Close by…

We wanted to go here for lunch that day and had actually taken our seats at one of the tables there when the lady told us that the people at the back had moved away to a new location and would only open for business around the middle of this month.

Once we heard that, we decided to go some place else and ended up here…

Kian Hock Coffee Shop

…which is actually pretty close by, just a couple of shops away, to the right. It used to be bigger but I heard one of the brothers left and ventured out on his own here so now they are occupying one shop lot here instead of two.

I’ve heard people sing praises of the coffee – they say they roast their own…

Kian Hock coffee

…coffee beans but I thought it was just o.k.

Their roast stuff…

Kian Hock roast stuff

…is also very popular – they say you will have to order well in advance for festivals such as Chinese New Year or you would definitely be disappointed.

I ordered a platter (RM25.00)…

Kian Hock roast meat platter

…of the roast chicken, char siew (barbecued pork), siew yoke (roast pork belly) and their roast duck…

Kian Hock roast duck drumstick

…and yes, we did enjoy everything just that I did not think there was anything that would make theirs stand out, a cut above all the rest – there are some elsewhere in town that I’ve enjoyed as well.

This plate of ladies fingers (RM8.00)…

Kian Hock ladies fingers

…was very nice and my girl seemed to enjoy their ngor hiang/lor bak (RM6.00)…

Kian Hock ngor hiang

…very much.

As we were leaving, I spied with my little eye the people at the next table enjoying their bitter gourd omelette. Gee!!! It sure looked like I was the only one who did not know of the existence of such a dish…and if I had known they had it here too, I definitely would want to order theirs to give it a try. Well, another time perhaps…

KIAN HOCK COFFEE SHOP (2.284853, 111.831557) is located along Jalan Maju to the left of the River Park Hotel and across the road from The Ark and the Rejang Esplanade.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

14 thoughts on “Close by…”

  1. Although I always find it enticing when I hear those magic words, “roast their own”, it doesn’t always mean well. There is an enchantment though about things made in house.

    The coffee was good, just that it was not strong enough for me. I did hear that they roast the beans using machine, not in an old oil drum over hot burning charcoal, the traditional way. The roast meat was all right; I guess all these stalls would do their own but some do not do it very well – I’ve had my share of those.

  2. Roasted duck & ngor hiang are both my favourite. A nice plate of greens to go with all the meat dishes.

    I forgot to ask for breast – when eating duck, I am not so fond of drumstick. Tends to be a bit tough, unlike chicken. Breast is nicer. And I forgot to tell them not to add the sauce too, not fond of sauce all over roast meat. I would prefer to dip myself, if I must.

  3. I can never resist roasted meat! Bittergourd omelette is one of my favorites too. Will always order if it is on the menu.

    Seems it’s available everywhere, dunno why I never heard about it. Had at another place the other day. Blogpost on it coming up real soon.

  4. Haha! Now you found a new dish, bittergourd omelette. We do have it here, sometime in chap fan but mostly you could order almost everywhere. Amazingly the light bitterness of the gourd tasted so good with savoury egg. ^^

    That was a big plate of roast. I like my roast to be slightly moist and fatty. Not too dry and tough. Lol. Not every place serve good roast over here and everyone has different preference and taste, it seems.

    So it is actually a common dish, available everywhere eh? Nobody ever blogged about it – usually we would order the ones fried with salted eggs.

    Yes, there are a lot of stalls all over town but I’ve had some that were not really great. Best to just stick to my favourites but then again, I will not have anything to blog about if I keep eating the same things at the same places.

  5. I, too, prefer duck breast. Ngor hiang is also my favourite – which reminds me that I haven’t made some for a long time!

    This one here is good, my girl loves it…which is more than what I would say about the rest in town except for those mini-golf ball sized ones that I love a lot. That one’s the best.

  6. Nice lunch, I would say… so the next time maybe you can spy other dishes as well with your “sharp” eyes!

    Yes, I am the very kay poh one! Wherever I go to eat, I would look around at the other tables to see what they are eating. If I see anything nice, I will order next time…and blog about it.

  7. Me same same with you, usually I will look at other table to see what they eat…

    Ngor hiong, my all times favorite…

    This one’s not bad, quite like the ones my missus makes at home.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com