Incompatible…

We have not been here for a long long time for the simple reason that there is nothing much on their menu that is gluten-free. Most of the things either have soy sauce or are made from wheat flour.

However, last Sunday, after the 11.00 a.m. service at the cathedral in the town, we stopped by here for lunch and my missus had their sizzling spicy sambal seafood kampua (RM14.73, incusive of GST)…

Noodle House spicy seafood sambal kampua 1

…which I do recall having before way back in 2010 when it was only RM12.90 – I guess it was not all that cheap then and it is even worse now! I did not think the two were all that compatible at the time and I did not like it at all – given a choice, I would much sooner go for the sizzling beef kampua.

My missus said it was good though – the kampua was to her liking and she enjoyed the spicy sambal seafood…

Noodle House spicy sambal seafood kampua 2

I guess my mistake then was I mixed everything together and ended with something that tasted quite weird, or to me, at least and I did not see her doing that but frankly, for that kind of money, I would much rather go for something a whole lot nicer here…or here or elsewhere. Obviously, a lot of people think otherwise for this place is always so very crowded (and noisy) and not only is it often difficult to grab a table, there is a problem as well when it comes to parking one’s car…unless you park at a distance and walk, not something I would be all that keen to do especially in the scorchingly hot midday sun.

I had their kway chap special (RM8.69, inclusive of GST, up from RM8.37 before)…

Noodle House kway chap special 1

It did not matter than it did not quite taste the same – even the chili dip was no longer like what we used to enjoy before. It used to be something like the dip for chicken rice but now, it is thick and sticky like chili sauce, Thai chili sauce, to be more precise, but thankfully, the saving grace was that it was very nice and very spicy too and I quite enjoyed eating the “kway chap” with a whole lot of it.

But wait a minute!!! Kway chap, you said? Where were the broad white rice sheets? Why was there kway teow

Noodle House kway chap special 2

…in it instead? If I wanted kway teow, I would have gone some place else to eat that and the worse thing was they did not even have the decency and courtesy to apologise and ask, “We’re sorry we’re out of kway chap. Would you mind if we use kway teow instead?”  No, they just served it like that as if nothing was amiss.

I ordered their grilled pork chop mantao (RM10.39, inclusive of GST, for two pieces)…

Noodle House grilled pork chop mantao

…to try but at best, I would say it was all right – not all that compatible, the meat and the steamed bun and definitely not anything I would want to order again. It would have been a lot nicer with their stewed pork belly but still, considering the price, if that is what I want, I would just come here for that at less than half the price for three!!!

Actually, my real intention in dropping by there that day was to buy some of their very nice pork belly kompia (RM5.51, inclusive of GST, for a set of 3)  for my mum and their salted caramel macarons (RM10.00, exclusive of GST, for a set of 3) that she liked a lot the last time I got some for her. She was not able to chew the kompia all that well though so I guess I would not be buying those for her anymore next time…but yes, she still enjoyed the macarons.

NOODLE HOUSE (2.291369, 111.829233) is located in the vicinity right behind the Sibu Central Police Station at No, 2B Ground Floor, Lorong Lai Chee 1, on your left if you are turning in from Hua Kiew Road or on your right if you are coming from Jalan Lai Chee.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

13 thoughts on “Incompatible…”

  1. I have been posting more Gluten Free products I have been locating lately! And I have more on the way, too!

    Oh? Gotta hop over and see. We’re getting more here now but still not really that much.

  2. I was about to ask why the broad white rice sheet in the kway chap looks different. Thought something new.

    FAIL, big time! Wouldn’t be so bad if they’re some cheap coffee shop – it’s not all about making money. They should make sure they maintain their quality and their reputation.

  3. Everything looked kind of different. Wahaha. I dont think I would enjoy them.

    The only food I missed from here was the mille crepe. ^^

    I loved the rum & raisin…and their creme brulee and chocolate lava cake. Have not had those for a long time, not gluten free.

  4. I don’t know much about gluten free…as in how the food tastes (if the taste is different from the norm), or if it does make a difference overall. If I have trouble with certain foods, I just don’t eat them. Pasta and beef, for example. I may eat them on occasion, but rarely, because I find them heavy.

    Yes, it’s very different. Like the cakes and cookies, they replace wheat flour with other types of flour and the texture comes out very different. The cookies are kind of sandy…and no, they taste very different too. So far, most of those what we’ve tried are not very nice.

  5. Goes to show, expensive is not necessarily better!

    Sometimes we pay for the decor, the comfort with the air-conditioning and all, the ambiance, the better service but no point if the food served is not up to par…and as far as this place is concerned, there isn’t much ambiance to brag about – always so crowded and because it is a small enclosed place, with all the loud talking – you have yet to see how the people here talk, like they’re giving a speech to all in the house – it can get unbearably noisy – one reason why I am not fond of dropping by here.

  6. I think they were trying to be creative by serving kampua with spicy sambal seafood. Yes, it does seem like a strange combo to me too.

    Yes, they are trying to be different, different combinations. I like the one with the beef actually but not this one with the sambal. Had it once, never again.

    They do serve the traditionally authentic kampua here too, not the best in town but it is quite all right. Of course, one has to pay a bit more as this is not one of those regular coffee shops, kampua with a bit of class konon. 😀

  7. ooo, but actually RM12.90 -> RM14.73 and RM8.37 -> RM8.69 in seven years is not too steep an increase, compared to a lot of the other f&b businesses that have raised prices by more than 30 percent since 2010. this one feels like it’s still within the acceptable range of less than 20 percent in seven years…

    Yes, I would agree with that. I did notice that even though the prices have gone up, the increase is quite minimal and at times, it is the 6% GST that makes it seem like a lot.

    Personally, I do not mind price increases as long as they do not shortchange people as far as the quality of what they serve is concerned. There are things a lot more expensive but it is worth it because we get value for money.

  8. no fried stuff? how can.. bring on the deep fried things. 😛

    Lots of deep fried things on their menu if you are thus inclined – the deep fried kompia stuffed with pork belly is very nice.

  9. Kampua here looks different, the price is super high for one.. hahahaa.. but then overall, presentation is nice with different set of servings…. i wouldn’t mind trying it…

    You will probably like it if you are looking for something nice, not the authentic kampua taste – the way it should me. They’re being creative, trying to be different. My missus said it was good and I guess the price is to be expected, looking at all the prawns and sotong…and after all, this place is not your regular kopitiam. You’ve been here before – maybe you don’t remember. Old age catching up, eh?
    http://www.reanaclaire.com/2012/03/our-4th-meal-in-noodle-house-sibu.html

  10. Noodle House! I rmbr their kompia with minced pork!
    The prices are now quite steep huh.
    Kuey Teow use as Kway chap? That’s disappointing 😦

    Yes, we went there the last time you were in Sibu – still a very nice place then. Very expensive now especially with the 6% GST added and I don’t think I will want to go there again anymore after this, seeing how they shortchange people like that – it’s not cheap, eating there plus it is always very crowded and very noisy – not a nice place to go and enjoy a meal.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

