Go back home…

The day after the grand wedding dinner, it was time for everybody to go back home. My two aunties were on the 8-something flight back to Kuching so we had to leave the hotel around 7.00 a.m. and get there in time for them to catch their plane. They did say that they would go for a cup of coffee at the hotel before leaving so I gave them my breakfast voucher again so the two could go together.

When I went to the airport the previous day  to pick my cousin and her hubby, I went to browse around a stall there and I thought the nasi lemak set (RM10.90) looked very good  so I made up my mind there and then that my missus and I could have breakfast there once we had dropped off the two senior ladies. Besides, I saw that they were selling beef pies, chicken quiches, scones, apple crumble and I intended to get those for Melissa and stop by her school on the way back to Sibu to pass them to her.

Unfortunately, despite the girl telling me that they would open at 7.00 a.m., when we got there at around 7.30, the place was still closed. That was why we had to abort the plan and stopped by Tatau instead for breakfast at this coffee shop…

Tatau Coffee Shop

…opposite the Tatau Primary School…

SK Tatau

They had one solitary lonely-looking fish in their aquarium…

Fish

Anybody has any idea what fish this is?

We ordered what we wanted from this kampua stall there…

Tatau kampua stall

– both of us had the kampua noodles…

Tatau kampua

…and we shared a bowl of piansip soup…

Tatau piansip

The noodles were all right and to our liking but I would say that the piansip was all skin, with hardly any meat.

Actually, Tatau is quite big…

Tatau 1

…a lot bigger than Selangau

Tatau 2

…but when we were there, it looked so quiet, so deserted, real pathetic….unlike Selangau which is usually quite busy, any time of day. At the coffee shop, the customers were mostly from the ethnic (Dayak) population in the vicinity. Perhaps, because it is near Bintulu, most of the people in the town and the surrounding areas would just drive there to buy what they need instead of getting it here.

After having had our fill, we were on our way and I stopped to take a photograph of this school…

SK Kelawit

Gee!!! That certainly is a very impressive-looking school for one in the middle of nowhere, surrounded all around by jungle and it was a primary school some more. If only Melissa’s school were half as nice as this one!

After a very brief pee-break at Selangau, we headed straight to Sibu and got home a little past 11.00 a.m…and look at the loot that we brought home…

From Bintulu

Other than some of the things that we bought ourselves, I also got two packets of tau sar peah and the Aeroplane jelly from Australia from my Kuching cousin, thank you so much of them, and thanks also to my Bintulu cousin for the ikan bawal putih (white/silver pomfret), the imported beef and lamb…

From Bintulu 2

…plus the Brunei keropok and pomelos and the best-in-Bintulu Ah Jock’s kaya (coconut jam).

I certainly had a great time in Bintulu – to whom it may concern, thank you so very much to you and you and you for everything…