Turn up the heat…

I blogged about the frozen pies the other day and somebody said that she would be looking forward to my post on them.

Well, when my girl came home for the weekend on Friday, I heated up one of them – the lamb pie (RM8.50)…

John's Pie, lamb 1

It sure looks like they have baked it lightly before freezing. According to the lady at the shop, when one wants to eat it, one would have to take it out of the freezer and thaw it for around half an hour and then put it in the oven to heat it up and bake the pastry slowly till crispy and golden brown…

John's Pie, lamb 2

It was very strong on the herbs but like the German sausage I had here, once we got used to the taste and the fragrance, we thought it was pretty good…

John's Pie, lamb 3

However, despite all those herbs, the smell of the lamb was still noticeable and for people like my girl and I, who don’t mind it at all, we actually enjoyed it…

John's Pie, lamb 4

…whereas my missus tried a bit and that was it! I did wish, however, that there had been a bit of gravy inside. I love pies like that – when you eat them, the gravy would come oozing out.

I heated the other two on Sunday, the signature beef steak pie and the beef and potato pie (RM7.00) each…

John's Pies

…and I tried the former, the one with the Playboy logo…

John's Pie, signature beef steak 1

…and again, it was very strong on the herbs used and between the beef steak and the lamb, I think I prefer the latter as typical of beef here these days, I found that the meat was a little on the tough side…

John's Pie, signature beef steak 2

– not too bad but no, it was not tender enough for what’s left of my old teeth.

I let my girl take the beef and potato back to her school to enjoy it there so I did not get to try it. Perhaps the meat is minced, not in chunks, and with the potatoes in the pie, I would probably prefer that to this one, I don’t know…but having tried and enjoyed those, I guess we have had our fill of pies…at least for a while.

In the meantime, here, I would like to extend my most sincere thanks to Yan in Taiping, Perak and also to a dear ol’ friend, TeeDee in Kuching for the lovely Chinese New Year cards…

Chinese New Year cards

…that I received yesterday. Oh dear!!! He never fails to send me a card every year and I can hardly remember the last time I mailed one back to reciprocate. *face palm* Like I said in an earlier post, I am not sending any this year – with all the cleaning and everything, somehow time just flew by so very quickly and I do not think the cards would make it in time if I were to dispatch them now. I really must do it early next year…and Chinese New Year is even earlier in 2017, January 28th – a little more than a month after Christmas.