Then and now…

Yes, yes…I know I was here…

Payung Cafe decor

just the other day but I did mention then that I would want to come back and try their butter chicken as it looked really good…

Payung Cafe butter chicken 1
*Archive photo*

…so last Sunday, after the evening service at the cathedral…

Cross at Sacred Heart Cathedral, Sibu

…close by, my missus and I dropped by for dinner.

We ordered the papaya salad (RM8.00)…

Payung Cafe papaya salad

…which was very nice but we thought it could be better. Somehow or other, I missed the exotic fragrances of the Thai basil leaves and the bunga kantan (torch ginger flower), for instance, and it would be nice if they could give a bit of finely-chopped cili padi that one could add, if one so wishes, for that extra kick. The way it was, I think I would prefer their pomelo salad.

My missus wanted one of her favourites here, their tom yam prawns (RM17.00, with rice)…

Payung Cafe tom yam prawns

…and they sure went overboard this time – so many prawns in that big bowl at no extra charge!

I’ve had this very nice butter chicken…

Butter chicken @ Bombay Spices, Kuching

…at an Indian restaurant in Kuching once and also this one…

Butter chicken @ Cafe Ind Sibu

…here in Sibu, cooked by their true-blue North Indian chef and yes, they were nice but at the end of the day, they were what they were supposed to be – curry, or a variation of it and I also had the one here at Payung sometime ago…

Payung Cafe butter chicken then

…but it was something like chicken in some kind of butter sauce, not anything I would be dying for.

Well, that was then, and now, they have this (RM18.00, with rice)…

Payung Cafe butter chicken now

– same name, but with a totally different taste.

No, it wasn’t anything like curry, though it was a little bit spicy. Honestly, I can’t describe the taste – it is in a class of its own and if you’re curious, you can drop by and give it a try. I assure you that you will not regret it, take my word for it. I truly enjoyed it and for sure, I would be back again for more…

PAYUNG  CAFE (2.284049, 111.833014) is located at No.20F, Lanang Road, Sibu, Malaysia, back to back with the multi-storey car park of the Kingwood Hotel which faces the majestic Rejang River.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

15 thoughts on “Then and now…”

  1. Oooh your butter chicken there looks so much different than the butter chicken here

    People always say my curry looks different from the regular ones at the shops but that does not mean it is not as nice and anyway, all of theirs may not look all that identical either.

  2. The butter chicken does look delightful. I’d like to soak mine up with some naan bread.

    I love those Indian breads. We have one good place here, the naan baked in the traditional stone oven but it is not gluten free. 😦

  3. The chicken does looked tempting. But I would go for the tom yum prawns. Hehe.

    My missus’ favourite here while my girl prefers their belimbing prawns. I am fine with both, all nice. But usually you will not get so many prawns – they are always so kind and generous to us here. Hehehehehe!!!!

  4. All the food looks pretty good in their own way and the tom yum prawns is to die for. I prefer pamelo salad to papaya.

    Pomelo, sweet and juicy, has its own nice taste and with all the added ingredients and served chilled, I love it!

  5. Butter chicken is a very nice dish. I order it whenever I can find it.

    Love the one here…but I can’t recall what the Indian one here tasted like, just that it was nice. Perhaps I should go back again one of these days and order that to refresh my memory.

  6. Not sure about butter chicken but that tomyam prawn looks good!

    Very good, the tom yam…and so was the butter chicken and a whole lot of things on their menu. That’s why we keep going back for more!

  7. can’t describe the taste – I can relate to that because there are just some dishes that are just uniquely delicious that I just can’t describe. Payung Cafe is on my bucket list. ;p

    Not to be missed, anyone visiting Sibu. My blog-reader/friend from Singapore was so glad she did the last night she was here…after some disappointments at other places she went to – her next-of-kin here did not even know of the existence of this place, praised the food to the skies!

  8. your descriptions of the dishes do make me curious! heheh 😀

    Come on over and check things out yourself! Bet you’ll like it here – quite different from things over at your side.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

