Lend a hand…

It was two Saturdays ago, the 11th of July, when my girl and the mum and her colleague/housemate and I dropped by here…

Agape Centre

My girl used to teach here voluntarily, for free, of course, to help out with the people there who are doing their bit for the children with special needs…

For children with special needs

Unfortunately, eventually, she was posted to a school in the Selangau district so far away and she only comes home on weekends so dropping by in the afternoon to help out is out of the question.

It is a very nice place…

Agape play area

…with offices, classrooms and even a nice play area that is a joint-contribution of the Japanese Chamber of Trade and Industry…

Jactim

Well, we were there that day for the fund-raising food fair…

Banner

…in aid of the Sibu Autistic Association. Sometime ago, I bought a few booklets of the coupons that could be used to buy whatever we would fancy at this fair.

There were many stalls and many people though I would say I was kind of disappointed that there wasn’t anything that really stood out. Perhaps they should rope in the big hotels or those very popular cafes and restaurants in town to come in and sell some really nice things and all the proceeds would go to the charitable cause. Day in day out, they are making a whole lot of money from the many customers that walk through their doors – it would be good if they could give back a little bit for a good cause in that just-one-morning affair.

There was this stall serving free samples and selling the drinks…

Drinks

…and stalls like this one…

Kim chi

– I think they were selling kim chi and there were others selling eggs, pineapples, salted vegetables and packets of bihun

Pineapples and so on

…and even potted plants…

Potted plants

This stall certainly enjoyed brisk business…

Burger stall

…but we did not get anything from there…

Burger

…and it was rather crowded and there was a long queue and we were told that we would have to wait for at least half an hour.

In the end, my missus used up all the coupons to buy one herbal roast chicken (which was really very nice) and some cakes and my girl bought some fish…

Fish

They also bought some acar (pickles) from this stall…

Acar stall

…not knowing that I had stopped there earlier and I had paid cash to buy that same thing…

Acar

…for my mum who seemed to enjoy eating that with her rice these days.

I would say that the fair was a huge success – the people selling the coupons must have done a really good job and I saw a lot of people going home with the cartons of eggs…or the packet drinks. Even those people selling the things were volunteers from some commercial firms, clubs and associations and others so kudos to all of them for chipping in and helping out. I told my girl that maybe if they have another one next year, I can volunteer too and set up a stall selling maybe…my pancakes…or popiah…or pies…or fried rice…or some special ethnic Melanau or Malay delights and she agreed that it was a great idea and it would be very nice if we could also go and in some small way, lend a hand…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

22 thoughts on “Lend a hand…”

  1. I remember you writing about these coupons some time back. So now you or rather your wife had put them to good use.

    It is a very good idea for you to participate by setting up a stall. Hope they have another one soon for you to join. πŸ™‚

    Not sure if this is going to be an annual affair. Gotta keep an ear open for it – would be easy to get to know about it if only my girl is still helping out at the centre.

  2. I find that stretched hamburger picture very eye catching. Good on your girl for her volunteer work. Helping others is a wonderful way to grow personally.

    Yes, caught our attention too but we did not want to wait.

    Indeed, “truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me”

  3. A month ago, we have our Annual Church food fair too. I love acar too and nice to have it with keropok or rice…yes, it taste heavenly. Hope your idea works for next year (if there is any) to do for a good cause.

    When I was in Kuching in the 70’s, the “famous” ladies in town would have their stalls at all these food fairs in aid of charity – any one, they would be there…with the specialty they were famous for and people would make the beeline to their stalls to go and buy! Not quite like that here. 😦

  4. Oh yes, you can also sell your signature char bee hoon LOL

    Yes, maybe I can have free samples…by the spoonful…like those ice cream places. πŸ˜€

  5. is that acar? i love acar!

    With keropok. My mum seems to be craving for it…but it may not last very long. She may ask for something else eventually…like salted fish, budu aur, cincaluk…things like those.

  6. How nice! And the play area looks like fun! πŸ™‚

    It is indeed a very nice place, kudos to all concerned for doing their bit to help the less fortunate.

