Take me to the king…

On our last visit here, I noticed that they have what they call laksa king on their menu and I was keen on going back there to try to see what it is all about…and when my girl said she would like to go for their curry beef with (chicken) rice (RM6.00)…

Colourful Cafe curry beef & (chicken) rice
*Archive photo*

…again there, I happily agreed.

Of course I wanted the laksa king (RM7.50)…

Colourful Cafe laksa king

…and it turned out to be just a very much larger serving of the usual so I got more than those standard three little prawns…

Colourful Cafe Sarawak laksa, regular
*Archive photo*

…and there did seem to be a lot more of the shredded chicken as well.

It so happened that we were here a day earlier for their Sarawak laksa

Thomson Corner Sarawak laksa, big
*Archive photo*

…and we thought that one tastes a lot nicer and beats the one here (and everywhere else) hands down, more authentic, more like some of the nice ones one can get in Kuching. However, I had their large serving too once, RM7.00 only, but I counted four prawns, just as tiny as the ones here and I found both of them a little bit too much for me so it was quite a struggle trying to finish the whole bowl. I would just stick to the regular/small from now on.

I noticed two more new dishes…

Colourful Cafe fried bitter gourd & fried bean sprouts

…on their menu here, both vegetables and available only at night or maybe they were not entirely new, just that I did not notice them before.

I think they are not all that strict about their day or night menus and the day & night one as my missus ordered their fried rice with curry (RM8.00)…

Colourful Cafe fried rice with curry

…with one fried egg on top from their night menu and she did get what she wanted, no problem whatsoever. I guess the relatively higher price is all right as it came with one huge chicken drumstick…

Colourful Cafe curry chicken drumstick

…and my missus enjoyed the fried rice very much too.

COLOURFUL CAFE (2.316673, 111.837539) is located in the Renew4U building at the junction of Brooke Drive and Lorong Kwong Ann 8, across the road from the Church of Jesus  Christ of the Latter Day Saints and SIBU THOMSON CORNER (2.296517, 111.840710) is located at Pusat Tanahwang, opposite Sacred Heart Secondary School, Oya Road or you can go to their other outlet on the 1st floor of the Medan Mall, Jalan Wong King Huo.. 

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “Take me to the king…”

  1. Your missus’ rice looks good but the egg, has black residue from the wok. I will usually cut them away and not eat that part.

    The new dishes – bittergourd fried with eggs looks so good in the picture. It reminded me how long I have not eaten bitter gourd. Must go buy one tomorrow 🙂

    Yes, I saw that but I did not want to kick up a fuss – my girl does not like me making a scene in public. Guess the guy did not clean the wok after frying the rice and probably that is why the fried rice outside is always so nice, got the wok hei smell…not like my fried rice at home. 😦 The mum did not eat the egg in the end – she already had one for breakfast that morning, she eats one every day…so she passed it to me. I just rinsed it in the laksa broth, popped it into my mouth and it was gone. Hehehehehe!!! It’s swimming in the broth, I guess, but what I don’t see won’t hurt me.

    Had one very very nice bitter gourd that day – I think it will be in tomrrow’s post.

  2. I guess Melissa enjoyed eating the chicken rice with beef curry because it looked really tasty from your archived photo. I wouldn’t be able to finish eating your big bowl of laksa king although I like having more prawns. I noticed that the fried rice is standing in lots of curry gravy. I would expect the curry gravy to be given in a separate bowl.

    Yes, I would prefer it that way too. I don’t think there will be a problem – can ask them to serve the curry in a separate bowl.

    Melissa loves their curry beef, dunno why – I’m just ok with it and yes, I would prefer the laksa serving to be of the same size or just a little bigger and they can add more prawns and shredded chicken and thinly sliced omelette – they always give so little of the latter that I would hardly notice it was there.

  3. I miss Sarawak Laksa, ever since the one at Taman Jurong has closed down…

    Why? Business no good? Singaporeans not so into Sarawak laksa?

  4. Fried rice with curry looks great & is my choice too but prefer them to separate the curry from the fried rice as I don’t like to drown my rice with the curry gravy.

    I’m actually craving for the steamed chicken with chicken rice flooded with the very diluted Chinese gravy – used to have that at Ang Lee, Carpenter Street. I think this is available at a number of places in Kuching, not here. That day, wanted to DIY but tak jadi – post on that coming soon!

  5. Ahhh, reminds me that i haven’t eaten sarawak laksa for almost 2 years!

    I did have Penang laksa here not too long ago though not really my favourite – just something different for a change. 😀

  6. The first dish, as well as the chicken drumstick, look wonderful!

    Yes, we do like what is served here, most on their menu would be good, worth dropping by for.

  7. where’s the laksa queen? 😀

    If I were to pick a Laksa Queen, it would have to be Bangsar’s Auntie Christina. I don’t know of any female laksa seller as famous as her, not even here. Heard that she’s moving to PJ somewhere though.

  8. The chicken curry with fried rice looks nice. Come to think of it, I have not had chicken curry with fried rice.

    Never heard of it before either, normally curry would go with plain rice or others like nasi lemak, nasi bryani and the like. Actually, this guy’s fried rice is good on its own – the curry is just an added bonus.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

