Can’t go home…

When I shared the photographs of the must-eat things when somebody comes back home to Sibu on Facebook, right away, somebody asked, “Where’s the kompia?” Of course, that is another one of those things here that one can’t go home without eating.

That was why last Sunday, when we came back from sending my girl to her school in the jungle, we stopped by here for tea. Gosh!!! The weather was really bad but not as bad as in Penang that day, far from it, but even so, I would not say it was a pleasant drive.

We had the sotong kangkong

Thomson Corner sotong kangkong

…but of course, they also have that in Kuching like the one at the Open Air Market there.

We tried the sio bee too and though it was not too bad, quite nice, in fact, it was kind of firm and springy, not as bad as the ones here in Kuching but more like the ones from the Open Air Market. I ordered three and we gobbled it up so quickly that taking a photograph of it did not cross my mind but for the uninitiated, they look something like these…

Sibu Foochow sio bee
*For illustration purposes only*

We did buy home the ones from here earlier (RM1.10 each) and they were really very good but unfortunately, I did not take any photographs of theirs. I certainly must make it a point to go back there again one of these days for the very nice fish noodles and this time around, I will order their sio bee, served piping hot on the spot, and blog about it.

Anyway, going back to our tea that day, I had the ang tao peng

Thomson Corner ang tao peng
*Archive photo*

…as usual while my missus and her sister had the ang tao cendol. Needless to say, ours would pale in comparison with the awesome ones here in Kuching but beggars can’t be choosers.

Of course, we did not forget what we went there for, the kompia (RM1.00 each)…

Thomson Corner kompia 1

…stuffed with minced meat filling…

Thomson Corner kompia 2

…and oven-toasted, fragrant and lightly crusty on the outside and soft on the inside. Yes, it was very nice and yes, my sister-in-law did buy one big bag full, the plain ones – 3 pieces for R1.00 – from my favourite shop here to take back to Kuching when she left that day.

The SIBU THOMSON CORNER (2.296517, 111.840710) is located at Pusat Tanahwang, right across the road from Sacred Heart Secondary School, Oya Road.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “Can’t go home…”

  1. The sauce on the sotong kangkong looks very rich and sticky.

    Yes, I think they add a bit of corn flour, the way it should be – not like the fruit rojak sauce. A little sweet probably from the use of our local palm sugar (dark), a little sourish from the lime juice added and salty. Would love it more if they could make it extra spicy.

  2. I like the sotong kangkong & sio bee. Swee Kang, my favourite place for sotong kangkong & ang tao chendol wheras sio bee will be from Open Air Market. Yesterday my friend posted a new place at Jalan Padungan (a shop directly opposite Noodle Descendants) which sell nice desserts, etc. Yet to try.

    I don’t think I’ve tried the sotong kangkong at Swee Kang, just the belacan bihun – not nice at all, dunno why it is so popular. Will never want to eat that again. Open Air sio bee is nice but my missus does not like it firm like that – can buy in Sibu now at that Hong Kong Puff shop. The sotong kangkong at Open Air is good too – been around for a long long time, that one.

  3. Some not so nice in Kuching. Must go to the old timers’ shops to have those authentic tasty food and dessert.

    Hmm. Thomson. I used to take away lunch there. Haha.

    Fook Hai is old-time but I guess the descendants have taken over so it is no longer nice. When the young ones take over, it is no longer nice like before, Ah Mui is another one like that.

    Yes, Thomson is very conveniently located – just don’t go when the boys from the school opposite go home, very congested.

  4. the way you described the kompia sounds so good – crispy on the outside and soft inside. yummy!

    It is. I bought a bagful to share with fellow-teachers at a course and one lady from Miri looked scornfully at them and she took one to try. After some time, she said, “I’ve eaten one after another and I never seem to be able to stop. They are so very nice!” And she asked me to get a bag of RM10 worth, 40 pieces at that time, now only 30, for her to take back home.

  5. I just might have to make some more vegan sloppy joes after seeing this post!

    They’re something like bagels. The filling can be anything – curried potatoes, for instance, would probably be nice too.

  6. Sio bee, I like, can eat many of it, hehe…

    I’d probably stop at 3. If they’re RM1 each, 3 would be RM3 – anything more than that, might as well use that money to go and eat something more filling.

  7. i want the ang tao cendol! that’s a different way of serving cendol compared to kl too 😉

    Oh? I thought it is the same – cendol will usually have ang tao in it unless one orders like me – the ang tao peng, only the red beans. I know some Malay shops here – they add all kinds of jelly, bright colours, and cincao and sweet corn…and pour all kinds of colourful syrup over the shaved ice – not nice, overkill!

  8. Drooling over the food above.. all also suit me! The sotong kangkung looks so tempting.. with lots of peanuts, that must be very tasty!

    That’s a must! Lots of peanuts – then only will it be nice. You were here before – the sotong kangkong at that time not nice as they use rojak sauce, failed big time. Now they are using sotong kangkong sauce, not the same and very very nice.

    Where to after Melaka? Poor Aaron has never been to Sibu – should let him hop over to enjoy all the nice things here. Bet he’d love that!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

