Fifth Avenue…

On Friday morning, on the way to my girl’s school in the jungle to get her and bring her home for the weekend, we stopped by here…

5th Avenue Kopitiam

…at the block of shops with a very nice name, right next to the block where this very popular western joint is. I did notice a lot of people there everytime I drove past and that morning, there were quite a few too, not that many but I would say there was a considerable number especially when the location is slightly out of the way.

There is a kampua mee stall in the section to the left and I noticed a photo of their extra-special Sarawak laksa with those giant freshwater prawns (udang galah) but at over RM30.00 a bowl, you would never catch me ordering that, thank you very much! I think the chu char (cook & fry) place is in the kitchen at the back of that section and in the right section, there is this stall…

Stall

…selling waffles and chicken claws (Eyewww!!!) and what looks like spaghetti bolognese but when we asked, I think those would be our regular noodles or kway teow or bihun served with some minced meat sauce, not bolognese.

The Malay/Muslim stall is right at the back to the right of the drinks stall…

Stalls

…but I decided to order the nasi lemak (RM4.00)…

Nasi lemak 1

…from the stall beside it.

No, the rice might as well had been plain rice, no santan (coconut milk) taste and fragrance at all and eyewww…the heads and the insides of the ikan bilis (dried anchovies) were not removed. Thankfully, the sambal was very nice, very spicy, probably with the addition of dried cili padi

Cili padi

…in the making and the egg…

Egg

…was fried the way I would like it, just that I thought the edges could be a little bit more golden.

All things considered, I don’t think it…

Nasi lemak 2

…would be something I want to order should I happen to drop by here again in future.

My missus also walked around the place to see what she would want to have and ended up ordering from the same stall – the fried noodles, wet/with sauce but this was what she got (RM4.00)…

Fried mee

I did try a bit and I thought it was nicer than those Chinese fried noodles, dry, elsewhere but not as nice as the mee goreng at some of the Malay/Muslim stalls.

I met a friend there, his second time on his way to the airport and I asked him what was nice. He could not pinpoint anything at all so I guess this is just some place convenient to stop by for a bite to eat should anyone happen to be going to the airport or Sibu Jaya or Kanowit or the towns along the Sibu-Mukah or Sibu-Bintulu trunk roads.

5TH AVENUE KOPITIAM is in the block of shops before the block where WOW WOW WEST Sibu (2.296407, 111.885216) is, on your left along Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, the road leading to the Sibu Airport, past the traffic lights junction where you would turn left to go to the Sibu General Hospital but before the next junction where you would turn right to go into Jalan Tun Ahmad Zaidi Adruce.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “Fifth Avenue…”

  1. Yes, chicken claws for me, pls. My favourite. Chicken claws aren’t cheap at all. Rm7.50/kg over here.

    Oh? No wonder you look so young…all that collagen! LOL!!!

  2. ooo, the menu is written in chinese – i’d need a translator! 😀

    Me too! Very common here in Sibu, very Chinese town. The worst is when they can only converse in Mandarin so I will have to struggle to understand and to make myself understood as I am very fluent in Hokkien only – post on this coming soon.

  3. I like chicken claws hee..hee… especially chicken feet kerabu. Nice name, Fifth Avenue, like in New York or something LOL!

    Yes, I do like the name. Eyewwwww…chicken claws!!! No, thank you. LOL!!!

  4. Unfortunately, I think there are many places that survive on being in a convenient location rather than good food.

    …and on people not really particular about what they put in their mouths, as long as there is something edible they are fine with it.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com