In full bloom…

It did bloom a few times a long long time ago like here, for instance, and after 7 years, it bloomed again in January this year and a few more times after that. I think this was the fourth time this year, that night on the last day of Ramadan, approaching midnight on the 1st Day of Syawal…to usher in the auspicious Muslim festival of Hari Raya Aidilfitri.

It started at around 9 something…

9.00 p.m.

…and by around 10, it was still in the process of blooming…

10.00 p.m.

…and even by 11, it had not fully bloomed…

11.00 p.m.

…yet but it was already way past my bedtime and I was dead tired and very sleepy already so I just decided to call it a day.

There was another bud…

Bud

…but it did not bloom together with the one aforementioned and when it did so the following night, I did not bother to wait for it and had gone to bed early.

Well, if you are wondering, no, all those times when the flowers bloomed, I did not have any windfall unlike what some people would insist – that when they flower, one would be sure to win at one of those lotteries.

It so happened that a friend of mine has that same plant and it also flowered that same night and he PM-ed me a photo of his via Facebook…

Friend's blooms

…and he had two blooms at one go and maybe a third or maybe that one at the back would bloom the following night too…and no, he did not strike it rich either.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “In full bloom…”

  1. Thanks to your patience, we get to see this lovely flower blooming in action. Thank you again!

    If only it would not wither away at dawn and die when morning comes. Such a beauty to behold but so short-lived.

  2. Beautiful flowers. Strike a windfall if it blooms is what I heard too.

    Unfortunately, it isn’t true…or not in my case, at least.

  3. So you were staring at your flower the whole day?

    No, by daybreak, it would have gone all limp and shrivel up. I’m sure you would not want to sit around looking at something like that, such a pathetic sight.

    1. AHAHAHAHA! I don’t know? Some retirees do, no?

      You know anyone? Not me, that’s for sure. I sure have better things to do. πŸ˜€

  4. Moonflower – I have a friend who, long ago, made a time-lapse movie of his flower blooming. I’ve never seen one in real life, though.

    I wouldn’t know about it if my missus did not get it from dunno-where and planted it. Has been around for a long while now, still doing fine.

  5. Wahh..so patient! At least you have witnessed and experienced the blooming act…

    I’ve seen it a few times before, not easy to see it blooming and I had not gone to bed so I thought I would catch it again. Rare, not something one can see all the time.

  6. Wow! What patience you have to capture some great shots. I loved seeing the sequence of reaching full bloom.

    It was very gradual but one could actually see the petals and what looked like tentacles moving, opening slowly. Nice!

  7. very pretty flowering photos … you have a good eye for nature close-up still shots! πŸ™‚

    Quite a task taking shots of the flower so close to the ground – my “watermelon” kept getting in the way. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Not easy with my cheap digicam too, night shots…without using the flash. Took a lot, picked the best.

  8. I love seeing flowers blooming but they are so short lived, reminds us to treasure life, life is short too

    Yes, cherish every moment, give thanks and praise to God that we are alive…and well. That in itself is a blessing from above, of much greater value than any windfall in monetary terms.

  9. It is such a beautiful bloom. Also a precious bloom.
    LOL! Perhaps the saying of striking number still depends on luck.

    The good news is there are 6, going to bloom soon. Would be such a pretty sight if only they would stay open through the day, if only for just one day.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

