Some other place, some other time…

We dropped by here, Saturday evening last week, after the sunset service at a church here in the hope that we could get to enjoy some Thai delights for our very late dinner but the place was full, packed to the brim, so we had no choice but to go to some other place instead and come back here some other time.

I did mention in a recent post that I could not really remember what the authentic Indian butter curry chicken…

Cafe Ind butter chicken curry set
*Archive photo*

…tasted like so I would have to go and eat that to refresh my memory. That was why we ended up here in the end that night.

My missus stuck faithfully to the Indonesian menu and had her favourite – the kalio ayam (RM14.50)…

Cafe Ind kalio ayam
*Archive photo*

…while my girl wanted their tandoori chicken but with bryani rice (RM17.00)…

Cafe Ind tandoori chicken
*Archive photo*

…like what I had not too long ago, instead of what they usually would give in the set – basmati or pilau rice, I can’t remember which now.

Of course, I asked for the butter curry chicken like I said I would and some naan bread to go with it. The roti naan (RM4.50)…

Cafe Ind roti naan

…came very promptly but there was no sign of the butter curry chicken.

My girl and the mum had more or less finished eating already and there was no sign of it so I had no choice but to go and ask. It turned out that the true blue North Indian chef wanted to use his stone oven-baked tandoori chicken and the marinades to cook the curry so it took longer than expected.

Finally, it came (RM15.00)…

Cafe Ind butter curry chicken

…by which time the roti naan was already cold and no longer palatable but the fast-thinking and considerate boss got his chef to bake me a new batch quickly, served piping hot and fragrant, and all was forgiven in the end.

So what did it taste like? Yes, it was very nice – there were three big chunks of chicken, at least, inside and the thick gravy went great with the roti naan but no, it was not like the regular curries, a little bit sourish – I googled and saw in one recipe that they would have yogurt, lemon and lime among the ingredients used – and it had the nice fragrance and taste of the tandoori chicken used in cooking the dish.

The bill came up to RM70.50, inclusive of drinks, but the kind and generous boss just collected RM60.00 from me and that was it. Gee!!! With this kind of special treatment, I sure would not mind coming back here again and it would not matter one bit even if I would have to wait a little longer to be served. Hehehehehe!!!!

CAFE IND (2.290813, 111.829294) is located along Laichee Lane, right behind one block of shops facing the main road (Jalan Kampung Nyabor) where the Bank Simpanan Nasional, Sibu branch (2.290561, 111.829071), is located.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

10 thoughts on “Some other place, some other time…”

  1. The boss is so thoughtful to give you a big discount for your long wait. I like the yogurt taste in the curry. My spouse who doesn’t like to eat yogurt was shocked when I told him that the curry he likes to eat has yogurt in it, Lol! 😉

    He’s not alone. I do not like yogurt too but I love it in curries and whatever they use it to cook. I know they do that at Payung too.

  2. Butter chicken curry looks very rich, thick & creamy. Since I am not a yogurt person, then tandoori chicken with nasi bryani fits me. That’s a big discount the boss give you. Count your blessings.

    Yes, so blessed…and with perks like that, I sure would not mind dropping by again and again.

    I’m not a yogurt person too – don’t ask me to drink that – but when it is used in cooking, you do not get to taste it at all. I would not say it’s nicer than santan or (evaporated) milk – it’s a whole new world of its own.

  3. I will go for the tandoori chicken…

    Not into yogurt too? I think it is used to marinate the chicken too, but maybe not so much.

  4. I remember these dishes.. they are so appetizing… reminds me.. one of these days, I must go for Indian naan or puree.. it has been a long time since..

    What’s puree? I only know tomato puree.

    1. I believe the spelling is puri or poori – Google for these two words and you will see what they are.

      Gotcha! We don’t have that here, or not that I know of. It looks like our tee peang. I wonder what it tastes like, sure would want to try.

  5. That’s really thoughtful of him, in so many ways, including making you a fresh batch of bread, to ensure customer satisfaction! 🙂

    Yes, and it was on his own initiative. I did not complain nor ask for it. This is how one does business. Some are so dead to the world, not pro-active and when you ask, they will show you that they are not be happy at all.

  6. That’s very nice of him to get you a fresh batch of naan but then again, it is only the right thing to do. After all, the naan was first served without the curry and has gone cold when the curry finally arrived. They should be served together.

    I like yogurt in curries too for a change. It gives a certain kick that normal curries don’t.

    A world of its own, truly a nice change from the regular curries. Variety is the spice of life!

    That’s true. Once I was overcharged by RM10 at one upscale restaurant here and when I saw their menu on Facebook, I asked why I was charged RM48 instead of RM38 for what I had, the guy just replied, new pricing. Full stop! Till today, I never want to go back there again except once as my relatives from Kuching stayed at the hotel close by and wanted to go there. Anyway, quality has been going downhill – never see the boss around, a truly qualified chef – now, all young boys cooking in the kitchen. I dunno if they are trainees under him and whether they have any culinary credentials at all. That is not how one runs a business – like the towkays in KL leaving their stalls to their Bangla or Myanmarese workers, I hear. Nothing is nice at places like Jalan Alor anymore.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

