What else…

We went back to this place for lunch the other day, the four of us – my girl and her colleague/housemate, my missus and I. So far, everytime we dropped by there, we would have our own individual orders, be it rice or noodles, but I did see in my friend’s blog though I just cannot locate that particular post anymore, one occasion when she went to this very same place and ordered various dishes to be eaten with rice. We thought we would want to have that for a change and indeed, that was exactly what we had.

We had the sambal kangkong (RM8.00, small)…

My Chef Restaurant sambal kangkong

…which did not impress me one bit when it was served but when we all tried, the general consensus was that it was indeed very very good.

The fried cangkuk manis with egg (RM8.00, small)

My Chef Restaurant fried cangkuk manis with egg

…was good too though a tad too watery. Well, one just can’t go wrong with this vegetable as long as one tears the leaves enough so as to let the sweetness out and also to make them much easier to chew.

I would say that their sweet and sour fish fillet (RM12.00, small)…

My Chef Restaurant sweet and sour fish fillet

…is among the nicest that I’ve had in town but really, their so-called servings are way too big even for the four of us so much so that we had to tapao more than half of their Mongolian chicken chop (RM15.00, regular)…

My Chef Restuarant Mongolian chicken chop

…home. I remember enjoying this so very much the first time I tried it but this time around, I thought it was just all right, nice…but somehow or other, I thought it was better before.

We saw that they had yong tofu (RM6.00)…

My Chef Restaurant yong tofu

…too but we wouldn’t bother ordering that again, if you can catch my drift. Let’s just say that it was as good as it looked. Period.

Rice was RM1.20 per plate but like most of everything else, there was simply too much of it for one to handle – I think there would be quite enough for two to share.

Other than that last order, we did enjoy everything else and the next time around, we probably would just order one meat and one vegetable dish and two plates of rice for four persons. Well, we can always order something else later if we feel that is not quite enough…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

22 thoughts on “What else…”

  1. Look at all of those greens! Yes please – Popeye muscles for me 😉

    I wonder if it is really all that cheap like somebody said…but looking at the amount on the plate, it sure seems so. 😀

  2. Oh. You must be searching for this post.

    http://kuchingnite.blogspot.com/2014/08/taste-chefs-cooking.html?m=1

    I remember I enjoyed the food there. My 1st visit. Yes. Their serving is big even for small portion.

    Yup, that’s the one. Very near my house but I seldom go there – that area can be very congested during lunch hour and dinner time because of the tuition centre upstairs. Their small can be considered big at other places, a lot bigger than when ordering for two, usually just right for four, at the restaurants.

  3. I prefer ‘kiu soong’ too rather than individual dishes, then everyone can try more stuffs.. Belacan fried kangkung is nice, very ‘hoi wai’ to eat with rice..Lots of food for 4 people though, I assume the girls (mummy, Mel & colleague) are all small eaters.. 😀

    Not really, they all ate quite a lot…just that the servings, though small, were all very big. Other places, if small, they can be really small.

  4. What sauce was it for that Mongolian Chicken? Salted Egg Yolk? Looks thick and rich

    Search me! All I know is they have this everywhere these days…and though it may vary slightly between places, it is very nice. I think I could detect something nutty in it – something like peanut butter.

  5. Nice selection of food. I like the fried cangkuk manis with egg & sweet & sour fish fillet.

    The two with rice, shared…would be just right for four, servings were too big for us to manage.

  6. Lovely photos, even made the yong tofu look good.

    Not that good, unfortunately. The filling tasted like meat, chicken…instead of the usual fish paste. Not too sure if these were the frozen ones at the supermarkets and they just deep-fried them. I seem to remember having seen those before – will definitely not want to buy then!

  7. Address please? I wanna try the sweet and sour.. since say it’s good. Read your old link – too bad about the hokkien mee.. i usually like a nicely fried one! 😀

    One more click and you will get to this post: https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2014/08/20/taking-over/
    and this is in the post on the Hokkien mee: “…it is to the left of the Delta Mall, the second shop in that block with the Astro Sibu Office at the far end of that same block…” Dunno the exact address but the GPS bearing is given. You are in Sibu? The sweet and sour is good at a number of places, maybe even better.

    P.S.: Managed to get the address from foursquare: No.3 Ground Floor, Pusat Pedada, 96000 Sibu, Sarawak, Malaysia
    and they are on Facebook too.

  8. Generally, I like anything kangkong and this looks good, maybe it’s also due to ur phototaking skills =)

    It looked just like that – I didn’t think much of it at first because I never had Bombay onions in my kangkong belacan. Thankfully, it was nice.

  9. The sweet and sour fish is a beauty! The portion size looks about right to me for four persons. All of you must be small eaters.

    Or you’re a big eater? 😀 The fish (or the chicken, one or the other) would have been just right, plus one veg dish and two rice to share – the extras proved to be a bit too much for us to manage.

  10. Used to visit this place often..their small portion is really huge

    Yes, tastewise ok, not bad…but not everything’s good. 😦

  11. i’m glad you started out with the veggies … cos those might be my two favourite items from this food post … and that’s a good tip about how to prepare cangkuk manis for those of us who aren’t familiar with it 🙂

    Yes, some people do not seem to know they have to do that so the sweetness does not come out = not nice and it is so hard, not so chewable. Maybe that is why it is not as popular there, compared to here. The favourite of many!

  12. The food looks good, Arthur.. even the kangkung sambal… maybe your clear pictures make the dishes look very attractive!

    Yakah? Hot day, bright sunshine, natural light – they make better pictures.

  13. I like yong tofu, I remember every time I had yong tofu, I must order the chili thing, hehe!

    Not these. Will never ever want to order these here again.

  14. The vegie dishes look good. hard to get good stir fries…and I cant recall when was the last time I had cangkuk manis in KL in the preparation above.

    I did see it being served some place in KL in somebody’s blog – not sure if they tore the veg to bits or not to make it easier to chew and also to bring out the sweetness.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com