Almost but not quite…

We dropped by here for dinner again on Monday evening – my girl was still in town as Tuesday was a public holiday and the school took an extra day off which was why we did not have to send her back on Sunday.

The last time we were here, I wanted to order the claypot yam but the nice boy told me I had already ordered the fish maw soup and we might have a bit too much to finish. I remember I had it a long long time ago when this restaurant was at its previous location and it was thick and bubbling when it was served and that prompted me to remark that it reminded me of the mud pools in Rotorua, New Zealand. I can’t recall what it tasted like then so we decided to order it that night for a change.

We had it with tofu (RM15.00)…

A-plus claypot yam with tofu

…and bean curd sticks – the boy told me we could have it with those giant freshwater prawns at RM20.00 each which I thought was quite reasonable compared to a lot of other places or we could have it with fish. We just decided to have it with tofu and yes, it was nice, more watery than what I had once before…but I still have a soft spot for their very clear and refreshing fish maw soup.

We also had the kut chai, literally translated as slippery vegetable (RM8.00)…

A-Plus kut chai

…fried ching chao (plain) and it was good. The last time we had this, we had it fried with the three types of eggs and that was good too.

My girl loves their ngor hiang (RM7.80 for 6)…

A-Plus ngor hiang

…and wanted them again that night so of course, I ordered those and as always, I just couldn’t resist the stewed pork leg (RM17.00)…

A-Plus stewed pork leg

…which my girl could not eat because of the soy sauce. Once again, I forgot to ask for the stewed egg and to my delight, when they served the dish, they had one…

A-Plus stewed egg

…by the side. It did look really good with its extra-yellow yolk and it tasted great too, nicer than at some places where theirs may be over-stewed or reheated over and over again till the yolk is all grey on the outside while the white is kind of hard and rubbery, not so much to my liking.

So that was our dinner that night, almost the same as usual but not quite. The total, inclusive of rice and drinks, came up to only RM56.60 which I thought was reasonable all right which made me wonder why they do not seem to have a whole lot of customers unlike some places that are not even half as nice, nothing special nor great and not much cheaper either…and yet they are overflowing with people. For one thing, the crowd and the noise would drive me away, that’s for sure.

We do like the food here – they have a lot of nice dishes actually, just that we cannot order them as we will have to stick to those that are gluten free, and the price is always reasonable so we would definitely be coming back here again…and again…

A-PLUS FOOD CENTRE/RESTAURANT (2.293355, 111.823653) is located among the shops along Jalan Kampung Datu behind the block of shops (where Fair Price Supermarket is) near the traffic lights at its junction with Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg and Jalan Kampung Nyabor.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

10 thoughts on “Almost but not quite…”

  1. Every dishes looks so good and they are to my liking. Kut chai, in Mandarin are called “wan ti miaw” if I am not wrong. They are so easy to plant.

    Yes, my friend did share about it on Facebook, can’t remember the English name now…ah yes! Just googled, and here it is: Di Huang Miao / Malabar Spinach (帝皇苗). Sweet potato leaves are easy to plant too, my sister-in-law plants a lot…but I have yet to start planting my own vegetables…other than my disastrous attempt at growing cangkuk manis, they also said so easy to plant, just stick in the ground. Maybe one of these days.

  2. looks like A-Plus’ food lives up to its name! i’d order all these dishes too 🙂

    Been there for years now even at their previous locations and always happy with what they dish out, A+ true and true!

  3. Claypot yam sounds like something I would love to order.

    It was nice but I am sure it would be a lot nicer with prawns. Can’t go wrong with those, just that they are expensive.

  4. You have a good memory, you can still remember what you have ordered during the previous visit. Needless to say, the food above looks very nice, I like the small ngor hiang, that is my favourite too!!

    Of course!!!I have a memory like an elephant’s and I look like one too! LOL!!!

  5. I couldn’t resist the stewed pork.

    Kut chai. I think that is malibar spinach.

    Yes, I think people who did not know the name called it that because it is kut-kut, smooth or slippery.

  6. These are my kinda menu! First time I heard it called “kut chai” for that vege.

    That’s what we call it because of the texture, dunno Mandarin so never use the actual name.

  7. I would not have been able to resist the stewed pork leg. It’s good that they give one whole egg, not like some places, so stingy.

    Great minds think alike! That was why I ordered it even though my girl couldn’t eat it because of the soy sauce, just could not resist!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com