True colours…

I have blogged about this place

Colourful Cafe

…many times before and we did drop by here time and time again as its location is on our way back home from my parents’ place therefore it is very convenient for us to do so. However, we would be having those same things that I would have featured in my earlier posts so I do not see any point in repeating myself.

Much to my delight, when we stopped by last Friday, we found out that there were a few new additions to their menu and it being our no-meat Friday in the season of Lent, I picked their sweet and sour fish lunch set (RM9.90)…

Colourful Cafe sweet & sour fish lunch set

Yes, it was not all that cheap, definitely not as cheap as the ones here, but that was a very much bigger plate and the serving was huge – enough for two, I would say or perhaps one can just order another rice and share the fish and the salad.

One thing that would be in their favour was that they gave chicken rice instead of plain white rice and yes, the fish…

Colourful Cafe sweet and sour fish

…was very nice and there was a lot of it and I would say the same about the salad…

Colurful Cafe salad

…by the side and I do know for a fact that the imported crispy lettuce sure does not come cheap.

The other options would be the salad fish or chicken (deep-fried batter-coated fish or chicken with mayonnaise) or their honey chicken wings. I guess my girl would be able to enjoy that last one, the only one of the lot that is gluten-free.

That day, my missus stuck loyally to her favourite, their char kway teow (RM4.00)…

Colourful Cafe char kway teow

– the fried flat rice noodles and yes, she said it was as good as always. I get somewhat put off by some places here that do need a lot more quality control – something may be very nice on your first visit but the next time around, you find that it is not quite as good as the previous time. Thankfully, this is not one of them.

COLOURFUL CAFE (2.316673, 111.837539) is located in the Renew4U building at the junction of Brooke Drive and Lorong Kwong Ann 8, across the road from the Church of Jesus  Christ of the Latter Day Saints.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

13 thoughts on “True colours…”

  1. I like to eat char kway teow but this time, I would prefer your sweet and sour fish lunch set instead. Looks really delicious! Since you wrote that the fish is nice, I take it that means it is not those frozen dory fish.

    It was dory all right but the texture was not jelly-like and there was no smell. Maybe with his years of experience as a chef, the guy knows how to choose the good ones. Or perhaps with his connections with the suppliers, they would give him the good stuff. The rest of us would just buy from the supermarket, all labelled as “frozen fish fillet”, that’s all. I heard there are imitations or those from somewhere – those are the no good ones…and I’ve also heard there is a way to defrost it, just let it thaw in room temperature or something, do not soak in water.

    Still, at the end of the day, I wouldn’t mind fresh fish…even if I would have to pay more. I do wish such places would let people have a choice.

  2. The food in Colourful cafe look great! Like your choice and your wife’s… the bean sprouts look pretty long there… over here in Ipoh are big and fat…lol..

    Never tried the Ipoh taugeh – they say it is nicer, soaked in the water from the mountain spring, so extra special.

  3. The food seems cooked perfectly nice.

    Always good here. The guy has had years of experience starting as the executive chef at a local hotel in the late 90’s and then he was with a local franchise, Red Carrot – we would only go to the outlet where he was then. Now he is doing it in his own.

  4. Colourful cafe….I like your picks & it looks as colourful as its name. Big portion of char kway teow too.

    At one time, the portions shrank and everyone started complaining and stopped going there – thankfully, all is fine now, serving’s big like before and prices are still the same.

  5. I like my salad simple… not overly drenched with dressing, especially those calorific ones

    I am not really a fan of mayo but after eating what was on top, I was like eating raw veg. There wasn’t enough for all the greens that was given.

  6. The sweet and sour fish rice is worth the price. I do prefer fragrant rice than just plain rice.

    Yes, I liked the chicken rice – pretty good the one here.

  7. I like sweet and sour fish – but not mayo. Japanese food also use quite a bit of mayo at times.

    I like their kewpie mayo more than the ordinary bottled ones that we get a lot of here. I don’t mind it with extra ingredients added to make it nicer, not fond of it straight from the bottle but all in all, I prefer salad cream. Will resort to mayo only when there is no salad cream in stock.

  8. They are very generous with the fish fillet. That would make a very filling meal. I like that type of portion size hee..hee…

    Wowwww!!! You’re such a big eater. The portion was a bit on the big size even for me, I wouldn’t mind ordering another serving of rice and sharing what was on the plate with another person.

  9. Everything looks great! Is the chicken rice flavored with chicken broth? I wasn’t seeing any pieces of chicken in the rice. Also, what type of fish was used in your dish?

    Yes, chicken rice here is cooked using the melted chicken oil – they fry the ginger and maybe, the lemon grass as well in it before mixing the rice with the oil and then it is cooked in the chicken broth with screwpine leaves added. That is the most basic version, I guess.

    The fish was our very commonly-used imported frozen fish fillet, Dory. Not my favourite but I guess if they use fresh fish fillet, it would cost a bomb!!! Fresh seafood doesn’t come cheap here, unfortunately.

  10. the sweet-sour fish looks tasty! is it mostly fish inside or mostly batter?

    Hardly any batter – I think the guy just coats with flour and deep fry lightly for use, did not use batter.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

