Moon…

The Mooncake Festival also known as the Mid-Autumn or Zhongqiu Festival falls on the 4th of October this year which means that there are some two to three weeks to go.

Needless to say, they are getting more expensive by the year so I will not bother getting any of those “branded ones”. With the kind of money, I could go out with my family and have a really nice dinner and derive a lot more pleasure from that instead. As a matter of fact, I saw somebody sharing a post on Facebook that day that there are imitations/counterfeit not only in Hong Kong or elsewhere in China but right here in Malaysia so that would be another reason not to go for those.

We do have a bakery here that makes very nice ones but the last time I bought some…

Famous Bakery, Sibu mooncake
*Archive photo*

…from there was 5 years ago in 2012 mainly because it is located at the far end of town, very far!

I’m sure the prices have gone up by leaps and bounds now – my Miri friend ordered from them for sale at RM38.00 for a box of 12. Back in 2012, they were only RM11 for a pack of 6 or RM13.00 for the ones with salted egg yolk…

Famous Bakery, Sibu yolk puff
*Archive photo*

…inside.

Even our local Foochow Mooncake Festival biscuits or what we call Pek Guek Tong Chiew pia

Pek guek tong chiew pia
*Archive photo*

…are selling for RM6.00 a pack now. I remember at one time they were priced at only RM4.00. My cousin in Melbourne, Australia calls them Foochow shortbread and she loves them so much, more than the Scottish ones, it seems.

I did buy a pack of those mooncakes, lotus paste, from a manufacturer in Johore, halal ones, selling at only RM10.00 for 4. I would not say it was great but at that price, I shall not complain.

I also bought these…

Sibu home-made mooncakes

…the other day from a shop round the corner from my house, RM3.00 for a pack of three, just RM1.00 each. They said they were home-made, somebody made them and left them there for sale.

Kids would probably love the Doraemon mould used…

Doraemon mooncake

…but they only had two types of filling – or tau sar (red bean paste) or pek tau sar (mung bean paste) and I bought the latter which I do prefer.

Yes, the pastry was indeed kind of thick…

Thick pastry

…but I did not mind – for one thing, I do enjoy eating it and for another, it sure helps to reduce the sweetness of the filling. I cannot understand why people would insist on it being paper thin as an indication of a very well-produced top quality mooncake. One would hardly be able to taste the pastry at all so much so that he or she might as well go and buy the filling and eat it straight, just like that.

These days, they have the snow skin and the agar-agar (jelly) but no, I am no fan of those. It has to be the real thing, the original, authentic mooncakes…or nothing at all.

Right now, I am not sure if I would be getting more to try – maybe I will, maybe I won’t. We’ll see! I still have a few weeks to look around to see if there are any other affordable ones available but one thing I am certain of is that I will not be buying those worth-their-weight-in-gold ones, thank you very much!

FAMOUS BAKERY (2.250418, 111.84679) is located at No. 8, Lorong Upper Lanang 29A in the Grand Height area of shops between Jalan Mantis and the aforementioned lane..

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

11 thoughts on “Moon…”

  1. If I am not wrong the Mid-Autumn Festivsl falls on the 4th October. I am not fond of mooncakes with egg yolk, taste savoury & sweet. I just love plain ones like orh tau sar/ pek tau sar or leng yong, etc but still my favourite is hong chio pia.

    Oh yes, it’s the 4th. I googled the date but dunno why or how I typed 5th instead. I’ve edited it already, thanks. Generally, I’m ok with most…except the ones with nuts, fat or whatever inside…but there are many new varieties these days. Saw one with bird’s nest…almost RM25.00 EACH! *faints*

  2. Oh my goodness, mooncakes and their sale have gone crazy over here. Expect to pay around RM40 and above for one from a hotel. And.. the packaging… very creative. I have a mooncake post coming up soon. You’ll see what I mean. 😉

    RM40!!! I saw something here, RM25 and I thought that was crazy! Enough for a very nice meal for my family of 3. At the end of the day. it all boils down to just one thing – sweet! I don’t have that much money to throw like that. Absurd! Ridiculous!

  3. From Mun’s blog to you, mooncakes!! I was commenting in her blog on how expensive mooncakes are. I am not missing them so no love lost. Haha. I rather spend on a nice bowl of Sarawak laksa or kolo mee. Lol.

    Exactly! I really do not think that it tastes so so so good, one would die from not eating it. So sweet too.

  4. Last year I didn’t buy any moon cakes at all. This year I bought some expensive ones for the boxes and then tried some vegan ones and some very local ones from Ipoh. While queuing to pay for the mooncakes I overheard a couple talking about how expensive the mooncakes are but they are buying them as gifts for their in-laws and it is only an once a year event so they just bear with the expensive price.

    Yes, every year, I would buy two boxes, the expensive ones – one for my parents and one for my mother-in-law. My dad and my mother-in-law have passed on so I guess this year, I will just buy a box for my mum. Definitely not going to spend that kind of money to buy any for myself, thank you very much.

  5. I still like these traditional mooncakes. The new ones in different colours just put me off.

    Me too. Maybe it is because we are old and boring – the young ones seem to get so excited over the new flavours…that are far from being traditional – something somewhere is lost in translation. The true character and meaning of the mooncake is completely lost!

  6. These things are expensive here but even though they are I always buy them, I love the flavour and texture. RM11 for a pack of 6 is a steal, I wish I was there

    Everything is expensive there…and that’s before converting into our miserable ringgit X 3! The impression I get is everybody there must be so very rich to be able to live with such prices.

  7. With the price of mooncake not cheap, as like what u mention, I rather go for a nice dinner…

    That’s wise, no need to buy all those exclusive expensive ones. Boycott them!

  8. I haven’t had any mooncakes so far this year … maybe I’ll skip this year, since mooncakes are such high-calorie, high-sugar indulgences anyway! 😉

    Yes, great idea – not that they taste so great that they will send you to Seventh Heaven.

  9. Mooncakes over there are still relatively cheap… KL ones usually go for above RM100 for 4.

    These are the cheap, made-at-home-for-sale ones. Not so nice but o.k. and no extravagant packaging.

  10. The prices of mooncakes are so ridiculous nowadays. 😦 At least to me. I do like the few basic ones like white lotus with single yolk, red bean and pandan. I was determined not to get any this year but my kid loves to eat them. Finally bought two from a bakery here. Not those fancy ones with beautiful packing.

    I would go for mung bean or lotus. My missus does not eat red bean, her head will go spinning, dunno why so I will not buy those. In my growing up years that was the only one we had, the red bean.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

