I’m wondering…

If you’re wondering why this place…

Wondering Seafood Restaurant Miri

…is called Wondering, well, actually, I’m wondering that same thing too! LOL!!!

My cousin and his missus insisted on taking us out for dinner on our first night in Miri and that was how we ended up here with one of their daughters and one of their sons, 7 of us altogether.

The sweet and sour pork was really very good…

Sweet and sour pork

…and I loved their sizzling tofu with minced meat in a hot plate…

Sizzling tofu

…too.

The belacan (dried prawn paste) that they used for their fried midin

Midin

…was not quite to my liking but we sure enjoyed their salted egg fried lotus root slices…

Salted egg lotus root

I hear we can get these in Sibu too but so far, I have only come across pumpkin done this way.

This looked like it was their signature dish – most everybody was having it, their curry fish…

Curry fish

I loved the gravy but no, to me, it was not exactly curry but something like nyonya asam curry with a slightly sourish taste. Personally, I like this more than curry per se.

That sure was an awesome dinner and a wonderful start to our holiday in Miri, thank you so much, Raphael & Amy – we must go out some place for dinner the next time you two are in town!

WONDERING SEAFOOD RESTAURANT (4.387101, 113.984213) is located at Shoplot 1433, Block 10, Centre Point Commercial Centre Phase 2, Off Jalan Kubu.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

4 thoughts on “I’m wondering…”

  1. All the dishes looks pretty good and decent. The salted egg fried lotus slices is something new to me too.

    Lovely dinner!

  2. Your photo of the sweet and sour pork does convey the yum factor. Nice shot. I haven’t come across salted egg yolk lotus root yet. I’d really love that if I ever see it on the menu.

    Lotus root chips are quite common. Maybe if we dip it in salted egg sauce, the taste will come pretty close.
    Thanks for the compliment. Every dog has its day. Lucky shot! LOL!!!

  3. I want to try that salted egg lotus root slices which is something new to me. Looks like the trip to miri is a foodie trip hee hee. All the dishes look good.

    For me, a trip anywhere is a foodie trip, a food tour!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com