Nice lunch…

My girl came back Thursday evening and the next day, Good Friday, was a day of fasting and abstinence (from meat) for us so we did not have anything really nice or special till lunch on Saturday. We remembered we had salmon here before and we thought my girl could have that like the one we had here a week ago so we agreed to drop by since we had not been there for a long time, not since my girl discovered that she was gluten-sensitive/intolerant and would not be able to enjoy their very nice pastas and pizzas.

When we got there, we found that they had a brand new menu and most of the things that we liked before were no longer listed including the Bracio di Ferro (the spinach egg pizza). I think I did see it when they shared this menu on their Facebook page and I did comment on the missing items…and some guy replied that should we drop by and request for it, they would make it for us. Hmmmm!!! I refrain from making any further remarks on the matter but the thing that we wanted that day was nowhere to be seen. They no longer had salmon and I was quite put off by the fact that though they might appear to have a somewhat impressive and elaborate menu, there were slashes across many of the pages – a lot of the things were not available.

Ah well!!! Since we were already there, we just ordered whatever that we thought my girl could eat, starting with this very nice mushroom soup (RM8.00)…

Bistecca & Bistro mushroom soup with garlic bread

…but of course, I ate up all the garlic bread – my girl could not have that.

She had the char-grilled boneless lamb chop (RM38.00)…

Bistecca & Bistro char-grilled boneless lamb chop

…and yes, it was very nice and she enjoyed it a lot.

The mum had the char-grilled pork chop (RM18.00)…

Bistecca & Bistro char-grilled pork chop

…and that was very good too.

I had the cheese pork chop (RM38.00)…

Bistecca & Bistro cheese pork chop

…which I liked but the two slabs of meat were a bit too much, even for someone like me. I sure would not mind having just one slab at half the price, something like what my missus had. That would be just nice…or it would, perhaps, be just right if there were two persons sharing this one order.

We all had sky juice (iced water) and that was on the house and for dessert, I ordered the crème brûlée (RM8.00)…

Bistecca & Bistro creme brulee

The tiramisu and the chocolate fondant are not gluten-free…and yes, it was so very very good. I can’t remember the last time I had it and I sure enjoyed it to the max.

My niece was home for the long weekend to celebrate her father’s birthday which is actually not until next week but she would not be able to get away then…and my missus ordered a pizza for them to enjoy. We thought the box was really very nice…

Bistecca & Bistro pizza takeaway box

…unlike those dull and boring brown ones that are usually used for pizza takeaways.

The Pizza Rustica (RM32.00)…

Bisticca & Bistro Pizza Rustica

…looked really good but no, we did not have any. It was not gluten-free plus we couldn’t possibly eat anything anymore after all that we had. As far as the food went, I would say we had a delightful lunch that day but the whole time we were there, I was wishing they would turn down the music a little and those guys in the kitchen who obviously were having a ball of a time could pipe it down a bit – all that noise somehow ruined what would otherwise have been absolutely perfect.

BISTECCA & BISTRO (2.307630, 111.848188) is located off Jalan Sena – you drive into the area of shops directly opposite SMK Deshon and go straight to the end, make a u-turn and head back to where you come from – you will see it in the first block of shops on your left, probably the fifth one, if I can remember correctly.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

16 thoughts on “Nice lunch…”

  1. All the food looks good but portion too much for me. Did Melissa manage to finish all the boneless lamb chop?

    Yes, she did. It wasn’t a very big piece – I think one would get something a bit bigger at other places but she did not finish the potato salad and the fries. The pork chop that my missus had was not big either. I would say servings that size would be ideal for lunch, not overly heavy.

  2. oh yes, if they served half of that cheese pork chop for RM20, that would be the perfect portion and price! 🙂 hope you and your family had a beautiful easter 🙂

    Yes, I am not fond of places where they hold you to ransom and dictate how much you should eat. Not everyone can handle such huge servings and not everyone wants to eat the same thing so two or more sharing one order isn’t so great an idea.

    Thanks, we sure had a lovely relaxing weekend. Hope yours was great too.

  3. The pizza looks good though the crust seem a bit too thick. The pizza box is indeeed nice & colourful.

    It’s thin crust – we never had any complaint about it but we can’t eat that anymore these days, end of story. Anytime better than that place in Kuching – my teeth almost broke eating their thin crust pizza and the panna cotta got out double thumbs down:
    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2013/10/17/we-have-arrived/

  4. The cheese pork chop looks good, and I also like the looks of the pizza. Love cheese.

    I think I prefer the one my missus had, more flavourful. Bet the pizza was good but we can’t eat that anymore, not gluten free. The fragrance was killing when we entered the place – bet my girl was drooling away. She loves these things so much.

  5. Lamb chop. Pork chop. I like them all. And the creme brulee as well. Hehe.

    Extra one day holiday today but guess you be sending your girl off to jungle this afternoon. But another long weekend and week after soon. 😉 But school exam comes directly after that. Not good news. Lol.

    Yes, we’ll be on our way right after an early lunch. Looking forward to the next two long weekends.

    Hah!!! You’ll be busy getting your kids ready for their exam, eh? People say kids sitting for exam, the parents have to sit for it too and they end up a lot more stressed out than the children. 😀 😀 😀

  6. It is Easter evening now…I have eaten some Very Rich food…oh gosh, my weight sure shoot up … something like your food above… and I like the dessert brulee.. whatever it is called…

    It’s just egg custard with a layer of sugar on top, torched to crystalise. Something like caramel custard – I like that too! We just had a simple Easter dinner – post on that coming up real soon.

  7. I will go for the pork chop, maybe I no fate with lamb, I eat one time, and that is first and last time…

    Like my missus, not crazy about lamb but at least, will eat. Some things we enjoy, she will not touch.

  8. I like the look of the boneless lamb chop. I will definitely go for that. Your cheese pork chop is so sinful but I sure don’t mind having it as I super love cheese 😀

    My girl loves cheese. I’m just so so with it. Personally, I think I would very much prefer two huge slabs of siew yoke like that. Yum yummmm.

  9. This are my type of dishes specially that cheese pork chop but they are so expensive there $38.00 for that cheese pork chop

    Yes, it can get really very expensive if we choose to go western at such classier upscale western restaurants here – can have a good dinner for 3 at one of those small Chinese places or at a coffee shop. For you, it is really cheap though, only NZD12 something, can’t even get a plate of fried rice or a bowl of wanton noodles there at that price, right?

  10. Oh ya…agreed that if they serve the cheese pork chop half the portion at half of the price definitely be better. Unless people wanna share the portion lar. How’s their creme brulee compared to Noodle House?
    Will Melissa develop rashes if she have eaten any gluten?

    Very good, maybe a little richer and nicer but generally, both are nice. Yes, lots and lots of very severe rashes on the back and in the head and the hair dropped like nobody’s business. Terrible!!! No more now that she is not eating any gluten stuff.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

