The only way is up…

That’s the way it is with the prices of things these days, going up and up and up.

The other day I felt like having yong tofu for my brunch so I stopped by here for that (RM9.50)…

Sing Long Cafe yong tofu 1

It has gone up by 50 sen, it seems – it used to be RM9.00 (in 2013 and RM6.00 only in 2008 and RM8.50 in 2011) but that is less than 5%. All the sets have gone up by 50 sen so compared to the basic bowl, just fish balls and tang hoon (glass noodles) that used to cost RM6.00 but now it has gone up to RM6.50, the price hike is almost 10%.

You can order that, the basic, and then you pick what you would like to add to your bowl and they would charge accordingly. Over in the peninsula, they will let you pick all that you want and then serve in a bowl of soup with the vegetables and tang hoon added upon request but in KL, I do know of places where they serve it dry like here or here, for instance. I hear each would be RM1.00, more at some places so actually, what I was charged here that day worked out to more or less the same.

There were 3 fish balls…

Sing Long Cafe yong tofu 2

…(half of the 6 they used to give in the past), 2 ladies’ fingers, 1 brinjal, 1 bitter gourd, 1 tofu puff and 1 chili, 9 altogether but what I like here is the clear soup – it is very tasty and my guess is they boil the heads and the bones of the bay kar/ikan tenggiri (mackerel) for the stock and yes, they do use good fish for their fish balls and fish paste, anytime nicer than those frozen supermarket ones, thank you very much!

I loved especially the sambal/chili dip that came with it that had a hint of belacan (dried prawn paste) and was very spicy and there was quite a lot of tang hoon

Sing Long Cafe yong tofu 3

…so with all that soup and everything in the bowl, that was filling enough for me and good enough for my brunch.

My missus had the pian sip, soup (RM2.80)…

Sing Long Cafe pian sip, soup 1

…from the kampua mee stall in front and it was as good as it looked…

Sing Long Cafe pian sip, soup 2

While we were enjoying our orders, the young boy was cleaning up his stall and was closing up for the day. We saw him fishing out the pork bones from the soup stock and along with those, there was cabbage too! My missus said that she heard somewhere that they do add cabbage at some places and that would help enhance the taste and the sweetness of the soup.

I had their sio bee before (RM1.00 each) and thought it was very good though I am not sure if it’s the same people here now so I ordered that to try. Unfortunately, I was duly informed that they were not available that day – I guess that would have to wait till the next time we drop by here again.

SING LONG CAFE (2.292595, 111.835979) is located in the Fortune Commercial area (behind Rejang Medical Centre), Lorong Chew Siik Hiong, directly opposite the nursing college (KOLEJ ITA).

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “The only way is up…”

  1. Has been a while since I had tang hoon…

    Why? I’m sure it’s everywhere. My girl loves it and it’s gluten free!

  2. Yong Tofu looks great, at least the greens look fresh

    I heard from my friend in KL that she can’t get the khiew chai (curly vegetable) there. I had it before in Singapore though, in the 70’s. Good in soup only – if you fry, it will shrink badly and you will end up with nothing much. Best to just throw into hot soup and eat, too much boiling will render it less nice too.

  3. Both sets are my favourite. RM2.80 for that bowl of pian sip, I think it is cheap too.

    That’s the standard price here, RM2.80 at most places but there are some cheaper ones and at some, it may go up to RM3.00 and above. I would not bother going to those pricey places – they can eat all their pian sip and kampua mee themselves, daylight robbers!

  4. Near my place the local yong tofu shop charges MYR1.40 per piece so for 9 pieces like what you had, the price would be MYR12.60 so I would normally eat 3 pieces – lady fingers, Bittergourd, (tofu or brinjal alternately for each visit).

    Oh? It’s RM1.40 now, eh? Last I heard it was RM1.20 somewhere. I guess it’s the same everywhere, prices of things keep going up. You like the ladies’ fingers, I see. I’m ok with all the veg except the chili. One would be enough for me and if I could pick, I would probably not take that.

  5. When I first retired in 2002, I could get lunch at a Chinese restaurant here for $5.00. Now the same lunch will cost at least $10.00!

    Can’t beat my childhood and teenage years when kampua mee was 50 cents a plate, 30 cents without meat but of course, people were drawing very little then for their salaries.

  6. Everything sure went up already and they do not end there.. once up, no going down… those with super high prices, we find alternative elsewhere.. hahaha

    Exactly!!! They can jack up the prices as they like – we go to the cheaper places, sometimes even nicer! I’m surprised that people still go to places selling kampua mee at RM3.20-3.50…and I did not think the RM3.50 one I had was nice. Maybe they do not care about the taste…nor the money, just eat!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

