Let’s get together…

Last night, I went to this bloggers’ get-together at Lot 9 Cafe here…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 1

Victor Kiu was the meet co-ordinator (right) and with him in the photo was James from Miri…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 2

…and willchua from Sarikei (left) and rubberseeds were there…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 3

…and so was bongkersz (left), with wongpk and alexallied (blurred as he was moving at the time)…

Lot 9 bloggers' gethering 4

…and the camera-shy Bengbeng (so he was not in any of the photos) who was recovering from his serious foot injury. Clare was not able to join us as her uncle took her family out for dinner after the sunset mass but Yan managed to drop by to say hello after her family dinner at another venue…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 5

So what did we have to eat? There was this dish of fried mihun garnished with fried anchovies (ikan bilis) which was not bad…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 6

…followed by this plate of salad chicken which was quite nice too…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 7

…but I did not like the curry fish head. I’ve tasted better elsewhere and even my own home-cooked version with A1 Mountain Globe brand instant curry mix (seafood) is much better…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 8

I liked the sourish Thai-style midin (wild jungle fern). I thought it was nicer than Ruby’s – they had strips of ginger in theirs and I did not like the fuss of having to single them out one by one.

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 9

The butter/cereal pork ribs dish is worth a try. Everybody enjoyed that…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 10

…and this dish of tofu was quite a hit, but I’m more a meat person…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 11

…and very much preferred the Philippine pork leg which could be comparable to Sweet Family’s…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 12

I did not touch the chicken feet/claws though! Eyew…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 13

All in all, the bill came up to around RM300 for so many people, inclusive of rice and drinks and each person had at least two or three. Rubberseeds brought a bottle of wine – Shiraz and they had that but I didn’t touch a drop! I was a very good boy! LOL!!!

It certainly was nice getting together to chit-chat and get acquainted with one another better. My pleasure meeting you, Victor (who was a student in my former school but I didn’t get to teach his class)…and I really liked his t-shirt…

Lot 9 bloggers' gathering 14

Ooo…William Shakespeare! “If music be the food of love, play on!” Luckily Victor’s not even half my size or he would have gone home without a stitch on his back! Hahahahahaha!!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

15 thoughts on “Let’s get together…”

  1. Wah,so many people ar?! Too bad can’t join u guys. We went to Joystar Garden until about 10pm. I don’t really like the food there, to be frank.

    Joystar? The one in Sg Merah? Alex Jienster went last CNY and he said not good. That’s why I never bothered to go. See what you missed! Hahahahaha!!!

  2. Heh, I missed out the gathering as well, actually Victor did informed me earlier but I was busy elsewhere yesterday night, hehe~ next time probably. ^_^

    Ya, I asked Victor and he said you were busy. They’re planning bloggers’ visiting maybe 3rd day Chinese New Year… This year, you’re qualified to give ang pao already, right? Old man can get or not? Hahahahahaha!!! Do come over to my place…

  3. Great outing guys! Go to my blog to see what’s on my camera!

    Wah! Doing promo for ur blog here hor! Hehehehehehe!!!! Well, those who wanna see better photos (digital), can hop over…but if you prefer even better photos, wait for victor, rubberseeds or james for the shots using their giant equipment! LOL!!!

  4. Drink a bit of wine is good…helps blood circulation. Don’t you think the pork leg, like the chicken feet, is a bit too dry?

    I only took a bit of the meat (already very full by then) and it was ok. Didn’t try the sauce as it did not look very appetising. I didn’t touch the chicken feet – never eaten that! LOL!!! Ooo…heavy rain right now! This morning’s tide was quite high! Water at a few places along Bukit Assek Road! Everybody’d better start praying…..

  5. Nice food! So this is your first time meeting Victor?

    Anyway, wishing you a happy and prosperous CNY!! : )

    Yes, we were supposed to have met on other earlier occasions but we didn’t get to do so. A Happy and Prosperous Chinese New Year to you too!

  6. philip, I agree that the pork and chicken feet were dry. Certainly need more juice, and 2 glasses of drink weren’t enough. I was kinda bloated after the curry dish, which I didn’t touch actually :/

    STP: Looks like we’re gonna have a very wet cny this year. Look out for 3rd day of CNY.

    Let’s hope the weather’s kind…..

  7. Nice meeting you all! I like the T-Shirt you wore last night too – it looked like you had a splash of bloggers’ ink!

    And finally I got to see your true colours – using a phone camera, and yet showing reasonably good pictures now and then! How sharp and clear you got Victor’s message on his T!

    You mean printer’s ink? LOL!!! The photos are all ok, and those taken in broad daylight are very clear and nice. Pics of food in restaurants and at night, of course, will not make anybody drool…but then this is not strictly a food blog (though many think it is) or a photo blog. Looking forward to your blog post from Down Under! 🙂

  8. how come on ur own blog dun have ur pic wan ah? other places ur exposed liw leh .. he he he.

    looks like u guys got great time. God willing, i will see you guys again real soon. 🙂

    Of course lah! How to take your own photo? I know some people do with their extended arms…but I’m no camwhore! Wah…you’re missing the scene, it seems! Last year, you were part of it all, eh? Hehehehehehehe!!! The sacrifices one makes for love hor?…..

    Are you applying for a transfer, by any chance? Sibu is a good place – small but not too small (and can certainly save a lot on petrol), lower cost of living, nice people (like me! LOL!!!)….. Good place to settle down and start a family!

  9. yes, i’m thinking of applying for transfer. but I will have to wait till everything is settle down in this office, if not they would not be very pleased to let me go to other branch, and that is if the other branch also wants me la. he he he .. anywhere near hometown is ok la

    That’s good! Hope to have you back around these parts…!!! Planning for the big day yet?

  10. hehe i was at chinese restaurant and my chinese friend ordered a lot of this kaki ayam with soy sauce. good eh?

    Eyew… They have that at dim sums too! Not for me!! Keep getting the image of what they have been stepping on! Hahahahahaha!!!!

  11. Hello, Im back!! Hahas. It’s nice to meet you! My ex- teacher. I was too busy on CNY so i couldnt visit you house. Pai seh Paiseh.. How come you didn’t follow bengbeng them to my house?

    People never invited me to join them mah! Me, so kesian…so unwanted! Maybe they think I’m too old liao… Glad to see you back…and finally, got an update in your blog. I’ve commented already.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com