In my garden…

No, not my garden. It is still in need of a lot more work, all the trimming, weeding and everything after being neglected for over a month when my mum was warded at a medical centre here.

Actually, I am talking about this garden…

Food Garden, Sibu

…a coffee shop that has been around for a while now. It did not seem to get a lot of business initially and with a shop sign like that, I was not enticed to drop by to check it out. I don’t know if that has some artistic value that I fail to appreciate or what but to me, it looked like somebody just took a pot of paint and a paint brush and hastily painted the name on the signboard. Well, for one thing, there can be no denying that it is indeed very unique, special in its own way.

It so happened that a friend of mine shared some photographs on Facebook of the lunch sets that he had here and they did look good so I decided to drop by the very next day to check it out.

I had the kung pao chicken (宫保鸡丁) set (RM5.00)…

Food Garden, kung pao chicken lunch set

…from this stall…

Food Garden, food stall

…at the back of the shop.

They certainly were very generous with the chicken and it came with the rice and one fried egg…

Food Garden lunch set, rice & egg

I was not too happy when I saw the egg as it looked like the guy did not clean the wok before frying it but all was forgiven when I poked it and the yolk came flowing out like molten lava…

Food Garden fried egg

– just the way I like it!

They have a lot of choices but the menu was in Mandarin and I could read only two words – lemon & salad and I guess those would be lemon chicken and salad chicken (fried chicken with mayonnaise).  The lady helping out at the stall did rattle through all the options available and eventually I settled upon the aforementioned and I would say I did enjoy what I chose.

There were a lot of orders before mine so I did have to wait for a while. The kopi-o-peng (RM1.50)…

Food Garden kopi-o-peng

…was blended like the ones that I like a lot here but unfortunately, I was not too impressed by it. It was rather mild and lacked the nice and strong coffee fragrance that I would prefer in my cuppa.

My missus went for the chap fan (mixed rice) so she did not have to wait at all. These were her picks (RM3.50)…

Food Garden chap fan

…that day – the fried midin (wild jungle fern), the cangkuk manis with egg and the sweet and sour fish fillet, one meat and two vegetables.

The fish…

Food Garden sweet & sour fish fillet

…was really good. While most of the others would use those frozen fish fillet, Dory, sold at the shops and supermarkets which, at times, would be jelly-like in texture and have an unpleasant smell and taste, whatever fish they used here was very much to our liking, so much so that I even tapao-ed some home for dinner that evening.

Since we thought the food here was pretty good, we certainly wouldn’t mind coming back here again sometime for more.

FOOD GARDEN (2.310898, 111.831410) is located in the vicinity of the shops to the left of the Sibu Civic Centre, the last one in the block of shops on your right (where the Maju Tyre & Motor Service shop and Aroma Bakery are) if you are coming in from Jalan Melor.