Similar…

I mentioned in my post not too long ago that the people at this restaurant are making steamed paos and sio bee probably in an effort to supplement their income, seeing how business is not so good these days.

I did not buy any that day but my sister did grab a few of their paos (buns) and she thought they were really good and she gave me one (RM3.00)…

Nice House steamed pao

…to try.

They cost a ringgit more than the ones I usually get from the fruit and food shop round the corner from my house which are only RM2.00 each, maybe a little smaller but they certainly look a bit nicer, not so flat.

The skin of both these paos is similar, very old school, nice and fluffy, not the mushy cotton wool kind that you get when you go for the dim sum char siew paos and the meat filling…

Filling

…tastes so similar that I could have sworn that they are made by the same person!

I love egg in my paos and they have more in theirs…

Egg

…but no, they do not give you half, wishful thinking. That is all there is in it, half of half an egg, just a quarter but that is a whole lot better than what you will get in the RM2.00 ones, one-sixteenth! LOL!!!

All things considered, I would go for the cheaper one. For one thing, the shop is very near my house so it is more convenient plus I do not have to drive all the way to that congested part of town where most of the time, parking is near impossible! If I get desperate, I can always cut one stewed egg into halves, cut a slit on top of the pao and push it in and eat and I would have enough egg for two paos. Honestly, eggs aren’t that expensive – surely they can be a bit more generous with it.

NICE HOUSE RESTAURANT (2.29201,111.82739) is located in the vicinity of the Tunku Osman shops, opposite Rejang Bookstore while SWEE HUNG (2.316161, 111.840441) is located along Jalan Ruby, in the block of shops on the right – next to a hair salon at the extreme end.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

6 thoughts on “Similar…”

  1. Usually the char siew pao (RM2.00) I used to buy from Kenyalang Park kopitiam also has 1/4 egg but now only a thinly sliced of it and sometimes you can’t even feel the presence of it. Recently I like their big pao with minced meat, no egg. Cost RM 3.50 each.

    So sad, I love egg in paos. The char siew pao from Hong Kong Puff here, also RM2.00 but no egg. The skin is not the same, not traditional old school – the dim sum pao kind of skin. I think I tried the bak pao once – in a lump, like Fook Hai or Open Air pao, not really fond of that kind of filling.

  2. Well they are trying to be cost efficient I guess by only giving your half of an egg. 😛 Economy is bad.

    …but egg is so cheap! Don’t mind paying a bit more for a bit more egg.

  3. I like egg in my pao!!! Char siew pau is not cheap anymore. Used to buy and love the one sold by an uncle in Kenyalang Park market but long time did not go there.

    Everyone loves egg in their paos – I dunno why the people making would not put any or if they do, they put so little, hardly noticeable.

  4. I also like egg in my pao and like you said, they don’t give much. Usually just a thin wedge. It would be nice to get a whole egg and I don’t mind paying a little bit more for that.

    Me too! Just charge more for the ones with egg – I wouldn’t mind paying!

  5. Bao buns are my favourite, used to snack on them a lot when I was young

    The big one is around NZD1.00 each, bet you can’t get anything at that price there.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com