Mary’s Day…

It was Mary’s birthday last Sunday and she asked us to drop by her place

Flavours Thai Kitchen decor, outside

…for lunch.

We stopped by a florist’s shop on the way and I got her this little bouquet of roses…

Roses

…and I also gave her a pot of ulam raja seedlings…

Ulam raja

…from my garden (she asked me not too long ago if they were easy to plant) – nothing fancy, nothing expensive, just a simple gesture for the occasion but of course, it came straight from the heart. As they say, it’s the thought that counts, right?

Of course, we were glad to be a part of the celebration of her special day and arrived some ten or fifteen minutes before noon but when we saw the setting…

Flavours Thai Kitchen table setting

…I was wishing I had put on something less casual and more presentable but never mind!

Flowers and snacks

The company was great…

Mary & friends

…and I had a jolly good time chatting with Mary and her other guests and needless to say, I enjoyed the scrumptious dishes prepared by her authentic Thai chefs, Jos & Su.

True to the Foochow/Chinese tradition, there were these golden eggs…

Eggs

…served with some thick syrup that I guessed had honey in it and I loved the bihun

Hinghua bihun

…very much.

We also had the Thai pineapple rice…

Pineapple rice

…and this plate of fish fillet with fresh black pepper sauce…

Fish fillet with black pepper sauce

…and everyone was singing praises of the lime beef…

Lime beef

…that my girl and I had had the pleasure of trying once before.

I did not manage to snap a photograph of the vegetable dish – there were cauliflower and broccoli in it nor one of the platter of fruits that was served at the end.

Thank you so much for inviting us, Mary – that was so very sweet of you and a very Happy Birthday to you once again. All the best in the year ahead and may all your dreams come true. May God bless you and all your loved ones always, cheers!

FLAVOURS THAI KITCHEN is located on the ground floor of the ORCHID HOTEL, along Brooke Drive at its junction with Jalan Tunku Osman. You can use its main entrance at the back of the hotel building (facing Brooke Drive) or go through the lobby past the reception desk if you are using its hotel entrance.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

15 thoughts on “Mary’s Day…”

  1. Happy belated birthday to Mary. Such a lovely celebration. Love the table set up. Sumptious dinner.

    Thanks on her behalf. Yes, it was a lovely lunch and I was really impressed by the classy outdoor setting. Nice!

  2. So thoughtful of you to bring two gifts instead of one. The roses are lovely but the raja ulam seedling from your own garden is straight from your heart. Hope Mary had a wonderful time on her birthday with all of you celebrating it with her.

    I’m sure she did, smiling from ear to ear. Hopefully, the ulam raja seedlings will grow well in her garden. I did give the seeds and seedlings to some friends but I only got some feedback from one – none sprouted nor survived. So sad.

  3. Surely that pot of ulam raja is a precious to Mary for her special day. Great food, great company & best is everyone has a jolly good time. Happy Belated Blessed Birthday to Mary.

    I hope so. Did not know what to give and I had some seedlings big enough to be transplanted and since she did show some interest in the plant, I put them nicely in a pot to give to her. It did not look like much so I bought some roses for her as well. Thanks, on her behalf, for your wishes.

  4. Happy Belated Birthday to Mary! I love all the smiles and colours in your photos.

    Thanks. It was a welcome break, all that joy, all the smiling faces sure brought a lot of cheer into our lives! Most thankful to be a part of it all.

  5. the beehoon and all the other food look scrumptious indeed! a lovely lunch πŸ˜€

    The very nice bihun wasn’t Thai but this is undoubtedly my favourite Thai place in town.

  6. I do like a good beef dish, i prefer beef over lamb πŸ˜€

    Not the beef we have around here these days, at the satay stalls, for instance – so so tough, like leather. Thankfully, what we had from the Thai chef that day was very nice and tender, not a problem at all even for someone old and toothless like me. πŸ˜€

  7. I was looking out for you in the picture, but can’t find you, sobsssss ..

    I took the photo, how to be inside leh! But there are two, on Facebook, somebody took those and shared. Hehehehehe!!!

  8. In addition to the lovely bouquet, the ulam raja seedling was a really nice touch. I would be happy to receive such a gift. How blessed you and your family are to be a part of Mary’s birthday bash!

    Truly blessed! My girl was kind of feeling down already, keeping her bedridden grandma company most of the time throughout the one-week school break and besides, she had to go back to her school in the jungle the next morning but the party sure lifted up her spirits and she was much happier after that.

  9. Food looks really good. That is a lovely bouquet of roses, Arthur. The ulam raja seedlings look very healthy. You have royal fingers it seems to grow such lovely ulam RAJA. Haha.

    πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ You don’t get to see the ones that failed to grow. Thankfully, lots of seeds, so lots of seedlings. Yes, the food’s very good – will surely take you here if you care to come over. Didn’t know what to buy so I just thought roses would be nice – ladies love flowers, right? πŸ˜‰

  10. That bouquet of flower is very nice!
    And the food looks very good too!

    I had the feeling that I could make a nicer bouquet – the florist did that. πŸ˜€ We all enjoyed the food very much, we always do when dining here.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

