Same as before…

I was driving past this place the other day and I felt like having their coffee (RM1.70)…

Choon Seng coffee
*Archive photo*

…reputed to be one of the best and some say it is THE best, in Sibu, provided it is the boss himself brewing it and not anybody else. Yes, it was really very good, the same as before, and I sure enjoyed it.

We had not been here since January this year after our three visits in November last year, here, here and here and this time around, my missus had this (RM4.50)…

Choon Seng chap fan

…from the chap fan place at the back. As always, it did appear mighty popular – a lot of people were going for that to eat in the shop or buying their lunch packs to take away. I must say that they were very generous with the vegetables but no, somehow I am not all that fond of the Chinese mixed rice places so despite my missus insisting that it was very nice, I chose to go for something else.

I like the roti telur with curry gravy…

Choon Seng roti telur
*Archive photo*

…from this halal Muslim stall…

Choon Seng Muslim stall

…but I did not feel like having it that day.

Instead, I had their nasi campur (RM5.50)…

Choon Seng nasi campur

…with two “meat” (the fish and the salted egg) and two vegetables but there sure were a lot of prawns in the long beans…

Choon Seng long beans with prawns

I wonder how many of you cook long beans cut diagonally like this. Usually, I would just break the strings into pieces an inch long – I would only slice French beans diagonally but very very thinly, not long beans.

I loved their beef liver but it did look like they had that that day. As a matter of fact, they did not seem to have as many choices as before but nonetheless, I did enjoy what I picked very much, done in their local Malay/Melanau kampung style of cooking. I sure would not mind going for it again.

春陞茶室 CHOON SENG COFFEE SHOP is located at Lorong Wong Ting Hock 1, off Jalan Wong Ting Hock, off Jalan Tun Abg Hj Openg in the vicinity of the Sungai Merah Bazaar here.

 

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

11 thoughts on “Same as before…”

  1. I prefer your meal, especially the one whole salted egg and prawns with long beans. So much red chilies on your wife’s chap fan.

    Oh! That one, she went and took herself. They just left everything there so you can go and take, the chili, the sauces, whatever. So that would give you an idea of how much chili she eats – she likes it hot.

  2. Frankly speaking, I seldom eat outside chap fan/ nasi campur unless no other choices. I find that Malay cooking are always too oily for my liking. For long beans, I never cut it diagonally. Anything cook with prawns definitely taste good.

    Yes, traditional Malay cooking tends to be too oily – they need the oil to tumis all the ingredients. But not all are, can pick and choose. The stir fry dishes are usually ok, it is usually the curries, half an inch of oil floating on top! *faints*

    Somehow, I seem to find Chinese cooking not so nice anymore, the chap fan ones would be worse! All msg…and do not dream of ever seeing prawns used as an ingredient.

  3. I dont cut my long beans, French beans. Like you, I break them.

    Chap fan, nasi campur, my favourite. But not every places serve good and tasty dishes. If do, not cheap either over here. I usually tapau the dishes and cook rice at home.

    I do tapao home too but mostly from the Malay stalls and shops. The good Chinese ones, they insist on you tapaoing with the rice otherwise they will not sell to you, dunno why. Maybe they make a lot from the rice?

  4. It’s good to find consistency in a restaurant. It’s hard if it’s dependent on one person though, such as the boss.

    Yes. At some of the larger ones, where there are a lot of cooks/chefs, quality may vary and I get quite put off when something nice turns out otherwise…or somewhat lacking.

    Whatever it is, the boss must always be around to supervise and make sure everything is done his way. I hear in KL, a lot of food stalls are left in the hands of the Banglas or Myamareses so nothing is as nice as before anymore. Same thing in Singapore, lots of PRC employees these days and all are not like what they used to be.

  5. all that for rm5.50 is a steal.. at least to me. I’m always on the look out for chap fan in kl, as they used to be so economical.. not now though.

    Used to be the staple for students and undergrads, a complete balanced meal going for such a cheap price. Ya, not anymore.

  6. I can never understand the Salted Egg combo with white rice or rather, i never appreciate salted egg

    You’re the odd one out, it seems. Ah well! So what’s new?

  7. See the roti telur makes me think of the other day I saw salted egg roti prata, but I taken my meal, so didn’t try it out…

    Oh? That’s new. We do not have that here.

  8. I used to cut french beans diagonally only… long beans usually with hands… or cut a bundle of them with knife… want to be fast! hahaha.. cheaper to go for nasi campur than cooking at home, right?

    Less hassle too…and hard for us to cook for only the two of us, all the leftovers…and we would have to eat the same thing for days. 😦

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

