Time changes things…

I cannot remember when the first time was when I first tasted heong peah but I can recall that time when a friend of mine from Taiping, Perak, posted to teach in a school in Song, went back for the holidays and when he returned, he brought me some really very nice ones – no brand, all loose ones, and if I’m not mistaken, he said that he bought them fresh at some pasar malam (night market).  They were crusty and flaky and fragrant on the outside and the treacle inside was soft and gooey, absolutely perfect. I was told that the best ones would  be those from Teluk Intan and since then, whenever I went travelling, I would bring home a few packs of those with the red label, Tiger Brand, I think…with several inside, each wrapped with white paper, stamped with the “official seal” in red ink.

Eventually, other brands appeared and since they were better, I would go for those instead. My father loved eating them so I would always get a pack or two specially for him. Eventually, the hong peah became dry and hard, both outside and inside and one day, he told me not to bother getting him anymore if I were to go anywhere again. It is really sad that as time passes, with progress and technology and what not, that special quality in everything in the good ol’ days has not been sustained. The packaging is nicer, more sophisticated, they are all individually-packed, vacuum-sealed and all…and there are those that claim to be charcoal-baked…and they even come out with different varieties like these durian ones…

Durian heong peah 1

…but what is the use when they are nowhere near as nice as those in the past?

My niece went to Penang sometime ago and bought us a pack of these durian ones, not this brand – made in Ipoh. I thought they were not too bad though I would very much prefer the original heong peah but my missus liked them, it seemed. That was why when I went to Kuching that day and I saw these at a shop there, I quickly grabbed a pack to bring home.

The pastry was all right…

Durian heong peah 2

…though I did get to eat one that seemed to have gone all limp and soft…but look at the filling!!!

Durian heong peah 3

It certainly wasn’t anything like how they depicted it in the picture…and no, it did not taste as nice as the ones my niece gave us.

These…

Salty shrimp biscuit 1

…probably came from the makers of those Kampar chicken biscuits that my missus enjoyed a lot, seeing that the packaging looked kind of similar so I bought one to try. The biscuit was bland…

Salty shrimp biscuit 2

…and did not have much taste and it would not be so bad if the filling…

Salty shrimp biscuit 3

…had been really very nice and tasted of “salted shrimp”. Instead, it came across like something with a lot of cinnamon or five-spice powder and it reminded me of those “cow’s ear biscuits” which have never been my favourite. I did buy another packet of sambal udang chicken biscuit or something like that – a different brand, different packaging and I liked that one a lot – those were very nice…but I did not take a photograph of it.

And talking about Kampar chicken biscuits, I also bought a packet of these…

Chicken biscuits 1

…and they turned out to be more or less the same thing. I thought they looked nicer and were really quite good…

Chicken biscuits 2

…but between the two, I prefer the original which would be more oily on the outside and has a slightly stronger taste and fragrance despite the finger prints that result from them using their hands to press the biscuits when making them. I guess that is their “trademark” and the traditional way of making those biscuits, not that they did not have a rolling pin or anything. LOL!!!

But of all that I bought home from Kuching that day, I think I enjoyed these…

Flossy chicken biscuit 1

…the most.

 I loved the taste…

Flossy chicken biscuit 2

…and the chicken floss in it sure served to bring it to a whole new level.

Ok, so you all got the hint? Dijamin sampai hari esok… Wink! Wink! LOL!!!