Name…

This is your name…and this is their name…and this…

noodle cafe

…is my name. We are all named “Noodle“.

This place is quite new. I pass by here after I have dropped off my girl at school and when I pick her up after school to take her home. Their opening hours seem quite limited…

Business hours

They open late, close at 2.30 and do not open at night but I have the feeling that they are affiliated to the hotpot place right next door because on every table, there is a metal cover, probably covering the induction cooker or whatever underneath. I’ve never been to this one – after all, I am no fan of such places – but I have heard friends say that this particular one is quite good and prices are reasonable. I guess if they have a full house, the customers can come over to this side since it is not open at night.

They have quite a variety of noodles dishes on their menu, priced between RM6.90 and RM9.90. Of course you cannot expect those cheap no-class-at-all coffee shop prices – after all, this is a very nice and comfortable air-conditioned café kind of place. I saw they had Penang fried kway teow, sweet vegetable (cangkuk manis) bihun, zhao chai hung ngang but no, I did not see any kampua mee nor Foochow fried noodles in the menu or maybe I did not look carefully enough. There are some set rice lunches, the sets with rice and some main dish to go with it and a somewhat limited dim sum selection as well.

I simply could not resist their Foochow prawn noodles (RM18.90)…

Noodle Cafe Foochow prawn noodles 1

– the Foochow fry & cook noodles (cha chu mee), soup with freshwater prawns (udang galah) and of course, at that price, you cannot expect those huge ones.

What came in  the bowl was about the size of my thumb…

Noodle Cafe Foochow prawn noodles 2

…and there were a whole lot of things in it – minced meat balls, liver, sotong (squid) and fish slices. Personally, I wouldn’t mind a bit more green vegetables. What they had inside was hardly noticeable.

Well, the size of the crustaceans aside, I would say that the noodles tasted really good which, of course, came as no surprise as there were prawns in it – that would surely add to the sweetness of the broth and bring it to a whole new level. I sure would not mind going for this again but I’d probably choose to try some of the rest on their menu which, of course, are a lot more affordable.

The bill came up to RM20.10 – I gave the boy RM25.00 when he served the noodles as I would like to leave the instant I finished eating without having to go through the bill-paying process when I was done. He came back with the RM5.00 note and asked if I had a 10 sen coin. Well, I did not and I gave him a RM1.00 note instead and told him to keep the change. In the end, he came back with the cashier’s receipt AND the RM1.00 note. Obviously, they decided to waive the 10 sen in the end unlike one of the two aforementioned places where they will insist on you paying the 10 sen to the extent of giving you RM99.90 change for your RM100.00 note, if they have to. Truth be told, I get quite pissed off by this everytime. Thank goodness they are not like that here!

NOODLE CAFE (2.291238, 111.837763) is located to the left of 一锅暖 WarmWarm HotPot at No. 11, Lorong Tong Sang 1B.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “Name…”

  1. The noodles looks good especially with those prawns though they are just thumb size big and surely it will add extra sweetness to it. Agree that more greens need to be added.

    Yes, we all love greens, don’t we? Dunno why those people are so stingy with them, not that they are expensive.

  2. For that size, good they gave you more prawns. I would like more greens too.

    I guess if they were bigger, at that price, they would not give so many.

  3. Those hours are quite odd, but if they are usually full with customers, then good for them! I’m intrigued by that recipe – it looks quite tasty!

    Yes, I know that some places abroad do not open till noon and will stay open till after dinner. There are places here that open early to cater for breakfast and lunch. I guess this one needs to give way to their hotpot place next door come dinner time.

    I tried cooking the dry/fried version 10 years ago:
    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2010/06/14/first-try/
    For this soup version, you fry the noodles this same way…and add more water later for the soup. Do not overcook the noodles – they may get over-soft and soggy – that’s the secret to getting it perfectly done.

  4. At least you should know exactly what you’re getting with a name like that.

    Yes, unlike the first one I linked. So many items on their menu but only a few noodle dishes. Probably started out as a noodle place but it has evolved into something quite different now.

  5. I also find their operating hours rather short, open late and close early. There was once i ordered wanton noodles, they did not give me the greens, dont knw is they forget or they are so stingy.

    Probably killing two birds with one stone. Not many people would go for hotpot in the daytime so might as well use the place to sell something else for the added income. The actual hotpot place was open for lunch but I did not see anybody going there.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com