A little bit better…

The Dragon Boat Festival (端午节[duān wǔ jié]) aka the Chang or Dumpling Festival came and went and I sure was thankful that I got the lovely homemade ones from some friends of mine…

Hokkien chang from friends
*Archive photo*

…and the awesome out-of-this-world nyonya chang from my good friend and ex-colleague, Richard…

Richard's nyonya chang

…and also an assortment of those from my sister-in-law – she got them from her friends and had more than enough to go round. That reminded me of the time when I was teaching in Kanowit (1978-1982) when without fail, every year, the students would bring some from home for me and at the end of the day, I had so many, enough to set up a stall at the pasar malam (night market), in fact. The joy of teaching in a sub-urban school!

Anyway, the other day, while we were having our lunch here, I saw a lady at another table eating one and she seemed to be enjoying it. I knew for sure that they did not have those there so after we had had our fill, I strutted over to this place at the other end of the block. They do sell some Chinese kuehs there and yes, we did try some of those before and there were some that we did quite like.

There were only two left…

Friends' Kopitian Hokkien chang 1

…and yes, the lady running the kampua mee stall there said that she made them herself so I grabbed both to take home and try.

I must say they were a little bit better than some…

Friends' Kopitian Hokkien chang 2

…and had chunks of meat inside…

Friends' Kopitian Hokkien chang 3

…and even some bits of fat…

Friends' Kopitian Hokkien chang 4

I like that as those will make the chang a bit more oily and somewhat nicer, or to me, at least.

As far as the taste went, I must say that these were quite good though I had had nicer ones but sadly, most of the time, the meat was not visible to the naked eye and I am rather wary of those that they tie using nylon string instead of the traditional dried straw…

Friends' Kopitian Hokkien chang 5

No, unfortunately, there was no sign of any hay bee (udang kering/dried mushrooms) nor shitake mushroom, no chestnuts, no salted egg yolk in them – I wouldn’t mind paying a lot more for the whole works, actually. After all, this is just once a year, not all the time. As it was, for RM3.50 each, perhaps I would enjoy a plate of kampua mee more and still have change…

FRIENDS’ KOPITIAN (2.296353, 111.840831) is located at Pusat Tanahwang, opposite Sacred Heart Secondary School, Oya Road, to the right of the SHELL petrol station along that road.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “A little bit better…”

  1. RM3.50 for such chang seems really good. I paid one for RM7.50 and it was quite dry with not a lot of meat in it 😦

    Good grief!!! RM7.50!!! Now, that’s expensive…and here I am grumbling that ours here cost RM3.50 each, might as well go eat kampua mee.

  2. The rice looks superbly moist and delicious.

    Yes, it was good, just that there wasn’t much else other than the meat inside. I would love the whole works, once a year, at least.

  3. I bought one few days back, bak chang with chestnut and salted egg yolk, the size almost same as the one you buy, $4…

    So cheap!!! Food is really cheap in Singapore, just don’t convert.

  4. Yes. A little fat makes the whole dumpling taste nicer and better. I don’t like all lean meat in my dumpling.

    I am glad to taste few dumplings this year just to keep up with the tradition. None last year.

    Oh? Why none last year? I would love really good ones, never mind a little bit more expensive. At least, the prices are not as atrocious as those mooncakes – I sure would not buy any when the festival comes around.

  5. RM3.00-3.50 is quite reasonable for bak chang with meat only. At least, for yours you can see chunks of meat and not tiny bits and pieces. I would not buy from those using nylone string to tie their bak chang too.

    Yes, I really hate it when you pay so much and when you eat it, even though it tastes great, there is hardly any trace of meat inside. I get so pissed off!!!

  6. The huge one i bought was rather a disappointment, the rice was too soft 😦

    Awwwwwww!!!! Just like the nyonya one from Singapore that my sister-in-law gave me, so sticky, had to use a butter knife to get it off the leaf and back into shape.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com