In the good old days…

I saw this (RM2.00)…

Nasi aduk ikan long

…at my regular Malay kuih stall at Bandong here and I wasted no time at all in grabbing that to try.

According to the lady, this is something they grew up eating in the kampung way back in the good old days, what they call nasi aruk (meaning fried without oil in Sarawak Malay) ikan long, not to be confused with nasi uduk, the Indonesian version of our Malaysian nasi lemak.

Ikan long is the type of salted fish that is not hard and dry like the usual ones – in Hokkien, we call it long kiam hu and this is ikan kembong variety, just a little bit of it…

Ikan kembong masin long

I don’t know how they cooked it but it was very nice with a hint of the salted fish in the rice, something like salted fish fried rice but this was not fried. I did enjoy it though I was wishing they would give a bigger piece of the salted fish and a bit more of the pounded chili – I wouldn’t mind if they charge a little bit more.

Of course, that would not be a complete meal by itself so for our dinner, we had two packets of the rice and I added a century egg…

Nasi aduk ikan long with century egg

…with strips of ginger and a sprinkling of soy sauce and we had that together with this fish that I cooked, masak kunyit we call it

Ikan masak kunyit

…and the acar timun I made the other day for something more balanced.

MAK MAT’s BREAKFAST STATION (2.314192, 111.825581) is located at the shops at Jalan Bandong in the block facing what they call the Bandong Walk, right beside Penyet Bandong (but that only opens at night).

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “In the good old days…”

  1. With the added century egg, it makes the packet of rice looks more presentable and definitely it goes well with the masak kunyit. A nice dinner for two.

    Yes. Otherwise, it was just the rice and that bit of salted fish. They could have added half an egg or a bit of omelette or something and maybe two slices of cucumber, and of course, they can charge a bit more. RM2.00 is cheap.

  2. This rice (nasi aduk) is completely new to me. Is the rice cooked in any special way?

    I don’t know how they cook it but there’s the lovely taste and fragrance of the salted fish and it’s not fried – that’s all I know.

  3. If they charge more and give more fish and chili, I think the rice portion would not be enough so they would need to give more rice too. Your dinner is so flavourful with century egg which I love to eat. I think if I eat century egg with ikan long, chili, ikan masak kunyit, and acar timun – all flavourful stuffs – I would eat so many bowl of rice until I reach bursting point.

    Oh? You love century egg, eh? I like it too but I prefer salted egg. Indeed, with the sourish masak kunyit and the acar, one would definitely end up with a voracious appetite!

  4. ooo i’ve heard of nasi uduk but not nasi aduk … it does look like something that would be a normal lunch 50 years ago, back when times were simpler and more straightforward!

    My first time too. Yes, life was so simple then but everything seemed to taste so much better than now. I wonder why. The present generation would probably scoff at this nasi aduk and would not touch it with a ten-foot pole.

  5. Many cultures have some type of salted fish. I guess over time people have come up with similar ways of preserving food. I’m currently in Austria where they have to save the food from the summer for the cold weather when nothing grows – so lots of salting, fermenting, preserving techniques here.

    Yes, I’ve seen them salting fish at some European countries on tv, the food channel. They hang them in the open to dry and the best part is – no flies!!! Not like what I’ve seen at some places here. 😦

  6. That’s interesting. Something that looks so simple and sparse and yet very tasty.

    Yes, but it’s all rice. I would need something more substantial…and some veg too.

  7. I don’t always eat at hawkers but this make me miss it.

    This is not the regular roadside hawker stall that you may be thinking of, you don’t eat there – you buy and take home to eat.

  8. I like century egg, but the other day, i heard someone said don’t take century egg too much, not so good?

    Anything preserved, take sparingly. In fact, anything and everything! Moderation is the key!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

