I did it!…

Yes, I get it right every time, be it half-boiled/cooked…

Half-boiled/cooked
*Archive photo*

…or hard boiled with a runny…

Hard boiled runny yolk
*Archive photo*

…or moist yolk…

Hard boiled moist yolk
*Archive photo*

…or fried…

Fried
*Archive photo*

…or scrambled…

Scrambled
*Archive photo*

…and of course, frying an omelette…

Omelette
*Archive photo*

…to me is a breeze.

However, I did try cooking one poached egg once but it was not all that successful. I do not have any problem whatsoever breaking one into my instant noodles and they do come out quite well…

Egg with instant noodles
*Archive photo*

…but when I wanted to cook it on its own, I seemed to have a little bit of problem getting it right.

Then I saw one lady doing it on that food channel on tv the other day – she  certainly made it look so very easy so I decided to give it a try.

Firstly, I broke the egg into a cup/bowl…

Egg in cup

…and then, I boiled a little bit of water in a saucepan…

Boil water in saucepan

Just when there were bubbles starting to appear, I stirred the water…

Stir the water

…to get it swirling before I dropped in the egg and once the egg was cooked, I drained the water and there you are…

Poached egg

…served with my bowl of instant bihun

Poached egg with bihun
*Archive photo*

…my poached egg with its runny yolk…

Runny yolk

This was my second attempt and I thought the end result looked better the first time around. Well, that previous time, I was not taking photographs so I was able to concentrate fully on the cooking of the egg unlike this time, and the water was already boiling vigorously by the time I dropped in the egg. Besides, I did not stir the water because I saw that the lady on tv did not do it either and no, she did not add vinegar or salt or cooking oil to the water as well – she just used the wooden ladle to turn the egg around gently until it became a nice little pouch. It seemed that the swirling water sent the egg white floating all over and I did not want to cut it and throw it away (like what I’ve seen some chefs on those  youtube videos doing) as it would be such a waste.

Ah well! As they say, practice makes perfect…so I will keep doing it till I get the hang of it, 100%.

