5 years later…

I think it was 5 years ago in 2013 when I met my old classmate, now residing in Australia, fondly called Lulu by all who know him because of his surname and my good friend/ex-classmate, Robert, took us out to dinner.

Well, that day, I received a call from Robert but I was on the road and could not speak to him so he sent me a text message instead, inviting me to dinner here

MingZiang Court

…at a leading hotel in town…

Kingwood Hotel

…in one of the exclusive private rooms…

Private room

…as Lulu and his missus were back in town as well as another friend of ours and her hubby, who were back from Australia too.

The dinner that we had that night, I must say, was no less exclusive as the place. I loved the pickled vegetable served as a starter together with the peanuts…

Starters

…and we had the fruits…

Fruits

…to start off the dinner. It seems that it would be more beneficial this way compared to eating them at the end of the meal like what most people would usually do.

We had this awesomely delicious spinach soup…

Soup

…with fresh crab meat inside, served with more of the vegetable, deep-fried till light and crispy…

Spinach

The fish, Soon Hock…

Fish

…was good, bathed in some kind of thick ginger sauce. Well, I am not really a fan of ginger but I enjoyed the fish.

Now, this…

Peking Duck 1

…I absolutely love – Peking duck and all the rest in the paper thin egg wrapper…

Peking duck 2

…and needless to say, I could not resist helping myself to more than one and a lot of the meat…

Peking duck 3

…that was left, served separately. I so love duck!

The asparagus with black fungus…

Asparagus

…was very nice too and even though I was already very full by then, I managed to finish the Foochow fried noodles…

Foochow fried noodles

…which came last.

In my younger days, a Chinese sit-down 12-course banquet would always end with this (and the Foochow-style sio bee/meat dumplings) to ensure that none of the guests would go home hungry…and in spite of this being a halal/pork-free place and no lard was used in the cooking, the noodles tasted really good with the much-coveted wok hei fragrance. Too bad I was already bursting at the seams by then otherwise, I would surely go for another helping or two.

Thank you so much, Robert, for the most delightful dinner and it sure was nice seeing you all again, Lulu and Georgina and spouses. We’ll meet again…next year perhaps – we’ll see!

MINGZIANG COURT (2.2832589,111.8327029) is located on the first floor of the Kingwood Hotel at No. 12. Lorong Lanang 4. 

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “5 years later…”

  1. Love all the dishes especially asparagus with black fungus, spinach soup and Foochow fried noodles. Indeed a great catch up.

    Yes, always good to catch up with old friends and talk about the good ol’ days.

  2. I love everything that you had! This is like a very old school type of restaurant which I like.

    It is? Wait till you see our old school type of restaurant, still looking the same as it did in the 50’s or 60’s!

  3. awesome-looking dinner – so many dishes look very tempting, from the soup to the meat 🙂 hopefully the next time you meet will be sooner than five years later!

    Yes, we are planning a grand reunion next year – 50 years after Senior Cambridge and we went our separate ways, 1969!

  4. Those dishes looks wholesome and not overly fancy, I can almost smell them!

    I enjoyed them all and the best part was no msg overload, unlike many Chinese joints.

  5. I would to have the spinach soup with crab meat. Because I’m a soup person. LOL!
    That fried vege reminds me of seaweed snack. Thin and crispy.

    Yes, my girl loves those seaweed thing, can use to make sushi too. High iodine content, I think.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com