How good it is…

When I was there sometime ago, my ex-colleague dropped by for the kampua noodles that he said was the one he liked the best but the stall…

Ming Xuan Corner kampua stall

…was closed for the day even though it was just past 11.00 a.m.

Since then, I had always wanted to go back and try but I did not do so until the other day. The kampua mee

Ming Xuan Corner kampua mee 1

…was good but I would say the same about many of the rest in town. One plus point about this one here was the fact that they gave real char siew (barbecued red meat)…

Ming Xuan Corner kampua mee 2

…not the boiled pork coloured red on the outside trying to pass off as the real thing.

I also ordered the pian sip (meat dumplings), soup…

Ming Xuan Corner pian sip soup 1

…to go with our noodles and yes, it was very nice. The pain sip was all right – it was the soup that won the day, a cut above most of the rest. I could detect a hint of donq quai, something like the one here just Β a stone’s throw away, and a little bit of our traditional Foochow red wine…

Ming Xuan Corner pian sip soup 2

I sure would not mind dropping by again for this sometime – that’s how good it is!

MING XUAN CORNERΒ (2.312754, 111.846595) is located in the second block of shops on your right if you are turning in from Jalan Pedada at the junction after Delta Mall, heading towards Lorong Taman Seduan 8, somewhere opposite the Bread Sense Bakery outlet there, a little to the left.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “How good it is…”

  1. A simple kampua mee that I wouldn’t mind to have a second bowl of it! πŸ˜€

    That dumpling soup looks good too. I think I’ll be fat fat if I stay in Sarawak for a long period! HAHA

    Then you will be like me, can be Suituapui II. πŸ˜€

  2. The dumpling soup would be suprb for me! We have different noodles but i always look at them all as ramen! hahhaha. πŸ™‚

    Ramen is Japanese, very different.

  3. With the char siu & minced meat, the kampua looks like kolo mee. All this while I thought kampua only has thinly sliced boiled meat. The pian sip looks good & meaty.

    No law that says they should not do that, upgrade sikit bah! Like some kampua noodles (machine made) are curly like kolo mee but it is still kampua, the taste is very different from Kuching kolo mee.

    I wonder how they do it, what ingredients go into it. Personally I prefer kolo mee but so far, only Maggi & one Brunei company have come out with their instant versions, miserable wannabes – nothing like the real thing. How come no enterprising Kuching people want to go into it, like The Kitchen Sibu kampua?

  4. I don’t mind having that bowl of piansip soup every day since you vouched for it. πŸ™‚

    Not quite like wanton soup but it’s along those same lines, distant cousins.

  5. Your photos of pian sips always show them to be full of meat – much more so that the wantons I usually get.

    One coming up with not a lot of meat but traditionally, that should be the case – the dish is basically all about the skin, like noodles but these days, where there is more meat, people tend to like it more. Some even have minced prawns – they call it har kao but it’s nothing like the dim sum ones. Still pian sip to me, regardless.

  6. Your soup reminds me of the Won Ton soup I have had from time to time in a Chinese restaurant.

    A distant cousin, similar but not exactly the same.

  7. If i stay in Sibu, Clevermunkey Suituapui II, I Suituapui III, hehe…

    No worries! Just do more zumba, sure you will not end up a tuapui like me. πŸ˜€

  8. Doesn’t look oily, at least it appears to be convincing

    The noodles or the soup? The noodles, where less oil is used, may end up all clumped together. May need more effort to loosen the strands but I don’t mind – less oil is good.

  9. Looking at this post reminds me…. Time to prepare dinner!! Fried rice… πŸ™‚

    Fried rice? That’s what I would usually have for breakfast…when there is any leftover rice.

  10. Now that I’ve had a taste of kampua noodles I’m very curious to try the Sibu version.

    I’ve blogged about a few places over there, people from here and those living/working in KL feel they are authentic enough, pretty much like the ones here but I wouldn’t know if their locations are convenient for you or not.

  11. with your strong seal of approval, and a headline like this, and each bowl quite reasonably priced, there’s no reason not to head here! πŸ˜€

    The crowd there would be proof enough…and the fact that the previous time we were at that shop around 11, they were all sold out, closing for the day.

  12. Wow, you made me want to take a sip of that soup right away. I can imagine how good it is with the dong quai and a hint of wine. Yums!

    About time to think about coming over here to check out what we have to offer. You’ll feel the difference, I’m sure. The Borneo Cultural Festival here is at the end of the month, good time to hop over.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

