All white…

An old friend of mine who had migrated overseas a long long time ago was in town for a night. She managed to contact me but she said that they would be going to the sunset service at the cathedral so I told her that perhaps, after that, we could get to meet here as it was right behind the hotel where they were staying – I would be going for the service too but not at the same place.

We all went – my girl, the mum and I, and got there way past 8.00 p.m. but unfortunately, she did not show up. She was here with her hubby and others so my guess was that they had other plans and went some place else. We had had an early dinner before leaving the house to go for the service and we did not want to eat anything heavy while we waited so I just ordered their garlic bread with chicken sauce…

Payung Cafe garlic bread with chicken sauce
*Archive photo*

…and mushroom roll…

Payung Cafe mushroom roll
*Archive photo*

…and also their mashed potatoes…

Payung Cafe mashed potatoes
*Archive photo*

…along with our drinks. I had their chocolate milk shake and boy, it was very very nice – my missus had the durian milk shake while my girl had a hot Milo.

Well, it so happened that the boss, Peter, was going to call me to ask me to drop by. He said that some people came to eat at his place sometime ago and they invited him to take part in the fund-raising food fair here and he did…that morning! His chicken/beef spaghetti and Payung rojak

Payung rojak
*Archive photo*

…were all sold out and he also made this fresh pek koi (rice cakes)…

Own homemade pek koi

…for sale and there were a few tubs left and he gave me two.

I tried cooking one of the two and cut the pek koi into very thin slices…

Pek koi, thinly sliced

…after which I added dark soy sauce, a sprinkling of sugar and some pepper and mixed everything together well…

Pek koi, tossed with soy sauce etc

I prepared all the other ingredients that I would want to use…

Other ingredients

– sliced shallots, chopped garlic, spring onion and chili plus one black pepper-flavoured sausage, sliced.

To cook, I fried the shallots and the garlic in a bit of oil till golden brown before adding the chili and the sausage, followed by the pek koi, pre-tossed with the aforementioned ingredients. Once done, I broke a few eggs into the wok, fried them together well and finally, I added the spring onion, mixing that well with everything else before dishing it all out…

My fried pek koi 1

I thought it was really very nice – the pek koi was nice and soft, not hard and chewy and rubbery like those sold in packets at the shops and supermarkets, no matter how one soaks it, and it was a whole lot nicer than the local freshly-made ones sold at the wet markets here as well.

My girl and the mum enjoyed it…

Myfried pek koi 2

…very much too and at the time of writing, I still have another tub left – perhaps I would want to cook it a little differently and I may or may not blog about it. We’ll see…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

13 thoughts on “All white…”

  1. The pek koi that you cooked looks so tasty! Yums! If you cook the other tub of pek koi using another cooking style, please do write about it and make us salivate again, hehehe.

    I cooked already but I did not take a photo as I used the tiny canned clams in soy sauce, the way they do it at most if not all of the stalls here in town. Tasted great also but I think this one is more photogenic. Hehehehehe.

  2. Oh. You did not get to meet your friend.. but at least you have a nice dinner in your favourite place and get to cook nice pek koi. I tasted once only. In Kapit when my MIL cooked it.

    With canned clams in soy sauce? Most people here cook it with those. I did too, with the second tub – nice also but did not look as pretty. Hehehehe!!!

    That was supper but yes, the pek koi from the Payung boss was a consolation for going all the way there, most unexpected.

  3. Morning Mr Wee! Back to business after a long Raya break, hope you had some fun too πŸ˜€

    Sure did! My girl was home the whole time so we went round eating and enjoying anything she fancied and she did some cooking at home too and so did I! Sent her back to her school in the jungle yesterday. 😦

  4. Mistaken the uncooked pek koi for mooncake. I had the pek koi the other day & I like it. Pek koi & Payung rojak are my choice. Yummy!!!!…

    Where’s a good place for pek koi in Kuching? I hear the ones sold in packets at the supermarkets are better now than those in the old days, no need to soak overnight to soften. I wouldn’t know, never bought except once – the freshly made ones at one of the wet markets here but they are still rather chewy or rubbery for my liking, same as those cooked ones at the stalls. This one is really very nice, no need to bite and chew so hard, almost like kway teow but not quite.

  5. Mushroom roll looks delish! but your ‘light’ dinner sure looks very filling LOL

    That was supper – we had dinner earlier before leaving the house for the sunset service that evening.

  6. Garlic bread and chicken sauce – that’s a new one for me. I’d like to try the mushroom roll.

    It was VERY nice – the garlic bread & chicken sauce, don’t just take my word for it. They served it while I was away talking to the boss…and when I got back to the table, the two ladies had finished all of it, leaving just one solitary slice for me. Thankfully, I was still quite full from dinner.

  7. Garlic bread…yum! And the mushroom roll looks delicious! πŸ™‚

    All good here, a good place for anyone in town to drop by for lunch or dinner…or like us, for supper!

  8. Ah…Payung! I guess Payung is to you what Ampersand is to me hee..hee.. The pek koi look so pretty like a mooncake. I have never had any, I suppose it is similar to koay teow but thicker? What you dished out sure looks good. Yum yum!

    Not really. I don’t go so often anymore since they do not have anything new on their menu, same things – may drop by when I bring friends coming to town to let them enjoy but otherwise, I’d much sooner go and check some place else.

    Yes, especially this one that is softer than the usual, not exactly like it but quite like kway teow. Well, after all, kway teow is flat rice noodles, more or less the same thing.

  9. U can cook very well, i must learn from you…

    Nahhhh!!! You’re only saying it. Bet you can do a lot better, secretly laughing at me, so simple the cooking also want to blog about it. πŸ˜›

  10. That does look tasty – I’m not sure I’ve ever had this type of rice cakes before. Maybe can cook them with kimchi for the next round! πŸ™‚

    Eyewwwww!!! No, thank you but that’s a brilliant idea! Bet it can’t taste any worse than kimchi fried rice. Hehehehehe!!!! Kimchi seafood pek koi, sounds good! Kimchi pork belly pek koi, even better!!! πŸ˜€

  11. Sure looks good with so much ingredients to fry with! I am drooling over here la…

    No leh! Very simple one, my cooking, very basic. I only added the made-in-Kuching black pepper sausage as there was one left in the freezer and you know, I tak tahan see things sitting in the fridge one. Hehehehehe!!! Very nice wor, the sausage – the frankfurters too. You come to Sibu, I will buy and let you take home to enjoy!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

