Little mistake…

The other day, I dropped by here

Good Happiness Restaurant Sibu

…to tapao some dim sum and I told my missus that since we were already there, we might as well just go in and have some ourselves. After all, we have not had dim sum for a while since my girl started going on a gluten-free diet and we are not sure what has wheat (flour) or soy sauce and what not so we reckon it is best just to stay away.

I was intrigued by the name of a noodle dish on their menu…

Ants Up To The Tree

…and even though the sweet young thing taking my order did not seem that keen that I should order it, I went ahead anyway.

It turned out to be fried tang hoon (glass noodles) with bits of cangkuk manis (RM7.00)…

Ants Up To The Tree, the dish

…some fish balls and prawns…

Prawn

…and whatever else. On the whole, I would say it was nice but not anything to get really excited about.

We had these (RM5.00)…

Prawns wrapped in bean curd skin

…prawns wrapped in bean curd skin and yes, they were good and I so loved their har kao/prawn dumplings (RM6.00 for a basket of 3)…

Har kao 1

…which seemed a little bigger now, jam-packed with prawns inside…

Har kao 2

…and the skin was so fine and thin that I hardly noticed it was there.

I also enjoyed the century egg siew mai (RM5.50)…

Century egg siew mai 1

…very much, the meat filling and the 皮蛋 (pídàn) inside…

Century egg siew mai

We sure had a delightful breakfast, my missus and I, and together with one big pot of Chinese tea (RM8.00) and my takeaway order of 3 baskets of char siew pao (two in each), 3 baskets of assorted siew mai (three in each) and 3 baskets of har kao (3 in each), the total came up to RM84.80, inclusive of the 6% GST…

A little mistake

Now, wait a minute! We did not have any lemon drink, neither hot nor cold!!! I guess the cashier made a little mistake but it was all right – we’re only humans and we all make mistakes sometimes plus it was not all that much to make a fuss about. Somebody probably was very happy that morning that he was not charged for his drink.

GOOD HAPPINESS RESTAURANT (2.307304, 111.849154) is located at the junction of Jalan Cena and Lorong Pahlawan 7A/4, somewhere opposite SMK Deshon in the Sibu Bus Terminal commercial area.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “Little mistake…”

  1. My mother cooks “ma yi sang shu” ants up the tree dish very often. It is a dish with tang hoon and minced pork only, no other ingredients. The minced pork is supposed to be the ant and the tang hoon the tree.

    Oh? So there is such a dish! Yes, there were bits of minced meat too alongside those bits of cangkuk manis – lots of ants! 😀

  2. Dimsum I can live just with those delicious things. And yes good happiness looks intriguing, it sounds like a massage parlour

    Muahahahahaha!!! With happy endings ensured, eh? 😀 😀 😀

  3. All looks so good. I will never get fed up of dim sum. I like the har kao, siew mai and will always order chicken claws. Order so much for takeaway, for your mum?

    Mainly for my brother, home from New Zealand. Not sure if my mum had any but yesterday, I stopped by one place to buy the very nice phak lor kay kha for her – she enjoys those. As for me, no, thank you very much. Chicken claws! Eyewwwww!!!! 😀

  4. Dim Sums are not cheap these days…. easily cost up to RM 100 for 3 pax

    Just don’t get carried away and do order some paos…or a noodle dish to top up. Those would be more filling than those dainty little things. Will not go beyond RM100 even for groups up to 5 people here.

  5. Oh dear, it has been a long while since I’ve eaten dim sum. Your story reminds me of the foods I missed while away.

    Same here but in my case, it was because my girl is on a gluten-free diet so we just had to give dim sum a miss. Don’t really know what is “safe” for her to eat.

  6. Yes. I did notice they have quite a list of noodle dishes when we dropped by early this year. Very catchy names.

    I would rather had the dim sum. ^^

    Will have to order quite a lot before one feels full especially for people like me and they sure do not come cheap – that is why I do not mind ordering the noodles. Their Foochow fried and also their tomato kway teow are my favourites.

  7. There’s a lot of dim sum places here now, and they’re very popular. At one stage we went very often, but haven’t done so for a little while now.

    I don’t mind stocking up on the char siew paos and steaming them for breakfast on some days but not the siew mai and all the rest. At the end of the day, they do not taste very different from one another – a very thin line separates each type. If one goes too often, one would grow tired of them, that’s for sure.

    At one place here, if it is minced meat filling, it is all the one and the same, no difference. Of course, I don’t bother going. Their main attraction is their Foochow fish balls – fish balls with minced meat inside and I’m no fan of those.

  8. The dim sum must be very for you to tapao quite a lot there leh… They are very creative with the names of the dishes too.. ants up the tree? 🙂 so cute!

    Yes, to me, this one is the best in town. First time seeing that funny name – translation from Cantonese, it seems? See earlier comment.

  9. What an unusual name, Ants Up to The Tree! I have since learnt to enjoy dim sum. Never liked it as a kid.

    We did not have any when we were small, just the Foochow style sio bee…and the local steamed paos, more skin than filling. Those were usually served among the last few dishes in a Chinese banquet and we, the very deprived kids, would wait and wait for mum to come home – she would wrap some of the leftovers in the pink paper serviette, never mind that they were all terribly stained. Those were like heaven to us, such joy.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

