I don’t like it…

Gosh!!! I can’t remember the last time I cooked something! My health was not so good and I would get tired even if it was something simple like cooking a packet of instant noodles. That was why most of the time, I would buy things like steamed paos (buns) or kuihs or bread and buns for breakfast instead of cooking my own.

Eventually, I got better and cooking instant noodles would not wear me out anymore and I have been warming up my bottle of Brands’ Essence of Chicken (with cordyceps) and preparing my own half-boiled/cooked eggs every morning, my sources of protein and the other day, I manage to fry this plate of noodles…

…using this…

…that my niece brought back from Singapore to give to us. Well, obviously ‘all natural” and “air dried” are not “non-fried” like these noodles…

…that we can get here. They’re not the same.

My missus took a packet and cooked – she served it with some soup that she had in the fridge and she said it was not nice. She did not elaborate further so I did not know exactly in what way it was not good.

That morning, I took two packets…

…to try because it did not look like there was a lot in one. I had to boil the noodles first till soft and in the meantime, I got these ingredients…

…ready – some garlic, peeled and chopped, three freshly-cut cili padi, one lap cheong (Chinese sausage/臘腸), skin-removed and sliced and some spring onions, cut into short strips or chopped.

Once the noodles were soft enough, I drained them well and tossed them in soy sauce, msg and a sprinkling of pepper…

I fried the garlic in a bit of oil till golden brown before throwing in the cili padi and the lap cheong, followed by the noodles. Finally, I added two eggs and mixed thoroughly. Once I felt everything was cooked enough, I dished it all out onto a plate…

…and served.

Well, it tasted all right but I was quite sure that if I had added some prawns and a handful of taugeh (bean sprouts), that would bring the taste to a whole new level. I did not really like the noodles though – I found it a little hard/too firm in texture like some of the handmade ones at the noodle stalls here, not really nice and soft and smooth like our kway teow.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

4 thoughts on “I don’t like it…”

  1. I seldom eat mee pok or straight noodle unless left with no choice. I only like curly noodles. Don’t ask me why cos I don’t have an answer for it. After everything is done, your plate of fried noodles looks good. Hey, your chopping board looks familiar. Like mine, from Cosway, right?2🤣🤣

    I wouldn’t know where my missus got it from. Probably from Cosway – she’s a member.
    Yes, it looked all right, tasted o.k. too but would be much nicer with added ingredients like prawns
    but the noodles were bland, absolutely tasteless and a little hard, not to my liking.

  2. Dried noodles is best boiled longer to get a softer texture but can never be as good as the fresh ones.

    Gotcha, thanks. I cooked some more this morning and I guess I cooked it a lot longer so it was softer. Much nicer this time around, blogpost on it coming right up!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com