  7. I used to visit those charity booths mostly organised by churches and schools. Sometimes we bought the coupons and ended up forgot to use them. Lol. But all for the good cause.

    The burger pic reminded of a game I used to played. Cannot remember the online game name.

    Yes, or we would forget where we have stuffed them, can’t find…or we’d go to the church ones and forget to bring the coupons. Usually they allow people to pay cash so it is all right, will buy anything we fancy, just forget about the coupons. Online game, hmmm…don’t ask me! Hehehehehe!!!!

  8. The food fair looks nice, I like.. I like all kinds of food fair..My favourite gotta be that burger stall πŸ™‚

    Had to wait for half an hour at least, they said and we did not quite fancy that. 😦

  9. I will go if i know of such events…

    The ones in Kuching are really worth dropping by for, got “specials” cooked by some well-known people. Here at such events, mostly, we would find stuff we can get at the pasar malam, donated…I guess. Would be good if some can put in some effort to do something really special – never mind expensive, all for charity.

  10. I love food fair. Remember back then during school times, food fair is one of the activities organized in every year. There was a year we actually selling burgers.

    We never had that in school – not when I was a student nor when I was a teacher or none that I can remember. Over-pampered, over-spoilt…my school, always got people to donate or contribute.

  11. I would always buy these fund raising coupons (as my ‘small’ contribution) but never went to use them since some of them are really far away like the Montford Boys Town.

    This place is far…by our Sibu standard, the other side of town but it was ok. Even when my girl was teaching there, we had to drive her every day but it was fine. Just doing whatever little bit we can. Of course, very little contribution counts, cash or kind…or in action.

  12. I love acar but with rice.

    Good deed you doing there

    My mum eats with rice, better appetite, I guess. What to do? Poslaju never delivered keropok anymore… Muahahahahahaha!!!!!

  13. heart-warming to read about an event like this where all of you gave a part of what you could and made a positive difference in people’s lives πŸ™‚

    Charity begins at home. Sad that there is so much “ugliness” all around these days. What goes around comes around…

  14. Oh that would be exciting – you setting up a stall selling your delicious home cooked food! It’s good to know that the fair was a success.

    Yes, my girl was thrilled when I mentioned the idea to her. Hope we’ll get to do it some day.

  15. Melissa is so well brought up. Not only is she nice to her parents, she even does all these volunteer work. I used to like to frequent to these kind of charity sales but have not gone for one for a very long time now 😦

    I wish she had a little mean streak in her – too good, too nice. Others may take advantage of this kind of people.

  16. That’s very nice of your daughter to offer voluntary work here, and the place is so far away too! Seems like you guys have a good time at the fun fair there. I love fun fairs…it’s always nice as well as do some charity.

    Yes, it was nice…and we enjoyed the chicken very much, roast chicken with a herbal, ginseng kind of taste – I wonder if there is any place I can buy that. Sure wouldn’t mind having that again.

  17. Subur Tiasa stall? Haha! I used to work there.

    Agape too, we did some promo stuff for them though I’ve never worked for them directly – I was in Pansar at the time. They’re doing good work there, yeah I remember your daughter used to volunteer for them too.

    I’m sure you can setup a stall there next year too, do something with tempoyak, it’ll be a huge success for sure!

    Tempoyak! That would probably rule out half the population of Sibu. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Yes, I think your dad used to work there too.

  18. Melissa is such a lovely girl. God bless her for finding time in her busy schedule to do volunteer works.
    I like going to such charity food fairs. Usually organised by churches and associations. Yes, it is a good idea if you can sell something at the fair next year..your specialities..popiah? fried rice? Your fried rice photos always look so good!

    Tastes good too! πŸ˜‰ LOL!!! I do hope to be able to participate especially now that I am retired and have more time on my hands. Something to do and something for a worthy cause some more.

  19. Fundraisers are GREAT πŸ™‚ Looks like a FUN time πŸ™‚ Seemed nice weather-wise from the pics, too!

    Yes, it has been very hot and sunny for a long while around that time – these few days have been rainy, a welcome relief from the heat!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

