Way too soon…

After my success at planting ladies’ fingers, I decided that I would try my hand at planting brinjal/egg plant so I buried the seeds in the ground. Nothing appeared and in the end, I had no choice but to abandon the idea and assume that nothing would ever come out of it.

Then, I went on to try my luck with chilies. Yes, the seedlings sprouted out soon enough and the leaves grew really well but one fine morning, I went to have a look and there wasn’t a single one left. @#$%^&*!!!! Thankfully, new leaves eventually appeared out of those pathetic stalks and right now, though still small, one has started to flower…but no, I am not getting my hopes up too high. I’ll just wait and see what will eventually happen in the end.

My sister-in-law fared a little better. At least, she did get a lot of chilies from her plants but she has been forced to pluck them all way too soon. If she waits till they turn red, they would all be infested and would be rotting inside, no longer suitable for consumption.

That was why she gave my missus one bagful that day and I decided I would try and use some…

Green chilies from SIL

…to make my own version of the cabe ijo/cili hijau (green chili) sambal.

I sliced 5 big ones and 3 cili padi and added three shallots and 5-6 cloves of garlic, all sliced and a few slices of ginger…

Shallots, garlic & ginger

…and some ikan bilis (dried anchovies), rinsed and some hay bee/udang kering (dried prawns) pre-soaked in hot water to soften…

Ikan bilis and hay bee

…and I pounded all that before squeezing the juice of 2 calamansi limes and adding a teaspoon of sugar to counter the sourish taste and mixing everything together…

Sambal cabe ijo, my original recipe 1

I thought it was rather nice and went absolutely well with rice but my girl said it was rather dry. I guess one can always add more lime juice but I was quite happy with it that way.

I did google to have a look at some recipes and yes, they all fry theirs in oil, the Padang, Indonesian way like how they do it at one place here…

Cabeijo sambal cabe ijo
*Archive photo*

…and one recipe had it steamed but that was not what I had in mind.

Of course, there are so many other things that I can add to make my own version of the sambal. My friend, Peter, the boss of Payung Cafe, said that I should add Β some Thai basil leaves to my sambal – they would bring the taste to a whole new level. I certainly would love to try that next time…and maybe, some langkuas (galangal) or serai (lemon grass) that I have growing in my garden. I probably would leave out the kunyit (turmeric) so as to maintain the green colour of the sambal.

As it was, the way I made it that day, I really enjoyed it…

Sambal cabe ijo, my original recipe 2

…especially when I wrapped a generous amount of it in some ulam raja leaves and popped into my mouth…

My sambal cabe ijo & ulam raja leaves

Yum yummm!!! I had to refrain from going for a second plate of rice that day!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

13 thoughts on “Way too soon…”

  1. Add some belacan & eat with steamed ladies finger. Simply out of this world.

    Will that change the colour? I wanted to maintain that pleasant shade of green – that is why I did not add any kunyit which probably would turn it all orange or yellow. Cabe ijo should be ijo, green…not yellow.

  2. I gave up on growing vegetables and fruits. None survived except my lime plant. Been growing and flowering. The fruits pretty small but at least it grows. Hahaha.

    Homemade sambal is healthy. Can keep and have it anytime you feel like it. ^^

    Yes, we usually have some sambal belacan in the fridge. This is something like my dry sambal hay bee, a little sweet plus the taste of the hay bee and also the ikan bilis – I eat that with cut cucumber.

    I would love to plant a lime plant too. I would buy a bagful from the market, use a few and stuff the rest in the fridge but they do not keep too long, will spoil very fast. Would be nice if I can just go out into my garden and pluck.

  3. Fry some ikan bilis, add small onions, garlic, petai, belacan, sliced green chillies & some calamasi juice…best!

    Petai? Yum yummm!!!

  4. Interesting… think this can go well with fried rice too

    Yes, I had some left over and I used that the next morning to fry rice. It was nice.

  5. All the best to your chili plant! May you get lots of chilies! Your green chili sambal looks good. I may be able to eat it if it is not too spicy.

    You can leave out the 3 cili padi, then it will not be spicy. I added those for the much desired kick I would want in a sambal.

  6. Could be snails eating your leaves. We have problems with snails, too.

    Yes, somebody told me that and I said I did not see any. She said they will disappear as soon as the sun rises and will not stay to say hello. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  7. I like, will try to cook it one of the day if i am not lazy…

    Will only take a few minutes, so lazy kah you?

  8. Vegetables from your garden sure will be very much tastier and healthier, right? Very rajin la you.. cutting them and pounding then up.. imagine also very sedap!

    Retiree, so much time in the world. πŸ˜€

  9. I have given up planting chillies. There will be lots of flowers but they drop off 😦

    Yes, happening to mine. I’m not getting my hopes up too high so whatever happens, I will not be disappointed.

  10. Oh. Where did you get those brinjal seeds from? From my experience they are the easiest to grow.

    Chili takes a long, long time to turn red. I waited months for mine to turn red. After I harvested them all, I pruned the plant bald and once they grow new leaves, they flower faster and now I have dozens and dozens of green chilies waiting to turn red.

    I love the look of your green sambal. Though I doubt I have ever eaten anything like it, I am sure I will like it πŸ™‚

    I bought the seeds, BAJA brand, seems to be the popular one these days – see it at a lot of places. Sighhhhhh!!!! That’s what they tell me all the time, this easy, that easy…for me, not easy. They even showed me a pot of brinjal plant less than two feet high, already berbuah. Mine never appeared.

    I’ve more or less given up on my chilies, just leave it there, let it grow and see if anything comes out of it. No plans to plant anything else at the moment, anyway.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

