Let’s try it again…

After my blogpost on this place sometime ago, what I know is somebody did drop by to give it a try and a few days later, we dropped by again as well to see what else would be good.

She did not think much of their crispy noodles…

My Chef crispy noodles

…but nonetheless, I ordered that to see how far I would agree with her. Like going to the doctor, for instance, sometimes it is good to have  a second opinion.

Personally, I thought it would be nicer if they had had some tomato sauce in the gravy like how they serve their crispy noodles in Kuching – the gravy would be the same as what they would have in their tomato kway teow. Otherwise, they could have had the egg sauce instead, something like wanton hor, the way they cook those Cantonese fried noodles in KL (or at least, that was how they dished out the ones I used to go for at a coffee shop in PJ Old Town in the mid-80’s, with lots of shredded wombok/Chinese cabbage). On the whole, I thought it was all right but it wasn’t something I would want to order again.

My missus had their char kway teow

My Chef char kway teow

…and she thought it was quite good. Melissa tried a bit and felt pretty much the same about it as well.

She liked the Mongolian chicken rice that I had the previous time we dropped by here so she ordered that for herself. Yes, it was good and she liked it but I did notice that they were not so generous with the very nice gravy this time around – there just was not enough to mandi (bathe) the fried chicken that came in the dish completely and it certainly would be very much nicer to have more of it to go with the plain white rice.

My niece, home from Singapore at the time, said that she dropped by here for dinner and she quite enjoyed what she had as well. According to her, they have fixed prices on the menu, RM8.00 for all vegetable dishes and RM12 for all the meat and stuff. I am not too sure about this as I did not bother to take note, both times when I was there. She did say, however, that the servings were not very big – maybe just enough for two but not more than that. Well, actually, I wouldn’t mind the servings being small, provided the food tastes good.

When I went to the counter to settle the bill, I noticed these figurines on display…

Figurines 1

I guess that must be the Laughing or Smiling Buddha…and the one in front here…

Figurines 2

…is Na Cha though I do not recall ever seeing any of them holding up those tael ingots of gold like that. LOL!!!

Well, we’ve been to this place twice now and we’ve tried some of what they have to offer. Since it is located very near to my house, I guess we may drop by again sometime. We’ll see…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

17 thoughts on “Let’s try it again…”

  1. I think they still called the crispy noodle wat tan hor or yuen yeong in KL. Somehow I don’t like the crispy noodles, it taste like the instant noodle, Mamee and quite oily due since it’s fried. I would prefer to go for a nice beef wat tan hor. yummy…
    The char kway teow looks really good, seems a lot of ‘wok’ energy there, if you know what I mean … hahaha…
    have a good day, STP!

    My missus enjoyed her order.

    I like to tapao the crispy noodles home – would have gone soft by then, nice and fragrant. Shouldn’t be oily, if they can do it well. Those claypot noodles, they also fry first – what do you call them now? Lam mee? Yellow noodles, kway teow…also coated with oil so the strands will not stick together – you can feel that when you buy fresh ones from the wet market.

    You too, have a great day ahead.

  2. Mongolian Chicken? Sounds interesting, and i wonder how to “mandi” the chicken 😛

    Now! Now! Don’t be naughty, young boy. I picked up that jargon from one of the blogs that I frequent. Sounds nicer than “bask” or “pour the gravy all over the chicken”. I think in Hokkien, we say “lam” – dunno other dialects.

  3. The crispy noodle is neither here nor there. Lack of taste. ^^

    The fried kuaw tiaw looks good.

    You sure know your deities. I read a whole volume of Journey to the West (in Chinese and English) and all deities are mentioned there.

    Not really, only happen to know these few. Hehehehehehe!!!!

  4. Yeah when you mentioned wat tan hor and I start comparing both, this crispy noodles doesn’t look too inspiring to me anymore. The gravy seems to have nothing but MSG going.
    There’s actually 3 variations of the dish in KL. Wat tan hor is with hor fun/kuay teow only. The dish with just the crispy bihun is called dao dai mai (wok bottom bihun), then the dish with a mix of both type of noodles is called yin yeong 😉 .

    I guess at the shops, they use bone stock instead of plain water…but yes, there was a bit of msg overload. That’s the thing I don’t like about eating out – too much msg in everything, would have to tell them to use less or don’t use at all.

    Thanks for the info. Yes, that’s yin yeong all right – I’ve heard that name before. Dunno all these names but in the mid-80’s, I would tapao at a coffee shop/restaurant in PJ Old Town and I would just say fried noodles. Just assumed those to be Cantonese fried (I don’t speak Cantonese, just Hokkien…but I’m Foochow) but when I googled for the images, there are so many different kinds. We certainly have a whole lot to learn about one another’s cuisines even though we’re one same country for 54 years now – so ignorant of so many things.

  5. Crispy noodles looks good. Strongly agree with you that the gravy should have some tomatoe sauce in it. For char kway teow, I like to have lots of taugeh. Since your house is nearby, I think you would have try out all the menu in no time, hehehe.

    Not really. I don’t go out so much and on weekends, my girl would want to eat her favourites so most of the time, we would end up elsewhere, usually the same places.

  6. We have crispy noodles here also at the zi char stall…

    We do not have it here normally – more the Kuching-style of fried noodles, though not exactly the same. Many from Sibu do not like the noodles fried this way…but I do!

  7. I don’t fancy crispy noodles at all. But char koay teow, I would go for that anytime!

    Quite a lot of that where you are – not usually found here. Sibu people prefer noodles soft, not hard and crispy. Generally, not the favourite of many here.

  8. I would like to see the mongolian chicken again… cannot remember how it looks like already… see whether the sauce can “mandi” the chicken or not.. hahaha…

    You have this there too? First time seeing and eating this here and we do like it! Something nice and different for a change.

  9. Whenever I order the wat tan hor (the Cantonese version), my noodles will be almost half gone before I manage to eat much….that’s because my kids love to eat those crispy ones (those not in the gravy)!

    Kids!!! No wonder those Mamee monster snacks sell so well at primary school canteens! My friend, Merryn, even had those at her son’s 1st birthday party – baked worms, she called them! Eyewwwwwwww!!!!!!
    http://www.submerryn.com/2014/09/aydens-1st-birthday-celebration-in-malacca.html

  10. When I was young, I thought people cooking crispy noodle using the ‘keropok’ noodle like Mamee. Lol! I’m sure the owner of the shop likes to collect figurines. 😀

    I saw them deep frying the noodles for use in Kuching in the 70’s and then in the mid-80’s in PJ, so I know all this while how they go about it.

  11. I noticed there isn’t any cockles or prawns in the Char Koey Teow? Why is it so?

    Seldom have cockles in the kway teow here, prawns…once in a while, one or two to the most – depends on where one goes and also how much one forks out. I wouldn’t mind paying more…for those!

  12. Oh I miss Singaporean style char kway teow!
    They use sweet dark soya sauce and add see-ham (cockles) last.

    Oh? Not the same as the celebrated Penang one? What I love about the ones in the peninsula is the kway teow – smoother, thinner, very fine…while ours is white (not so translucent) and coarse. Just the noodles alone, we already lose – that is why I am not all the keen on having that here. May just order sometimes for a change but nothing to shout about, never mind what they throw in, cockles, prawns…anything.

  13. CKT look plain, but i do think it taste good, always cannot judge by the look.

    Those figurines on display, caught your attention, because it look like mini you? hahahhahaha!! *just kidding* :P:P

    Muahahahahaha!!!! You are so naughty hor!!! I was waiting for somebody to say that! 😀

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com