What they say…

Last Sunday morning, I had to go out to do something and my tummy was acting up on me. It probably was the heat the day before when we had to leave the house before dawn to go to my girl’s school in the jungle for the replacement classes and then take her home again in the blistering hot afternoon for the weekend. While I was out, I decided to go for something to eat and even though the best thing for me in my condition would be a bowl of porridge, I just did not feel like it.

In the end, I stopped by this coffee shop…

Tung Ming Cafe

…where I liked the kampua mee

Tung Ming Cafe kampua mee
*Archive photo*

…and also the chin th’ng mee (noodles in clear soup)…

Tung Ming Cafe chin th'ng mee
*Archive photo*

I ask some people that I know why they prefer the coffee shop at the other end of that same block when personally, I do not think what they dish out there is all that nice. From what they say, it seems that they feel this place is rather dirty.

Hmmm…I guess they should do something to clean up the shop, arrange everything nicely and neatly and not simply throw here, there and everywhere and spruce up the place a bit. Otherwise, I do not think it is that bad and obviously, many do not think so too – there are always a lot of people stopping by there for a bite.

I should not be having anything too oily so I opted for the chin th’ng mee but with pian sip instead of the slices of meat (RM2.80)…

Tung Ming Cafe chin th'ng mee & pian sip 1

…and yes, I did quite enjoy it…

Tung Ming Cafe chin th'ng mee & pian sip 2

…along with my kopi-o that was only a ringgit a glass (small).

Yes, they did give the hot water as required by our municipal council for me to dip the chopsticks and spoon before using them to eat. The only thing that I was not all that in favour of was their use of plastic to serve something piping hot – I would rather that they use porcelain or glass instead.

TUNG MING CAFE (2.307601, 111.824983) is located along Lorong Delta 10, the second shop in the first block of shops on your right, after the first one – a grocery store, as you turn into the lane from Jalan Delta in the vicinity of the houses behind the Delta Public Swimming Pool.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “What they say…”

  1. Cleanliness is king in my opinion.

    Yes, it only takes a bit of effort – even in one’s own kitchen/home – if one keeps clean and takes a bit of care not to mess up the place too much all the time, just spend a bit of time to maintain the cleanliness every day. Unfortunately, many are only concerned with making money, not bothered at all about such things so it gets worse by the day.

  2. Over here, you rarely see the practice of giving hot water to dip your chopsticks and spoon before using them. Is it compulsory, I wonder. Warm porridge with canned cai sim is the best food for your upsetting tummy.

    In Sibu, yes, all coffee shops but I only see it in the Chinese ones – they do not seem to bother at the Malay/Muslim ones.

    Have not had chai sim for a long time now – I think there is soy sauce in it, not gluten free. Used to to steam meat, very nice and so easy to cook:
    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2010/06/21/no-sweat/

    1. Now I know what I am going to do with my only can of chai sim left. I like hassle-free recipe. Thanks for the recipe.

      Most welcome, hope you enjoy it. I think this is quite a typically Foochow dish, not very strong on taste.

  3. Most of those old shops over here don’t bother much about cleanliness. I also don’t feel like eating there, with such condition.

    Nice soupy noodle. Good for your tummy. Hope you feel better now.

    Not 100% but better, thank you.

    The authorities should be more vigilant and nab those people whose shops are too dirty. The late YB in Sibu was doing a really good job, all places so clean and he put a lot of emphasis on clean toilets – that was why those left wing (now right wing) supporters called him Mr Toilet. Too bad he passed away too soon, cancer.

  4. That was a very nice meal you had. We can only dream of kopi O at RM1.00 over here. LOL!

    It seems that ice is expensive – with ice, that drink would cost at least RM1.50. Imagine, 50 sen or more for those miserable ice cubes. Absurd!!!

  5. I didn’t know that the municipal council will enforce such requirement. I hope your tummy is feeling better now. So sorry for the lesser blog visits these days… just started a new job and been superbly busy! 😦

    Oh? Better pay? Good luck, all the best in your undertaking.

    I’m recovering, thanks – not quite ok still but nothing serious.

  6. I wish the eateries here will adopt that hot water for utensils habit. We will usually have to wash or wipe the forks and spoons ourselves before eating as they can be rather unclean.

    Yes, my missus would do that. She would wipe the cans too if they are having any canned drinks. Rat pee, she said! Leptospirosis.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com