Just a little bit more…

Usually, when I baked chicken, I would rub the meat with salt and pepper and pop it into the oven to cook and yes, it always tasted great despite its simplicity and no, I am never one to bother about those very complicated recipes with a long list of ingredients…and an equally long description of the preparation and cooking procedure. Why make one’s life so hard when one is no gourmet chef and it’s for one’s own consumption?

Well, the other day, I decided to do just a little bit more with the chicken drumsticks that I bought. I cut slits in the meat and I rubbed it with salt and added freshly crushed pepper, crushed garlic, chili powder and thyme…

Marinating the chicken

…to marinate it.

My missus would usually put whatever meat onto the baking tray and place it in the oven but the juices would run out of the meat and turn black and end up burnt which means that she would have to soak the tray in the kitchen sink overnight and do a whole lot of scrubbing the next morning. I wouldn’t want to do that so I lined the tray with aluminium foil and place a rack over it. I don’t know why I did it but I did it all the same – I cut slices of lemon and place them on the rack…

Foil, rack and lemon

…and I squeezed the juice of the ends onto the meat and mix it altogether well.

I placed the drumsticks on top…

Drumsticks on top

…and in it went into the oven to bake. After sometime, I turned the drumsticks over to brown the other side as well and very soon, they were done…

Done

They sure looked gorgeous, don’t you think? Well, if you’re wondering whether they were any good, the lovely fragrance that filled the whole house sure said it all…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

10 thoughts on “Just a little bit more…”

  1. They sure look gorgeous! Must taste so delicious but only 4 drumsticks? – not enough!

    That was for dinner, one meal so one each and somebody got to enjoy an extra drumstick. Hehehehehe!!!!

  2. You are smart to line the tray with aluminium foil. Save you from doing extra tedious work – scrubbing. The end products looks & taste great.

    Yes, it sure beats soaking overnight and scrubbing away the next day, all that oil and soot getting on one’s hands. Yes, it was very nice and the best part was that it was so easy to cook, no hassle at all…plus there’s no oil, no msg.

  3. Black pepper or slight burnt? Did you roast the chicken or sent it to crematorium? 😛

    Black pepper. I kept vigil so it would be perfectly done. I’ve had some crispy burnt skin on previous occasions though, but not this time…not like the ayam panggang at one place here, burnt to cinders and the meat was hard and dry. I would never set foot at that place again, no quality control whatsoever.

    By the way, do you cook? Come, let me see yours! Bet it will put mine to shame. 😉

  4. Lemon with chicken. That must be good and appetizing. Me too. I hate the scrubbing. I usually lay the foil on the tray too to collect the liquid and easier cleaning.

    Yes, just peel off when all is done and throw away, so easy!

  5. Looks good. I like to add a bit of five spice powder when I do this.

    Five spice, eh? That’s mainly cinnamon, I feel. Will try that next time. We do have that in the house, both five spice and cinnamon powder.

  6. Yes, very gorgeous indeed.. feel like doing these now! But no drumsticks in the house… this evening, I will do some ribs instead…

    Should be nice too. I love oven-baked meat, chicken, pork…anything even fish.

  7. I prefer simple recipes too. If you’ve got a good base product, you don’t need to do too much to it.

    Provided the meat or seafood is fresh, I would not want to drown out the taste with all those ingredients.

  8. so tempting! well done! drumsticks are my second-favourite part of the chicken … my favourite are the thighs! 😀

    Not the breast? Many would insist that is healthier. Or the wings? I’m no fan of wings either – one third all skin and bone and the drummet is like breast meat, more or less and there isn’t much meat in the middle part either. Dunno why they are so popular.

  9. wow….STP can goreng, can steam, can bake…pandai betul!
    Ya…they looks good!
    I feel that those mixed herbs in bottle makes wonder.

    Very convenient…and not easy to plant. Those herbs probably thrive well in cooler climates, not in our hot tropical weather.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

