

…the one with the tendons and all. Yes, it was very very nice but I had a glimpse at the price in the menu, the one that I had and it was a whooping RM18.00 a bowl!!! *faints*

This  certainly is a very popular place – even at around 3 something in that Sunday afternoon, there were quite a lot of people and even though they were supposed to close at 4.00 p.m., I saw people going in…regardless!

台湾風味館 MIRI TAIWAN RESTAURANT  (4.400196, 113.989056) is located at Jalan Helenium in Miri in one of the lanes behind the blocks of shops across the road from Imperial Mall.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “We are here…”

  1. Both looks pretty good and as for my choice, it would definitely be yours too.

    Great minds think alike! Too expensive for me though, wouldn’t want to go for it on a regular basis.

  2. Oh! Beef noodles! If there is one Taiwanese food that I enjoy, it is their beef noodles. What a good start to your Miri trip.

    Yes, that was good! Stick around, more to come!

  3. Not a big fan of Taiwanese cuisine, least the beef noodle. Many such outlets around, I think the only one that serve good food in Kuching is Life Cafe.

    Their version of the beef noodles is great sometimes for a change. We have a few good places in Sibu. I love their pork belly rice:
    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2011/01/22/im-into-something-good/
    but I have not come across any place lately that serves really good ones. As for those selling all that fried stuff…the stinky tofu and bubble tea, no, thank you very very much!!!

  4. I believe this is the only taiwanese restaurant i’ve been to miri, like over 10 years ago.

    The faded signboard is a giveaway – must have been around for a very very long time!

  5. Lots of people is usually a good sign.

    Yes, I guess that is why it has been around for a long time. With the money they are making, they could at least get a new sign. It sure has seen better days!

  6. I miss going for holiday during december christmas period! I am sure you had a great time in miri.

    Years ago, every December, we would be in Singapore for the Christmas lights at Orchard Road. Now with the currency X 3, no, thank you. If I stay in a miserable no-star SGD200-300 hotel room there, here I can enjoy the luxury and comfort in a 5-star hotel.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com