Oh no, not again…

I heard from a friend that there are new stalls here and some of the old ones have closed down so I went to have a look.

This is the menu…

Chu char menu

…for the chu char place at the back. At one time, there was a fat guy doing the cooking and we quite liked what he dished out. Then they renovated this section and turned it into a drinks stall. At that time, the chu char stall was shifted to the other side, right in front of the toilet which was not very clean…and I saw the guy with a cigarette in his mouth while he was cooking. Then they moved back to this end again and my guess is that this is another set of people…and looking at what they were serving as they walked past my table, the things did appear pretty good.

The Malay lady‘s stall and the roti canai stall are still there, enjoying brisk business and the Sarawak laksa stall is still around though it was not open when we dropped by that day. The stall selling the beef noodles that we really enjoyed a lot has called it a day or moved elsewhere and the one selling the sotong kangkong that I had once and liked a lot was not there already the last time we were here. I noticed there was a new guy selling the kampua noodles now and when I went to have a closer look, it turned out that it was an ex-student of mine. I had already eaten by then so that would have to wait till the next time we come here.

So what did we have that morning? There was a new stall and my missus had their fried sambal kway teow (RM5.00, with en egg)…

Happiness Cafe sambal kway teow 1

It was very fragrant with the sambal and the wok hei but no, that was all ruined by the fact that it was extremely salty and my missus could not even finish half of it…

Happiness Cafe sambal kway teow 2

Maybe the belacan used was in itself, very salty – sometimes that may be the case so they should reduce the salt and the soy sauce to accommodate that. I always do that when I fry anything with belacan like this plate of sambal belacan fried rice that I cooked the other morning…

My sambal belacan fried rice

Now, what did I order for myself from that same stall? The aforementioned friend shared a photograph of the hung ngang (big bihun) with paku (wild jungle fern) that she had and so far, I have only had that here so I wanted to give this one a try.

After all that eager anticipation, imagine my disappointment when I was served and this (RM4.50)…

Happiness Cafe fried hung ngang, no paku 1

…was what I got! I asked the lady and she said they had run out of paku.

Oh no!!! Not again!!! The day before, the Indonesian ladies had run out of kacang and ikan bilis (peanuts and fried cried anchovies) so I had to go without those in the nasi lemak that I had…and now, the lady saw it fitting to substitute the paku with kucai (chives) instead…

Happiness Cage fried hung ngang, no paku

What on earth is going on with these people these days? Is this how they do business in this present day and time? If they did not have any more paku, they should have the decency and courtesy to come and tell me and ask me if I would mind having chives instead…or maybe I would prefer to order something else.

I don’t know if I will ever drop by this coffee shop again or not but if ever I should happen to do so, you can bet your bottom dollar that there is one stall that I will definitely NOT order anything from, never ever again. Once bitten, twice shy! @#$%^&*!!!!

HAPPINESS CAFE, (2.306608, 111.827179) formerly KONG MA MA, is located along Lorong Delta 4, off Jalan Delta. The left turn into Lorong Delta 9 will lead you straight to the Delta Public Swimming Pool.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

13 thoughts on “Oh no, not again…”

  1. Well it does seem that they don’t bother to tell the customers what is available and what is not, anymore. I guess it is because they think they are just a stall in a coffee shop so customer service is a foreign phrase to them. Extremely salty! Oh, no, I hate it when the food is so salty that it is impossible to be eaten.

    Yes, I think the level of saltiness would be enough for me to fry two plates of kway teow but then again, my cooking tends to be on the bland side, low on salt or sauces, no msg but bursting with the flavours of the ingredients used.

    It never used to be like that – they ran out of something, they would tell you and ask if you would mind a substitute. I was so pissed off when she served my order and did not say even a thing – the least she could do was to apologise and hope that I would not mind. She only told me she had run out when I asked!

  2. What is with these stalls is right! When I was home this last time, we had many encounters where they would run out of something, not tell us and not prepare it at all….or they would just substitute as they see fit but would only own up to it when asked. I had to tell them that we had allergies in the family and they just can’t be this reckless! But alas, I got a shoulder shrug or a “tak tahu” and off they went. I am sorry you both had a horrible experience but at least you know to never go back!

    In Kuching too? What is this? Maybe the economy is so bad they are forcing all these half past six people out of the woodworks to try and bluff their way through to make some money. I know my ex-student, the one selling kampua, was in the sales line before. The Indon ladies were young – this one, the lady was not young at all, she should know better…and yes, she did not say a thing till I asked – what the…. Did she think that my eyesight was so poor I could not tell the difference between paku and chives?

    1. Or taste the difference? And some of them when confronted gets defensive and angry…..I don’t have time for people as such

      I guess I never say anything, just eat and leave and promise never to go back again…ever, so no unpleasant episodes.

  3. Doesn’t look like a very happy cafe to have meal in. Lol.

    Fried belacan kway teow did looked okay to me but such pity it was too salty. I personally prefer sambal to belacan for my noodle.

    Guess this place is struck off from your list for time being.

    It was very fragrant, the smell was really good. Too bad it was too salty. Mine was salty too but not as bad, like she accidentally spilled the salt or what. Terrible!!!

    I never like this place even though it is on the way to my parents’ house, pretty close by – always crowded, service is very slow and food ain’t that great. I only went because my friend shared her photo of the hung ngang with paku and I thought I would like to give it a try. Such a let down! 😦

  4. Oh no, twice in a row. What is supposed to be an enjoyable breakie turns out horrible. At least have the courtesy to tell & ask & not just substitute what they deem fit.

    Exactly. That way of doing business, don’t expect to last very long! 😦

  5. Fuyo, ex-students everywhere!

    25 years in Sibu, 5 years in Kanowit, lots of them around. Unfortunately, not many will say, “Sinseh! Sinseh! Lai, gua chia lu ciak!!!” Perhaps they did not like me very much… 😦

  6. Whenever I see an egg atop something, I always think, “Malaysia.” 😉

    Most Malay stalls, rarely at a Chinese one like this one unless by special request. A newbie at these things perhaps.

  7. I agree it’s really bad customer service not to inform beforehand of items they’re out of. They shouldn’t have the right to make random substitutions.

    No, they do not have the right. I could have refused what she had dished out and made her take it back but I’m not that type, not that mean.

  8. Nice or not, these pictures are making me yearning for Malaysian flavours!! Chives with fkt is a good comination, not sure about paku pakis but worth trying…

    Missing our local delights already, eh? No place like home, especially where the food is concerned. An ex-student went to China the other day, went to the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, everywhere…and as soon as they got back to Malaysia (KL, not even home yet), they ate like there was no tomorrow. Obviously, they enjoyed the sights but not the food there.

  9. I wonder if it’s the trend not to tell customers they run out of something, but that shouldn’t be the way…

    I most certainly hope NOT!!! This is really bad…and the same thing two days in a row is a bit too much.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

