Nice to see you…

I mentioned in my post the other day that we dropped by here but it was full so we had to go some place else. Well, two days later, I told Mary, the proprietress and the kind and gracious host, that we would go there that evening for dinner.

It so happened that that afternoon, I got a call from my friend/ex-classmate, Robert, and he told me that a classmate of ours, Ken, was back in Sibu from Australia. I told him that I had already told Mary I would be at her place for dinner…

Flavours Thai Kitchen reserved

…and he promptly said that they would meet us there.

To start off, we had the miang kam

Flavours Thai Kitchen miang kam

…and Ken tried that delightful Thai snack for the first time ever and he loved it!

There was this dish of steamed lokan (clams)…

Flavours Thai Kitchen steamed lokan 1

…which looked spicy…

Flavours Thai Kitchen steamed lokan 2

…but surprisingly, it was not. Perhaps we have been eating things extra-spicy so we have become numb to the sensation already. LOL!!!

Of course, we had the seafood tom yam…

Flavours Thai Kitchen seafood tom yam 1

– my girl’s favourite…

Flavours Thai Kitchen seafood tom yam 2

…and yes, it was so good that we finished the very nice soup with our rice in no time at all and we had to ask for a refill.

The grilled fish, a barramundi…

Flavours Thai Kitchen grilled barramundi

…was good but I would prefer a stronger tasting fish done this way. Ikan terubok (toli shad) would be very nice but when eating that, you will have to deal with the bones.

We ordered this bitter gourd omelette to try…

Flavours Thai Kitchen bitter gourd omelette 1

Usually we would have the vegetable fried with egg or salted egg but never done this way…

Flavours Thai Kitchen bitter gourd omelette 2

…and yes, it was very very nice. I sure would want to try cooking this myself at home one of these days.

Another classmate of ours, Joseph, and his wife joined us later and we had finished most everything but luckily, the fish came out late and there was still a lot of it left…and a few lokans as well. Somebody ordered a plate of fried long beans which was very nice too but I did not get to take a photograph of that as I was not at the table when it was served.

It sure was a delightful dinner. I wanted to pay for it to reciprocate but Robert would not hear of it and insisted on picking up the tab again. The total for the 8 of us altogether was over RM200. Sigh!!!

It sure was nice to see you again, Ken, and we sure enjoyed your company and are certainly looking forward to the next time when we will get to meet. In the meantime, as they always say Down Under, cheers, mate…and once again, thank you so much, Robert, for the treat!

FLAVOURS THAI KITCHEN is located on the ground floor of the ORCHID HOTEL, along Brooke Drive at its junction with Jalan Tunku Osman. You can use its main entrance at the back of the hotel building (facing Brooke Drive) or go through the lobby past the reception desk if you are using its hotel entrance.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

16 thoughts on “Nice to see you…”

  1. The food looks so tasty! Each and every dish. Robert is so generous. Good dinner good company as well so is a happy occasion indeed.

    Yes, love the food here – very very nice and yes, Robert is indeed very nice and generous. Sure had a great dinner and a happy time with friends, a welcome break from my somewhat mundane daily routine these days.

  2. All looks so good especially the seafood tom yam….and since today is a wet cold day in Kuching, I can imagine how nice to have it. Yumms…

    All good here – one of the must-visit places when in Sibu!!

    Raining here too this morning, quite heavily but it has stopped and the sun has come out. Hopefully the good weather will stay for the rest of the day – gotta send my girl back to her school in the jungle later. Not a pleasant drive, rainy days.

  3. Miang kam is one of my all time favourite snacks.

    Our favourite too but I will have to wait till I drop by with a group of people before I can order that – the serving is definitely more than for just 2 or 3.

  4. Lovely to meet old friend over delightful dinner.

    I love bittergourd omelette. We usually have this when eat out.

    Gosh. I do miss Thai cuisine especially tom yum.

    I don’t know of a good Thai place in Kuching. Tried one once – snooty owner from KL and the chef was from Johor. Of course, it was a disappointment.

    Oh? So bitter gourd omelette is a pretty common thing, eh? How come I’ve never seen anyone blogging about it? I thought it was something new…and yes, I liked it a lot!

    Indeed! So good to get together with friends!

  5. I’ve had Ikan terubok once, and I liked it, it was tender and sweet, but ya, the bones are quite tricky to deal with! πŸ˜‰

    Indeed, one of my favourite fish with a taste of its own, so very nice…but too bad it has a lot of bones so I am not all that keen on buying and eating it. Once in a long while perhaps. Anyway, it is probably becoming extinct – I can’t remember the last time I saw one at the wet market.

  6. The food looks wonderful and your friend Robert is so very generous!

    He is, such a wonderful friend! Food here is good – I wouldn’t say it is cheap but yes, it is really good.

  7. Not a fan of fish with a lot of bones, i’m prefer the ang moh way of eating fish… everything fillet πŸ˜€

    “I prefer…”. you mean?

    The only fish fillet we get here is the frozen Dory, not something that I like, or the farmed salmon from Chile. I stopped buying after reading all the bad press about it online. Don’t mind the air-flown Norwegian ones at the posh cafes but that is very expensive.

    Having said that, I am not really keen on the hassle of eating fish with a lot of bones, including terubok or even the million-dollar wang pu liao or empurau. Don’t mind fish with one big bone right down the middle, never mind that it is not filleted.

    1. Yes yes teacher, sorry for the typo (i know marks have been deducted), wanted to write “I’d”

      Slip of the finger, not the thought of mind. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  8. I would love to try all the food above IF one day I fly to Sibu again! hahahaa.. All the dishes looks so tempting and appetizing to me….

    IF, and that’s a big IF. Reminds me of that nice song by Bread, great number for karaoke. Come, come…we’ll enjoy the food here here and sing karaoke! They have the facilities.

  9. Not only Claire finds the foods tempting, I also find it tempting…

    I guess you can only get to enjoy these and more IF you come over, same as Claire. 😦

  10. I love the look of the dishes, Arthur! Only if it is too hot and spicy I would not be able to eat it. Thank you so much for your concern for me, my cherished friend. I have been running around a lot still trying to get things ready to move, lots of stress, but I am trying to take one day at a time. πŸ™‚

    Glad to hear, take care there. Hope all will turn out good, on all counts, for you.

    Yes, Thai food is reputed to be spicy – they use a lot of bird’s eye chili but here, you can ask for that to be left out or get them to tone it down a little. My missus likes it extra spicy but not my girl.

  11. Just look at that seafood feast! I am so jealous

    Not really cheap for us here but in NZD, it’s a lot less than $100 for a dinner for 8 of us – that’s a steal!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

