Don’t ask…

Don’t ask how much these cost…

Meat pie 1

…if your heart is not strong enough to take it.

I’ve blogged about their sausages…

Sausages

here…and yes, they were very nice indeed. Those were over RM27.00 for 8 at the time but I did mention then that prices might range from over RM30 to RM40, depending on the type/flavour.

Well, my girl and I went loitering around one of the hypermarts in town the other day. Big mistake! In Hokkien, the old folks always say, “Bak chiew ching phai!” (Eyes are very bad) as we tend to be tempted to buy what we see. The best thing, of course, is to just stay at home so we do not see and we will not end up buying anything.

Anyway, my girl spotted them first and I asked if she would like to try them and since that was what she wanted, of course, I bought them for her…without checking the price. As soon as we got home, she said she wanted it for dinner so we popped one into the oven…

Meat pie 2

…and let it bake for an hour. Wowwwwww!!!! The fragrance filled the whole house! It was so very nice…and even before eating it, we could tell that it was going to be really very good.

Finally, it was done…

Meat pie 3

…and when my girl cut into it…

Meat pie 4

…we found that it was all meat in the filling and there was so much of it too! We were kind of wishing they had chunks of meat inside instead of just minced and perhaps, they could have mushrooms too. Nonetheless, it was really very good, as good as the awesome smell we had to endure while it was baking. I don’t know if they have other varieties but we saw two others here – the chicken with mushroom and leek and the black pepper.

Ok, brace yourselves for a shock! I asked my girl if she took note of the price and she said it was…over RM30!!! *faints* That means that one pie like that is over RM15.00. Ok, it was really very nice, nicer than some of the stuff they dish out at some western joints here that may cost a lot more even…and besides, I would think it is perfectly all right to indulge in something like this once in a very long while. After all, we do deserve to pamper ourselves with some really very special treats sometimes, don’t we?

No, I did not help myself to the other one. Since she liked it so much and it truly was very nice, I just let her keep it for another day when she would feel like having it again. I remember when I was young, everytime we had chicken, my brother and I would get a drumstick each and my father would have the wings and then we would go on to the thigh…while my mum had the neck and the parson’s nose (butt) and most of the breast meat. At the time, I thought she actually loved those parts, silly me, so young and innocent…but thinking about it now, it is pretty obvious that it was all because she wanted us to have the best and it gave her such joy to see us eating and enjoying what she had cooked for us – that, I must say, is a true reflection of a parent’s sincere love and sacrifice for the family…and now, it is my turn to do the same.

Incidentally, at this juncture, I would just like to add this little bit to say thank you so very much to my cousin, Yvette, from Perth in Australia for the bag of goodies…

From cousin Yvette

…that she gave to me when she came to town. It sure was lovely to see you again…and nice meeting your hubs and sister-in-law too. All the best & God bless till the next time we see one another again. Cheers, all!