Too sweet…

The other day, after having enjoyed the very nice coconut cookies, I decided to try one of the two packs of wafers…

…that I got from my girl for Father’s Day and I picked the vanilla…

The wafer in itself was very nicely done, very crispy, kind of brittle unlike some of our local wafers that may come across like they have gone stale and a little bit limp (lao hong).

However, I have no idea which of the ingredient(s)…

…is/are the sweetener and despite it being sugar free, I found it too sweet for my liking, quite typical of cookies and cakes overseas.

For one thing, because of it being excessively sweet, you will not find me finishing off a whole lot at one go and will nibble them slowly bit by bit one at a time…

…which, of course, is a good thing. I wish it had been a little bit stronger in its vanilla fragrance but all I could taste was the sweetness. I must say that the Italian Loacker Quadratini ones win hands down but of course, sad to say, I have to avoid those these days.

I shall try the chocolate ones when I am through with these – hopefully, I will like them better.

In the meantime, I’ve also tried the pecan shortbread…

…but I’m afraid it did not sweep me off my feet. I would say it was all right, a bit too sweet for my liking and since butter is not one of the ingredients, just vegetable oil, it lacks that lovely fragrance that one would enjoy when eating Scottish shortbread and Danish butter cookies.

So far, the only one that I would not mind going back to grab a packet or two would be the coconut cookies.

TA KIONG EMPORIUM (2.2933,111.82713,783) is located at No. 42-46, Jalan Tuanku Osman.