Once is never enough…

If you’re wondering what I’m talking about, it’s my favourite Thai snack, the miang kham (RM19.90)…

Flavours Thai Kitchen miang kham

…which literally means a one-bite wrap. I really enjoy it a lot and for the uninitiated, you take one of those leaves, the daun kaduk, a different variety of the daun sireh (betel leaves) and fill it with a bit of everything in the platter…

Flavours Thai Kitchen miang kham, add everything

…and then you add the very nice sauce…

Flavours Thai Kitchen miang kham, add the sauce

…that I do think makes all the difference – it is the main thing than makes the miang kham so very delicious. Having done that, you wrap it up…

Flavours Thai Kitchen miang kham, all wrapped up

…and pop it into your mouth and enjoy. Everyone that I’ve seen trying this never stopped at one…and would go for another and another. Indeed, when it comes to this awesome Thai delight, once is never enough.

Well, my girl was home the whole of last week as the school was taking a break in conjunction with Deepavali so of course, I grabbed the chance and took her round to eat all the nice things before she went back to her school in the jungle…and of course, when it is Thai food that we want, this is the place to go.

I once had the miang kham here and it was such a disappointment. The leaves were so small that I could not use them to wrap and had to place everything on a spoon and eat and personally, I do not think they’re really good and the things are quite expensive there so I will never bother going back there again.

We did  have my favourite Thai dessert, the mango sticky rice, there once though and yes, it was all right. I would say we quite liked it unlike the one we had here – the mango was way too ripe and was on the verge of becoming rotten. The place has since been relocated elsewhere but after something like that, we would never want to go there again. In this case, once is definitely more than enough!

Well, talking about the dessert, we got this…

Flavours Thai Kitchen mango sticky rice

…on the house after our dinner than night. The most gracious and very generous host, Mary, insisted that we had that even though we were already so very full by then. I so loved the use of the fresh orchid in its presentation – it is so very Thai, really authentic.

I wanted a vegetable dish but Mary said she would ask her true-blue Thai chef, Jos, to do his bitter gourd salad…

Flavours Thai Kitchen bitter gourd salad

…for us and that too was on the house. Yes, it was very nice – we all enjoyed it to the max and to me, it tasted something like the buah emplam sambal that I would make whenever the fruit is in season.

We also had their very nice pad thai (RM16.90)…

Flavours Thai Kitchen pad thai

…that my girl enjoys a lot. Sometimes I would buy it home for her to eat but needless to say, nothing beats eating it there, served piping hot from the kitchen.

Other than all the above, I also ordered another dish that my girl likes so much here, the seafood tom yam (RM45.50)…

Flavours Thai Kitchen seafood tom yam

…with all the prawns, sotong (squid), fish and oyster mushroom in the most delightful red and creamy tom yam soup. I asked for a bowl of rice so I could enjoy the soup with it.

We sure enjoyed our dinner that night, my girl especially and seeing how she loves the dishes here, we sure would want to come back for more.

FLAVOURS THAI KITCHEN is located on the ground floor of the ORCHID HOTEL, along Brooke Drive at its junction with Jalan Tunku Osman. You can use its main entrance at the back of the hotel building (facing Brooke Drive) or go through the lobby past the reception desk if you are using its hotel entrance.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “Once is never enough…”

  1. All the food here look so tasty! If one can only choose to eat at 1 place in Sibu would it be at this place or Payung?

    If it is just the food, Thai restaurants are everywhere – good or authentic or otherwise, that will vary from place to place. Rama V and Khun Thai in KL seem very highly acclaimed though I have been to neither one of them so I cannot make a comparison – can only compare the two we have here and that’s my personal opinion. There are others who may feel otherwise.

    In the case of Payung, it is a unique experience by itself, the total package – not just about the food which many say is different from all elsewhere, very original…but if you check Trip Advisor, there are some who went and did not seem very impressed. Haters will hate.

    1. Ah, so the answer is Payung. I have not been to both restaurants in kl that you named above. Maybe one day may try.

      My missus and my girl went to Khun Thai in Penang – they said it was very nice. Going some place, especially when time is limited, I certainly would want to enjoy things I can’t get back home or elsewhere…or if what we have here is not as nice.

  2. I like the dessert and the beautiful colours in the miang kham platter. Tom yum seafood is a killer.

    I love these exotic cuisines, so very exciting and not mild and bland like some of the rest.

  3. I loves all the foods, only that me is no thank you to bitter gourd…

    It’s good for health…and these days, it is not bitter at all in which case, dunno if it is still good or not.

  4. If you have the space in your garden, can try planting these daun kaduk.. they’re pretty easy to grow. 🙂

    My friend has the leaves in his garden and he gives the leaves to our mutual friend who runs this Thai restaurant. If I am not wrong, he and his wife also give them to the other Thai restaurant in town so I get the impression that it will grow rampantly. Will probably need to keep trimming it to control its growth especially when we do not eat it every day. Would be easier to ask from my friend should we decide to make our own miang kham.

  5. The leaf must be very fragrant while you chewing in your mouth. I never try or taste before.

    I did not detect much taste in the leaves. It is the sauce that makes the difference and they certainly do it very well here, that and a bit of everything that goes into the wrap.

  6. I’ve always wondered what the daun sireh tasted like, but have never had the chance to try one.

    I’m not sure if I’ve tried sireh before – my maternal grandma and her daughters, my mum included, used to chew that with kapor…and buah pinang. I do recall something like it was bitter, dunno which contributed to that and not something I would enjoy.

  7. I still haven’t had the chance to eat miang kham. There is a Thai restaurant nearby that serves that but only for bigger groups.

    The serving here is big too, at least 10 leaves but each wrap is very small so it is all right for small groups too. Light refreshing snack.

  8. Thai snack, the miang kham is quite special. Have not seen that before too.
    Seafood Tom Yam! So mouth watering. A dish that I would never fail to order when it comes to Thai food 😀

    My girl’s favourite. You must try the miang kham if you see it in the menu at any Thai restaurant. I am sure you will like it. I love it and so do many others here who have tried, very nice.

  9. The next time I see some miang kham I will grab them, I never had tried this eversince and it looks delicious

    In my case, it was love at first bite. Love it!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

