Red is the new black…

If I am not wrong, they had a black one, one of their newer flavours, and I think we did get to try it though we did not like it all that much as it was kind of bitter owing to the espresso coffee or dark chocolate or whatever.

Well, they have a new one out (RM4.80)…

MAGNUM red velvet

…now – the red velvet, limited edition – “inspired by red velvet cake“, it says on the outside.

They have a competition going on at this point in time…

MAGNUM red velvet 2

…where you stand a chance to win a gold coin or something but no, I’m not joining…

MAGNUM red velvet 3

– I don’t have that kind of luck, me, the born loser! Sobssss!!!

I did buy one from one of the 7 Eleven outlets in town to try though – I love red velvet cake and yes, it was very nice…

MAGNUM red velvet 4

…with the white chocolate coating on the outside and the red velvet flavour on the inside, not sweet – just right.

However, when it came to the swirl of cream cheese inside, I thought it was a tad salty…

MAGNUM red velvet 5

Still, I would say it was nice, just that at RM4.80 each, I certainly would not be buying it all that often, maybe just once in a while when I feel like pampering myself a little. Hehehehe!!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

14 thoughts on “Red is the new black…”

  1. Wow! It looks good! I am definitely going to try this as I like both the pink and black versions.

    Those would be the raspberry and the espresso versions. The pink one was a little too sour for me but my girl likes it – both of us did not quite like the black one even though I am a coffee guy.

  2. I believe we have some Magnum products here…and I have never yet tried them! πŸ™‚

    This is a popular line here, from Walls ice cream…and definitely more affordable than those international branded ones.

  3. Pricey but it does look nice.

    Once in a while is fine, two plates of kampua mee and still got change!

  4. I like the original. I wouldn’t mind trying this one, but I’m doubtful they could improve too much on the original. πŸ˜‰

    I’m ok with the original – I prefer white chocolate.

  5. Salty ice-cream?? Hmm. Maybe I got to try then see if I like it or not. I love red velvet cake so hope my expectation of this Magnum ice-cream is there.

    Havent go hunting for it since I am coughing, but much better now. Still need to take care of my intake maybe till this weekend. Dont want the cough to come back. Haha.

    Oh dear!!! So kesian. Have you tried taking those cordycep capsules? I loved it initially until I got to the cream cheese – thankfully, just a bit towards the end.

  6. I just had one stick last night.. but not from Magnum but Haagen Diaz… nevermind the calories.. eating ice cream is the best after a good meal! πŸ™‚

    Very expensive in KL – a little cup over RM10.00, dunno if we can get that here. I prefer Baskin’ Robbins though. HD melted so fast that halfway through it was like drinking cold milk – not quite the thing for our hot tropical climate.

  7. I have yet to try that but the saltiness should be able to cut through the sweetness?

    It came across quite strongly, not quite like the cream cheese in the nice red velvet cakes that I’ve had before.

  8. ya once in awhile have to pamper self. Magnum are nice

    I would say I like it the most among all the more affordable supermarket brands but will only buy once in a long while, not too often – old people cannot eat too much sweet things. πŸ˜€

  9. Salty? Luckily am not a fan of Magnum ice cream. I just can’t take it, too sweet. Especially the white chocolate flavour.

    Surprisingly, this one was not sweet, otherwise I would not like it too but I think they would need better quality control, made in Indonesia. My swirl of cream cheese was all at the bottom one third – when I started eating, there wasn’t any trace of it and when I got to that part, it was not sweet at all, it was salty and I would not say that I liked that. The ones my girl and the mum had were ok – the one in the photo was my girl’s.

  10. The ice cream looks quite attractive with the red and white swirls. I am not a fan of red velvet cake, maybe I have not eaten a good one yet.

    The best red velvet cake I had had was the one my very dear friend, Jimmy made – gone too soon. None that I have had here, there and everywhere can come close.

  11. ooo, thanks for the review. i’m a magnum fan, so i will be definitely looking out for this. love the idea of turning red velvet into an ice cream πŸ˜‰

    They’re giving bloggers at your side a box of goodies including the cake. They did not rope you in for their promo?

  12. Absolutely tempting!! Ok la, reward yourself once in a while. It’s luxurious ma!

    At least it is more affordable than those branded overseas names. I certainly would give those a miss, just pay for the name.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

