What I saw…

When we were here around a week or so earlier, I saw some ladies having what looked really nice so I made up my mind there and then that I would be back to give it a try.

My missus headed straight for the nasi campur (mixed rice) that we had on our previous visits and obviously, she liked their sotong (squid)…

Mia nasi campur sotong and paku

…as that was what she picked again this time around along with the paku (wild jungle fern) and this, her favourite – bamboo shoots…

Mia nasi campur bamboo shoots

I wouldn’t touch that as I just ate three thin slices once and I came down with a gout attack – I never had that since. Altogether, the total for all that came up to RM5.60, RM2.30 for the sotong, RM1.00 each for the two veg and RM1.30 for the rice.

I saw somebody having their teh tarik ais (pulled tea, iced), RM2.30…

Mia teh tarik ais

…and it looked kind of different from the usual with the colour of tea on top and that of the milk in the bottom half so I ordered that to try. It was all right, nice but nothing to get excited about.

So if you’re wondering what it was that I saw that attracted my attention, it was this…

Mia mee jawa special 1

– their mee jawa special (RM10.00).

If you go for the regular, it is only RM5.00 so one is actually paying RM5.00 extra for the two freshwater udang galah (bamboo prawns)…

Mia mee jawa special, prawns

…RM2.50 each and they were not really all that big.

I would say, however, that it tasted very nice. The gravy was different from the rest that I had before. Their gravy was pinkish orange from the use of sweet potatoes in the making and it was kind of thick and sweet. The one here did not have that shade and I liked how it was not sweet and all things considered, I would say that I enjoyed it.

Other than the prawns, they also gave one fried egg and slices of fried chicken…

Mia mee jawa special 2

…but RM10.00 for that sure is not cheap. Besides, you probably would need to have the patience of a saint as I had to wait a mighty long time and that probably was because the coffee shop was full and everybody seemed to be having something different from the rest. I would just go back to their nasi campur the next time we drop by here.

For your information, it is now the Muslim fasting month of Ramadan so they are closed during the day and will only open at 5.00 p.m. till 2.00 a.m. which seems just right for iftar but unfortunately, they close a little too early for suhur/sahur.

MIA CAFE & RESTAURANT (2.308507, 111.820287) is located among the shops at Jalan Bunga Normah 4, around Simpang Tiga, Sibu, facing inwards overlooking the houses along Jalan Kuda, off Jalan Kampung Nangka.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “What I saw…”

  1. I like the look of the mee jawa especially with the prawns. I like to eat bamboo shoots too which we seldom get here but I encountered lots of bamboo shoots dishes in Taiwan.

    Can get it very easily here, at the jungle produce market. Sometimes my missus would buy and she would eat it all by herself. She enjoys it so much…despite the pains that follow. I’m very disciplined. 😀

  2. Your choice is my choice too. It would be fine for me without the prawn. I like the paku your missus had.

    Yes, just two. I think it is just a gimmick, nothing great really – the same as those over-rated prawn noodles that people pay an arm and a leg for here. No, thank you.

  3. I didn’t know bamboo shoots can contribute towards gout, not that I suffer from it. I had an attack long ago, but thankfully, it never recurred.

    Yes, same here! None since I retried and that’s around 10 years already, thank God! I had three thin slices of bamboo shoot in my complimentary soup and came down with my gout attack – would never touch it again even though it could be simply because it caught me on a not so good day, uric acid on the high side. Chinese say it is cold, got wind…and bad for people with arthritis, rheumatism, those things. I had an attack once after eating taugeh (bean sprouts) but on other days, nothing happened.

  4. Haven’t done much with bamboo shoots, but what have I like them

    Nice in soup even with just a bit of belacan, ikan bilis and chili…and can add either paku or cangkuk manis and maybe some young baby corn. We call this kampung-style cooked dish, sayur rebus. Throw in a few udang galah, that will bring the taste to a whole new level.

  5. Ooo, I didn’t realise bamboo shoots can cause gout attacks – I’ll have to keep that in mind!

    You have a problem with that too? Stay away from those drinks, I get it from beer so I’m off that and all the rest for good.

  6. I don’t really like bamboo shoots, because I felt there’s one kind of taste which I couldn’t accept.
    But that mee jawa special look so tempting. The first thing I will try, is the gravy! 😀

    Oh? You probably bought the wrong type – yes, I think I know the one that has a smell. I hear some may cause one to itch all over. The good ones are nice and sweet. Mee jawa was good, just too expensive with the prawns.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

