Better than that…

I had been wanting to go back ever since I saw an ex-student of mine running the kampua mee stall…

Happiness Cafe kampua stall

here but when we dropped by for breakfast that morning, there was no sign of him and I did not know if the ones there that day were in any way related.

On our previous visit, we were quite put off by what we had from one of the stalls there but for some reason or other, my missus went and ordered their sambal fried kway teow (RM5.00)…

Happiness Cafe sambal kway teow

…which was extremely salty the first time around and she could barely finish half of it. Maybe she had forgotten all about it and thankfully, it was very nice that morning, a whole lot better than what she had before – very spicy upon special request and very fragrant and tasty with the sambal, lots of tiny prawns in it and yes, she enjoyed it a lot.

I tried the kampua noodles…

Happiness Cafe kampua mee

…and they asked me whether I wanted an egg and I said ok…

With egg

…and I also asked for their gu tor (beef tripe) soup…

...and gu tor soup

…to go with my order.

The whole thing cost RM7.00 altogether but in my humble and honest opinion, it was pretty much the same as many around town and they would have to do better than that before I would want to go back again for more and the gu tor soup was just the beef tripe served in the usual bone stock soup. At some other places where I had this, they had their own special soup that was a whole lot nicer with a hint of ginger but I sure was glad that they gave the special chili dip that one would get when ordering this – I wouldn’t like it at all if they had given the usual chili sauce that one would get when eating kampua mee at most places here.

While I was there, I spotted Eric, the guy behind The Kitchen instant kampua thing, so I went over to say hello. No, of course, he was not having any of the kampua noodles – I am sure he would have had more than his fair share of that. He was having the popiah (spring roll)…

Happiness Cafe popiah

…there and he said it was quite good so I bought some home to try. Yes, it was nice, I think it was RM2.50 each…

Happiness Cafe popiah inside

…but I was wishing they had added crushed peanut in their filling to bring the taste to a whole new level, and I also bought some of the ang koo kuih (RM1.20 each)…

Happiness Cafe ang koo kuih

…which were all right too.

HAPPINESS CAFE, (2.306608, 111.827179) formerly KONG MA MA, is located along Lorong Delta 4, off Jalan Delta. The left turn into Lorong Delta 9 will lead you straight to the Delta Public Swimming Pool.