Did it before…

I did blog about this once last year but I had tuak, our traditional ethnic Dayak rice wine, then and unfortunately, I have run out of that so this time around, I would have to do without it.

This is so very simple really. To start off, place some daun kesum (Vietnamese mint or cilantro) and serai (lemon grass), bruised, in a container…

Daun kesum & serai

Marinate your chicken with some cincaluk (fermented shrimps). I just used a spoonful that day as my girl was home and I was afraid that she might not like it too strong.

Place the chicken in the container with the daun kesum and serai

Chicken & cincaluk

I did cut a few slits in the drumsticks to make sure that it would cook better inside.

Add some sliced ginger and Thai basil leaves…

Ginger & Thai basil leaves

…and I did add a bit of thinly sliced chili…

Chili

…as well for a bit of colour. It would be nice if the chili had been spicy but unfortunately, the ones I had in the fridge were not, not even a bit.

Steam that for around an hour or so…

Steamed

The longer you steam, the nicer the taste would be.

There is no need to add any water as in the process of steaming, the juices and the oils would come out of the chicken and there would also be the moisture from the steaming. Combined, the two would make a really delicious broth with the sweetness and taste of the chicken plus all the ingredients added, the leaves and all the rest, that is. Of course, you are free to add more of those if you would like a very much stronger taste.

This is definitely one healthy dish as there is no oil used in the cooking, no salt – the saltiness of the cincaluk would suffice and of course, there is no msg too. Perhaps you would like to give it a try?

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

10 thoughts on “Did it before…”

  1. It looks delicious! I love chicken…roast chicken, steamed chicken, fried chicken, broiled chicken, barbecue chicken, boiled chicken. Yum! Chicken legs, chicken wings, etc. Now I am getting hungry. πŸ™‚

    I knew you would love this, chicken – your favourite! πŸ˜€

  2. Simple & yet delicious. I can assure you this will suit my tastebuds. Going to cook this if I manage to get my cincaluk. Hard to get Bintulu cincaluk these days. The place I used to buy has been running out of stock for quite sometime already.

    I get mine from my cousin and my brother-in-law in Bintulu. Running out too, down to our last bottle.

  3. I would like to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

    But dont think my kids would enjoy this steamed chicken. Lol.

    Kids. They love anything and everything deep fried, most unhealthy.

  4. Steaming is healthier…

    Yes. Good to grill/baked/roast in the oven too – let the fat drip from the meat.

  5. Looks nice and colourful with the chilli and leaves. As a little kid, I loved cincaluk, but haven’t had it in years!

    I guess you can get the factory-made ones from Malacca there, should be available in the Asian shops. Not as fragrant as ours from Bintulu and rather salty though.

  6. Can imagine that this dish is very appetizing… I don’t have cincaluk, will certainly try this when I do. That day I cook the drumstick with glutinous rice wine… just one dish and no rice…. diet! hahaha

    I imagine the rice wine would be a good alternative to tuak…like in our kacang ma chicken. So very nice!

  7. I must try your recipe… It must taste good and since the WB has endorsed, it will be added to the family menu πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing

    Yes, very nice. Do steam longer to get all the flavours out. If you love cincaluk, you can add more of that for a stronger, sweeter taste. Great with pork too.

  8. Looks and sounds tasty! I’ve never tasted this dish. Normally we just steam using red dates and some herbal stuff. First must find myself some cincaluk πŸ™‚

    That’s a popular Chinese recipe. I’m more into something stronger, more exotic. That is why I love Thai cuisine.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com