Extra special…

Yesterday, the 27th of September, was Andy’s birthday and he invited us to the café…

Payung Cafe centrepiece

…for lunch.

Of course we had the Foochow longevity noodles in the super awesome traditional Foochow red wine chicken soup…

Mee sua in chicken soup

…and they specially reserved one of the drumsticks for me – the other one was for the birthday boy. The soup was simply out of this world and one contributing factor would be the wine, made by one of Peter’s aunties, and I heard they added dried longans to it, as well as the usual wolfberries and red dates too, thus contributing to the fragrance and the sweetness of the soup.

I, for one, was never particular about the thow (head) or the boi (tail) of the mee sua but this one…

Mee sua

…looked really very fine and I did think it was much nicer than the factory-made ones that I used to buy to enjoy. Oh dear!!! Now it sure looks like I will never look at mee sua that same way again.

Yes, there was an egg…

Traditional birthday mee sua in red wine chicken soup with egg

…too and that was already so very filling but no, that was not all!

Peter, the boss, insisted on cooking for us his most delightful belimbing prawns…

Payung Cafe belimbing prawns
*Archive photo*

…and because there were only my missus and I there, we said we would love it super spicy and yes, it was spicy and very very nice. Unfortunately, I was so busy enjoying the food that I forgot to snap a photograph of it so I have used one from a previous visit in this post.

We also had one of our favourites here, their pomelo salad…

Payung Cafe pomelo salad

…and Peter also prepared this ulam with his special sambal…

Ulam

…for us. My missus sure enjoyed it very much and it was gone in no time at all. LOL!!!

Andy insisted that we must have dessert even though we kept saying that we were already too full and in the end, he served us this durian ice cream…

Payung Cafe durian ice cream

…to share or to be exact, vanilla ice cream with their lovely fresh durian cream.

That was most undoubtedly an extra special birthday treat, thank you so much, Andy…and also Peter and all at Payung. All the best to the birthday boy, God bless always and may all your wishes come true. Cheers!!!…

Cheers! Andy's birthday, 2018

PAYUNG CAFÉ (2.284049, 111.833014) is located at No.20F, Lanang Road, Sibu, Malaysia, back to back with the multi-storey car park of the Kingwood Hotel which faces the majestic Rejang River.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “Extra special…”

  1. You are so spoilt by them to the point of reserving one drumstick for you. Looks like you are celebrating your early birthday too. From the flowers to the food, all I like especially the pamelo salad. Happy Birthday and Cheersssss to the Andy……🎉🎊🎈

    Thank you, I’m sure Andy had a great birthday yesterday. They’re very nice people but no, my birthday is not till December, long way to go.

  2. Love me some drumstick mee suah, of course, even better when they’re duck drumstick.

    For reasons unknown, the Foochows do not have duck cooked and served this way but they have duck in pek ting eyok (eight treasures) and yes, they do have mee sua with that. Not in the shops though – maybe duck is too expensive so you have a choice between pek ting eyok chicken or pork leg.

  3. Happy birthday to Andy. What a wonderful treat.

    Lucky you. One drumstick in the mee suah. I could see how lovely the soup was.

    Thank you. Yes, the soup was absolutely out of this world – gotta try and cook it like that one of these days.

  4. I was never a fan of mee sua but that bowl looks pretty good. The pomelo dish looks interesting.

    Have you tried our Sibu Foochow ones? Not the same as those in the peninsula…and Sabah’s longevity noodles is a totally different variety of noodles altogether. Come on over! I’ll take you to a really good one here…or I’ll cook for you! How does that grab you? LOL!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com