She came back…

My sister-in-law who is residing in Kuching came back to Sibu for All Soul’s Day and on her first night in town, I took her here…

Red lantern chili sauce for sale

…for dinner. They are presently making this super hot chili sauce from those red habanero lantern chili, selling at RM10.00 a bottle.

It so happened that the boys made some roti paratha that day and they gave us a few pieces to enjoy…

Roti paratha and lime pickle

…with the pickled lime which did not tickle my fancy – I did not like the taste of the skin of the fruit. I did enjoy the roti very much though, eaten with some ghee that one of them brought all the way from India. I wonder why it was white – the ghee we have here is usually yellow in colour.

For our dinner, I ordered the Payung rojak (RM10.00, small)…

Payung rojak

…and the pomelo salad (RM8.00)…

Payung pomelo salad

…both of which my sister-in-law enjoyed to the max. Who wouldn’t?

We also had the butter chicken (RM18.00 with rice) but the photograph came out blur and we also had the green curry chicken (RM16.00 with rice)…

Payung green curry chicken

…and the belimbing prawns (RM17.00 with rice)…

Payung belimbing prawns

…and good grief! There would usually be around three prawns only in a small bowl, the normal serving but we were served this huge bowl with so many of the crustaceans in it, at least 3 or 4 servings, I’m sure, for the price of one! Aren’t they nice? For one thing, these prawns, this size, sure do not come cheap nowadays at the wet market, RM40.00 and above for a kilo.

No, this was not my sister-in-law’s first time here. She was here before and like most everybody else that I know who have been here, she loves the place and enjoys the food which she feels is very unique, not like anything one can find elsewhere, not even in Kuching.

PAYUNG CAFÉ (2.284049, 111.833014) is located at No.20F, Lanang Road, Sibu, Malaysia, back to back with the multi-storey car park of the Kingwood Hotel which faces the majestic Rejang River.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

11 thoughts on “She came back…”

  1. Did you get a bottle of the super hot chili sauce for your missus since she likes to eat spicy food?

    I didn’t have to. The very nice and generous boss, Peter, gave her a bottle! She like it, my sister in law tried too but she was not fond of the smell/taste of the chilies…like how I am not crazy about that of cili padi…or green peppers.

  2. Food at Payung always looks great. I would enjoy the rojak & pamelo salad.

    Yes, we do prefer the two over the others but it seems the rest are also very popular among other diners.

  3. She Came Back sounds like a possible title for a scary movie, heheh 😀 belimbing prawns sound good – i’m not sure i’ve ever had it before 😀

    It’s not belimbing as in the regular starfruit. This is very small, oval and sour and that accounts for the nice sourish taste of the dish. Hmmmm…you gotta stop watching ’em horror movies, my friend. 😀

  4. The people there is so generous and always have new idea, new food.

    I do agree that the food there is unique.

    Yes, the names may be the same but there is always a difference in the taste, a special something that makes it more often than not, a lot nicer than the authentic/original.

  5. The boss is really nice to you.. one serving becomes triple.. or more. Not bad.. each visitor must be brought there for their good and yummy food!

    That goes without saying, sure will bring friends here on a visit to this place. Simple must not miss…or they will miss out on something very special here.

    P.S. Your comments closed for the current post? Why?

  6. I think you mentioned about this cafe before! Seems like a great place to dine in. Yeah, how was the super hot chili ?

    Super hot! 😀 😀 😀 Of course, I’ve featured this place so many times as we keep going back there but everytime, there will be something different or new…among our usual favourites.

  7. Ayden will love the pomelo salad. He super loves pomelo. Each time we go back to my in-law’s place, they’ll buy him one pomelo to bring back home. Haha. I love green curry. Looks nice. Yums!

    Come, come! Bring him over, I’ll make sure he gets to eat all the pomelo he wants. Green curry here is really good, my missus’ favourite.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

